2008 BMW 320 vs Merc C180

Hondaes8

Correction: winding, not 'windy' mountain roads.

No mistakes, the mountainous road is always windy too, lowering speeds is far safer to be blow away into the cliff.

BTW the 320i IL4s for BMW are south african made. I had one years back and the car totally died after 4years. The 6 potters are made in germany and QC is better. This may explain the relatively lower price tag on the 320i.

PML servicing also sux big time

C180 is maybe 1.6L? 320i is a 2L engine. Is this Kompressor or 7Gtronic? The NA mercs i think are more reliable.

Not sure if i said this here before but the BMWs engine running temperature seems hotter than the mercedes. My current merc temp level is always around 80-90 degrees. BMW temperature exceeds this even in the 6potters. I step out of the car and i can feel a wave of heat.

I used to hate the Merc and loved my e92 325 but the more i drive the merc, the more i like it. Interior furnishing of the merc is also much better and the adaptive steering on my old Merc is a definite improvement over the "always heavy" steering in my old e92 325. But maybe in latest 4 series BMW has made improvements to these areas.

I hope that helps.

Dear forummers,

Looking to buy either of the above.

Please advise which is a better buy.

It seems like C180 commands at least 10K above the 320, while the 320 has a higher OMV than C180....

Any reason on the lower resale value of the 320 ?

thanks in advance. :)

BTW the 320i IL4s for BMW are south african made. I had one years back and the car totally died after 4years. The 6 potters are made in germany and QC is better. This may explain the relatively lower price tag on the 320i.

C180 is maybe 1.6L? 320i is a 2L engine. Is this Kompressor or 7Gtronic? The NA mercs i think are more reliable.

Not sure if i said this here before but the BMWs engine running temperature seems hotter than the mercedes. My current merc temp level is always around 80-90 degrees. BMW temperature exceeds this even in the 6potters. I step out of the car and i can feel a wave of heat.

I used to hate the Merc and loved my e92 325 but the more i drive the merc, the more i like it. Interior furnishing of the merc is also much better and the adaptive steering on my old Merc is a definite improvement over the "always heavy" steering in my old e92 325. But maybe in latest 4 series BMW has made improvements to these areas.

I hope that helps.

For 3 series sedan Asia Pac export program (other than countries with CKD/SKD program), it is build in South Africa.

Care to share what happen to your E90?

Merc still got NA meh?

I hope that helps.

I changed from the 320i to C180K ....

If comparing the same YOM - 2008, I would definitely goes for the C180K. By the way, for Y2008, the C class are all using the supercharged kompressor engine, there is no NA engine for Merc... the 7Gtronic refer to the GB and they are in the lower end C class from Y2013 i think.

In terms of drivability, the 320i beats the C180K anytime but I do like the C180K for the reliability and ease of maintenance/repair.

If TS is looking at car that is 6 years old, I would not encourage TS to go back to AD. There are lots ot workshops that specialises in Merc out there.

Finally, the servicing at ADs is cheaper in BMW compared to Merc. I still do my regular service at C&C but for major parts replacement, I go to 3rd party workshop.

I do agree that COM is important as I did not have the best impression for my E90 assembled in SA.The Air Con vents broke within days of the car leaving the showroom. I kept my 320i for only 26 months .. my C180K is with me for about 4 years now .. and it still felt solid but I cannot say the same for the 26 months 320i.

A Friend told me that BMW interior like the dashboard and doors panels prone to peeling and discoloration

Is this true ?

My E39 did not peel or discolor.

A Friend told me that BMW interior like the dashboard and doors panels prone to peeling and discoloration

Is this true ?

All the hear said.....

Is this true ?

I remember there was once this problem ... But if you go back to Performance, they will replace the part for you ...

I know of some who kena b4 ... But I think its because they park under the Sun for long periods ...

But personally, I never kena b4 ...

