2008 BMW 320 vs Merc C180

Hondaes8

Dear forummers,

Looking to buy either of the above.

Please advise which is a better buy.

It seems like C180 commands at least 10K above the 320, while the 320 has a higher OMV than C180....

Any reason on the lower resale value of the 320 ?

thanks in advance. :)

Dear forummers,

It seems like C180 commands at least 10K above the 320, while the 320 has a higher OMV than C180....

Did u compare the mileage clocked & number of transfers when comparing the asking prices?

Mercs in general are over priced here in singapore n prefered over bm n audi. I did a poll awhile back n vast majority here prefer merc. I duno y.

but reliability and durability wise, Merc is better than BMW, still a lot 10 to 20 years Mercs on road, but this age BMW very rare on road

Theres some truth here. Engine temp on my c300 is only 80-90 degrees compared to over 100degrees fer my previous bms. N lower operating temp is generally an indication of more reliable engine.

But tbh i still prefer bms.

One of my office colleagues sold his 9yr old 520i fer second hand e200.

but reliability and durability wise, Merc is better than BMW, still a lot 10 to 20 years Mercs on road, but this age BMW very rare on road

I agree. A 6-year old BMW really doesn't sound like a good proposition to me.

Dear forummers,

There can only be one choice for me, see my nick! Haha

Go with your heart, the one that makes your senses tinkle.

The car that makes you feel like driving it all the time.

Have fun car shopping! :)

BMW for youngster and Merc is for ah pek

haha

Old Merc is really Ah pek but not the newer model like the C class, jin jia swee leh

Driving a Bimmer don't make one look younger, or a Merc making one look older.

It's not the car, it's the driver. ;)

Edited by Mercs

There can only be one choice for me, see my nick! Haha

Go with your heart, the one that makes your senses tinkle.

The car that makes you feel like driving it all the time.

Have fun car shopping! :)

Driving a Bimmer don't make one look younger, or a Merc making one look older.

It's not the car, it's the driver. ;)

but if a young guy drives a Merc, sure pply say drive your father car

when you tell ppl you drive a ah pek car, first thing ppl will reply Merc ?

anyway, I dun mind ah pek car if I can afford one :)

TS, would suggest you test drive both makes besides comparing the prices.

If you are used to driving Jap cars, u may find there's difference in handling experience.

TS, would suggest you test drive both makes besides comparing the prices.

If you are used to driving Jap cars, u may find there's difference in handling experience.

Best is to test cornering, you will see the difference

Many years back I drove my Bro in law W124 for 2 days, very solid car and stable

cornering was chai chai, no body row at all

Later drive back my own old accord those 8 valve model, when cornerning left, car follow left, but my big stomach goes to the right !

Dear forummers,

A car is a big ticket item to purchase, you should test driving both MB & BM cars for the engine performance, I would also advise you to test drive any 6 pots BMW and you can also feel the differences between the 2 BMW's engine's (320 vs 325) performaces.

Edited by Fongmy

A car is a big ticket item to purchase, you should test driving both MB & BM cars for the engine performance, I would also advise you to test drive any 6 pots BMW and you can also feel the differences between the 2 BMW's engine's (320 vs 325) performaces.

Hi Fongmy, noticed you'd added 'Sheer Driving Pleasure' to your avatar. :)

You Kenna poisoned already so fast.....hahaha.....

Try bringing it to twisty windy mountain roads & you'll be glad you're driving the UDM!

Hi Fongmy, noticed you'd added 'Sheer Driving Pleasure' to your avatar. :)

You Kenna poisoned already so fast.....hahaha.....

Try bringing it to twisty windy mountain roads & you'll be glad you're driving the UDM!

Numerous trips to Genting Highlands Resort and Cameron Highlands with my previous owned MB's E200 IL4, E260 IL6 & E280 V6, to compare these MB's with my present 5 Series IL6, both car models found to have powerful torque in low ratio 2nd ~ 3rd gears, still I felt the 5 series it much lighter than the heavily weighted MB body chassis.

At all bends turning in and out is very sharp and swift in good balance than the MB models in higher acceleration driving mode [drivingcar]

In another words, the BMW doesn't looses it's breath to sprint forwards in steep slopes, I agreed with those words of "sheer Driving Pleasure" mentioning in UDM commercials. [nod]

Really very additive driving it. [thumbsup]

Cheers.

Edited by Fongmy

Best is to test cornering, you will see the difference

Many years back I drove my Bro in law W124 for 2 days, very solid car and stable

cornering was chai chai, no body row at all

Later drive back my own old accord those 8 valve model, when cornerning left, car follow left, but my big stomach goes to the right !

Firstly, the MB are all designed with rear wheel drive except the A & B models with lesser over steers, secondly the the wheel suspension is rigid and the wheel hub assembly are able to tilt outwards during heavy car weight compression in turnings.

Lastly, the weight of continental are very heavy compare with your Accord.

With these constructive designs, entering all turns you'll feels the car sink down and not swinging outward to counter compensating the high centrifugal forces.

Edited by Fongmy