General Election 2015 - 11 Sep 2015

That is the problem. Many people think medishield is sufficient. They can't see the benefits till they need it. But by then, its too late. With a private shield plan, at least we have less worries regarding the healthcare part. I still rmb my son fell and had a big bruise on his head, cuz of his private shield plan, we just send him to A&E immediately for checkup and its covered by my son's private shield plan even though he wasn't hospitalised.

Some of my friends who don't have a private shield plan will say just observe at home, if any vomiting or fever then send to doctor. But by then, maybe too late already.

What is the use of Medishield when all the good doctors are in private hospitals which has become more glaring over the last few years. Any of you who have spent some time visiting public hospitals over the past few years would know the slide in the quality of healthcare where it matters most - good quality experienced doctors. Khoo Teck Puat specialist doctors are 70% foreigners. If you are a subsidized patient , you will end up seeing a different specialist for every visit for the same ailment with different specialist giving you a different opinion until the patient and doctor gets confused on what is the next course of action.

For those who can afford the premiums , please get the private shield -you can at least choose the specialist - which may end up saving or prolonging your life.

How come "Son of Ponggol" this time become backdoor entrant of AMK? No determination to fight another battle?

It is the new unwritten promise/rule that as long as try one time in erections but failed, next time sure guaranteed to enter farliment via tailcoats? Wong YK, Son of Ponggol.....

Where's Desmond Choo being fielded BTW?

In the news last night, It was reported that he was sorry that PAP could not serve the 45% of Aljunied people who had voted for them. I felt there is no need to emphasize this, isn't it the responsibility of the party elected to serve all, and not those who voted for you only.

What do you think???

This TCH really GJW. He still can serve if he wants to, but he chose NOT to.

Just like the LUP. Pap if chose to treat it as a Country project will upgrade the lifts base on the age.

For 27 yrs they were punishing their voters in Potong Pasir and finally broke through, not because the oppo voter like to vote them but gave up bcz they are too old to walk the stairs.

How can our leaders that brand themselves to building an inclusive society when they are seen doing the exact opposite?

Edited by Tigerwoods

DPP offers Nadine Yap.....http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/dpp-introduces-harvard/2051724.html

SINGAPORE: The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has pitched a Harvard graduate to be among the slate of candidates it and the Singapore People’s Party (SPP) will be jointly fielding in Bishan-Toa Payoh Group Representation Constituency.

KJ also from Cambridge... but that didn't stop him from being clueless.

How come "Son of Ponggol" this time become backdoor entrant of AMK? No determination to fight another battle?

It is the new unwritten promise/rule that as long as try one time in erections but failed, next time sure guaranteed to enter farliment via tailcoats? Wong YK, Son of Ponggol.....

Where's Desmond Choo being fielded BTW?

Desmond Choo will most probably be fielded in Tampines GRC.

Only for candidates they really want la... people like Eric Low, lost Hougang twice, then given a token BBM and that's it.

pic4.jpg

no kinky lim news for a week already .... maybe no go.

NSP only contesting 11 seats this time, as opposted to 26 seats in 2011. They might actually have to drop a few people, and I wouldn't be surprised if she didn't make the cut.

Edited by Alheych

this time sure thing liao ... MP to be ... here is the [thumbsup]

This Dr Koh from Son of Punggol to Son of Ang Mo?

Really BO CHi one. What does LHL see in him?

An old letter from one of the new candidates on learning dialects. As long as we advocate something not in line with garmen policy, we will be stupid. (heard he now using Hokkien to talk to aunties, his Ang Mo standards must be dropping rapidly day by day....)

Foolish to advocate the learning of dialects

I REFER to yesterday's article by Ms Jalelah Abu Baker ('One generation - that's all it takes 'for a language to die'). It mentioned a quote from Dr Ng Bee Chin, acting head of Nanyang Technological University's (NTU) Division of Linguistics and Multilingual Studies: 'Although Singaporeans are still multilingual, 40 years ago, we were even more multilingual. Young children are not speaking some of these languages at all any more.'

To keep a language alive, it has to be used regularly. Using one language more frequently means less time for other languages. Hence, the more languages a person learns, the greater the difficulties of retaining them at a high level of fluency.

There are linguistically gifted individuals who can handle multiple languages, but Singapore's experience over 50 years of implementing the bilingual education policy has shown that most people find it extremely difficult to cope with two languages when they are as diverse as English and Mandarin.

This is why we have discouraged the use of dialects. It interferes with the learning of Mandarin and English. Singaporeans have to master English. It is our common working language and the language which connects us with the world.

We also emphasised the learning of Mandarin, to make it the mother tongue for all Chinese Singaporeans, regardless of their dialect groups. This is the common language of the 1.3 billion people in China. To engage China, overseas Chinese and foreigners are learning Mandarin and not the dialects of the different Chinese provinces.

We have achieved progress with our bilingual education in the past few decades. Many Singaporeans are now fluent in both English and Mandarin. It would be STUPID for any Singapore agency or NTU to advocate the learning of dialects, which must be at the expense of English and Mandarin.