Edited by Chowyunfatt

I personally have not owned a BMW before. But I have commonly heard of various issues with models coming out from the SA plant. Although I do not encounter them personally, but to hear of problems on such frequent basis, I tend to believe there is some truth in them. BMW maybe known for its sheer driving pleasure but if owner has to handle frequent issues with their ride, it really takes away much of the joy in owning one. On this aspect, I will probably choose the C180 over 320.

Dear forummers,

Looking to buy either of the above.

Please advise which is a better buy.

It seems like C180 commands at least 10K above the 320, while the 320 has a higher OMV than C180....

Any reason on the lower resale value of the 320 ?

thanks in advance. :)

If Re Sale Value is your concern ... Go with the Merc ... [nod]

No Secret ...

Edited by Chowyunfatt

I personally have not owned a BMW before. But I have commonly heard of various issues with models coming out from the SA plant. Although I do not encounter them personally, but to hear of problems on such frequent basis, I tend to believe there is some truth in them. BMW maybe known for its sheer driving pleasure but if owner has to handle frequent issues with their ride, it really takes away much of the joy in owning one. On this aspect, I will probably choose the C180 over 320.

I was been scare with warning Banyak Masuk Workshop, BMW is a car for owner with car enthusiasm and passions, there are many BMW enthusiasts around the world who are very helpful to teaching DIY in Youtube, I successfully done DIY replacements with my headlights adjuster, seat occupancy mat emulator by-pass, console box plastic tray, "M" class steering wheel and seat belt tensioner.

Now, driving my first BMW 5s with many smiles [:)] on the face, wife also commented nicer to sleep [sleeping] during our long distant trip.

If Re Sale Value is your concern ... Go with the Merc ... [nod]

No Secret ...

Ah Fatt Gor is teaching everybody [idea] "Rocket Science Theory", I failed by him [smallcry] and bought a BMW [bigcry]

Edited by Fongmy

I was been scare with warning Banyak Masuk Workshop, BMW is a car for owner with car enthusiasm and passions, there are many BMW enthusiasts around the world who are very helpful to teaching DIY in Youtube,

[laugh][laugh]

But isn't "car for owner with car enthusiasm and passions" another way of saying that your car will require quite a bit of labour and patience from your and the workshop?

Machiam saying VW = Virtually in Workshop [laugh]

But isn't "car for owner with car enthusiasm and passions" another way of saying that your car will require quite a bit of labour and patience from your and the workshop?

Machiam saying VW = Virtually in Workshop [laugh]

Yes Sir ! BMW is very leh jay [:p]

But I love [inlove] to touch her [rolleyes] with my dirty and hairy hands [nod]

I was been scare with warning Banyak Masuk Workshop, BMW is a car for owner with car enthusiasm and passions, there are many BMW enthusiasts around the world who are very helpful to teaching DIY in Youtube, I successfully done DIY replacements with my headlights adjuster, seat occupancy mat emulator by-pass, console box plastic tray, "M" class steering wheel and seat belt tensioner.

Now, driving my first BMW 5s with many smiles [:)] on the face, wife also commented nicer to sleep [sleeping] during our long distant trip.

Ah Fatt Gor is teaching everybody [idea] "Rocket Science Theory", I failed by him [smallcry] and bought a BMW [bigcry]

Okay. My next car shall be either a F30 or a F10 (if I can afford). [:p]

I don't think I will go for F01 as it is a very long long car.

Okay. My next car shall be either a F30 or a F10 (if I can afford). [:p]

I don't think I will go for F01 as it is a very long long car.

Mr.Yuan, you should try first and see for yourself, a serious note.....6 potter and above IL or V, listen carefully how the engine notes are playing from 1 ~ 6 gears, release gas pedal then heavy step on to feel the gear box kick down and pulling away into reline.

It's fun in driving when the car never looses it's breath.

sayang oh sayang kereta. [laugh]

Sometime my wife :angry: jealous over with the car [mad] , you know ? [:/][:(]