That was the reason the Government stopped all dialect programmes on radio and television after 1979. Not to give conflicting signals, then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew also stopped making speeches in Hokkien, which he had become fluent in after frequent use since 1961.

Chee Hong Tat
Principal Private Secretary
to the Minister Mentor

This article was first published in The Straits Times.

Edited by Volvobrick

Costs of labour is the root multiplier for many other indirect costs. Like it or not, to a company this is very substantial running costs. Companies are shallow. They want to make the most money. Social issues are secondary. Cut throat business. Business is cut throat.

Take a look at this. Business competitiveness and any type of costs go hand in hand. Our labour costs is very substantial and it can only go higher.

post-24074-0-21815800-1439625464_thumb.jpg

Looks like Pinky Loong is using his clout to parachute in people conveniently (including Mr Pyramid Game) into Parliament via his GRC.

Especially since the opposition in AMK is Reform Party, which is still lacking a bit of credibility as compared to the other more established parties.

An old letter from one of the new candidates on learning dialects. As long as we advocate something not in line with garmen policy, we will be stupid. (heard he now using Hokkien to talk to aunties, his Ang Mo standards must be dropping rapidly day by day....)

Foolish to advocate the learning of dialects

I REFER to yesterday's article by Ms Jalelah Abu Baker ('One generation - that's all it takes 'for a language to die'). It mentioned a quote from Dr Ng Bee Chin, acting head of Nanyang Technological University's (NTU) Division of Linguistics and Multilingual Studies: 'Although Singaporeans are still multilingual, 40 years ago, we were even more multilingual. Young children are not speaking some of these languages at all any more.'

To keep a language alive, it has to be used regularly. Using one language more frequently means less time for other languages. Hence, the more languages a person learns, the greater the difficulties of retaining them at a high level of fluency.

There are linguistically gifted individuals who can handle multiple languages, but Singapore's experience over 50 years of implementing the bilingual education policy has shown that most people find it extremely difficult to cope with two languages when they are as diverse as English and Mandarin.

This is why we have discouraged the use of dialects. It interferes with the learning of Mandarin and English. Singaporeans have to master English. It is our common working language and the language which connects us with the world.

We also emphasised the learning of Mandarin, to make it the mother tongue for all Chinese Singaporeans, regardless of their dialect groups. This is the common language of the 1.3 billion people in China. To engage China, overseas Chinese and foreigners are learning Mandarin and not the dialects of the different Chinese provinces.

We have achieved progress with our bilingual education in the past few decades. Many Singaporeans are now fluent in both English and Mandarin. It would be STUPID for any Singapore agency or NTU to advocate the learning of dialects, which must be at the expense of English and Mandarin.

That was the reason the Government stopped all dialect programmes on radio and television after 1979. Not to give conflicting signals, then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew also stopped making speeches in Hokkien, which he had become fluent in after frequent use since 1961.

Chee Hong Tat
Principal Private Secretary
to the Minister Mentor

This article was first published in The Straits Times.

I can speak English, Mandarin, Hokkien, Malay, German and French (a little bit). It's only a matter of whether you want to or not.

F***ing talk cock ah this Chee Hong.

Looks like Pinky Loong is using his clout to parachute in people conveniently (including Mr Pyramid Game) into Parliament via his GRC.

Especially since the opposition in AMK is Reform Party, which is still lacking a bit of credibility as compared to the other more established parties.

I can speak English, Mandarin, Hokkien, Malay, German and French (a little bit). It's only a matter of whether you want to or not.

F***ing talk cock ah this Chee Hong.

There is a reason why WP won't contest in AMK GRC.

Correction.

Her online resume listed her assets as B cup. Dun anyhow reduce. Already not much.

😅

Don't think those are Bs leh... so flat... She anyhow declare huh?... Must let me do a physical check the verify the cup size... Hehe...

amk-grc-unveiling-6-man.jpg

paps_sembawang_team.jpg?itok=fCP4R0zV

is this something new?

the anchor does not wear pure white top.

to differentiate who is boss eh?

Lau chiao soldier wear faded Number 4 lor

Take a look at this. Business competitiveness and any type of costs go hand in hand. Our labour costs is very substantial and it can only go higher.

Well,

your chart is a useful chart but it only shows total labor costs as a percentage of total costs.

Total labor costs = hourly costs per unit labor x hours worked per unit labor x size of employed labor force

For a fuller picture, one ought to consider other crucial factors.

J6Pt1kz.jpg

For example, the above is a chart for hourly compensation costs

that shows how a German worker is paid twice the amount over a Singapore worker.

And by the way, a German worker works 25% less annual hours than a Singapore worker.

And despite all that, the Germans are not losing their title as the industrial powerhouse of the world

to cheaper workers from less developing or emerging economies anytime soon.

So, it all boils down to productivity

and also the specialization/complexity of the industry,

something Singapore isn't that good at, I am afraid to say.

[cool]