General Election 2015 - 11 Sep 2015

And he was only talking about 10, 15, 20 oppo members!

If cannot deal with 20 how to deal with a population of more than 5M?

No wonder things are falling apart....

Might well call off the election. He want a election without opposition. Dictator.

Taking to some frens.

I just realised there are people who till now don't know about AIM and MA all conspired to run road.

And these are educated net savvy folks...

Can't believe, as a pm, can said such words spending his time fixing the Oppo MPs. Why so fearful of Oppo in Parliament. I am sure today Oppo MPs are passionate ppl n ready to serve d country too. If d policy is good, they will support. If no good n they oppose or give their views then can work together to improve it. For d benefit of Spore should capitalize on d talent of d Oppo. An additional eye can see better. Think, Spore is still far away from being democratic leh.

just had a friendly discussion the other day. My point is - PAP will still form the govt, yes I do not want the Oppo to form the govt at the moment. Lastly, does one think that any opposition candidate wants SG to fail ??

Well said from CSJ :))

attachicon.gifimage.jpg

CSJ has been very measured and composed in his speech, can see PAP trying to provoke him to ignite the "hulk" in him.

For the past years, he's been quietly building up SDP as a credible opposition. So for those who can only remember his past, well maybe can just give him a chance and listen to what he has to say. Listen nia, don't have to vote.

Don't be swayed by a good speech. Understand the ideas that SDP are talking about.

It's not a Singapore democratic party.

It's a Socialist (to extremes) Democratic Party.

If u think Medisave Life is going to cost us 10% GST (invariably it will in a few years), what the SDP are proposing will cost us even more.

If you logically think about it, it must happen.

A universal healthcare system and even more handouts to the pioneer generation (beyond what the PG card promises) is going to be horrendously expensive. And i mean horrendously.

just had a friendly discussion the other day. My point is - PAP will still form the govt, yes I do not want the Oppo to form the govt at the moment. Lastly, does one think that any opposition candidate wants SG to fail ??

CSJ has been very measured and composed in his speech, can see PAP trying to provoke him to ignite the "hulk" in him.

For the past years, he's been quietly building up SDP as a credible opposition. So for those who can only remember his past, well maybe can just give him a chance and listen to what he has to say. Listen nia, don't have to vote.

Yes.. Issue at hand here is.. We are the swing votes.. How will u and I vote?? There are many ppl like us now ya know... Very willing to vote opposition

When i was younger, i could be swayed by a pretty speech. And CSJ's speech is the best of this election so far.

BUT take some time to ponder the SDP ideas.

Nothing in life is for free, there is always a cost.

To your first statement, i don't think the Roman emperors wanted the roman empire to fail as well.

I just don't understand why SDP chose Bukit Timah-Holland GRC. How many rich folks there are willing to take the risk of unsettling the environment that had gave them the riches?

CSJ is very decent in this campaign. Said things that made sense, proposed certain policies as improvements and deliver it with the skill of a seasoned orator. But his choice of GRC, I think it will be difficult.

Edited by Icedbs

I used to have prejudice on him with his past aggressive approach but after listen to his speech and watch him handle himself on tv, I begin to 'know' him a bit more and he has my vote...

you see.......human beings are like that............ppl like to decode the way they wanted it to be..............to ppl it doesnt bother them what the original message was.............or what the person meant when he said something............ppl just like to decode the way they wanted it to be.............

When you dislike someone........he say " goose that lay golden egg" and ppl will say.......... KNN where got goose can lay golden egg one................must be talk cock...........

when you like someone............he ask you go Jiak Sai............ppl also decode as sai is fertilizer.............is ho liao leh.........

From this election................already can see so many liao............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I watched some of the speeches by some people i thought were better than that.

After few mins, i just switch off the video. It's just ranting and what a coffeshop uncle can also complain about everyday. [thumbsdown]

I just don't understand why SDP chose Bukit Timah-Holland GRC. How many rich folks there are willing to take the risk of unsettling the environment that had gave them the riches?

CSJ is very decent in this campaign. Said things that made sense, proposed certain policies as improvements and deliver it with the skill of a seasoned orator. But his choice of GRC, I think it will be difficult.

SDP kana raped in the SMCs in the west previously. Very bad losing margins.

Holland was the one with their lowest losing margin.

Might well call off the election. He want a election without opposition. Dictator.

He is the only leader with 90% parliament seats on 60% vote share, media control, compliant courts, open call for coup if he loses. . Who still kpkb he cannot handle it. Yet keep asking for pay rise to handle very "tough" job.

I am not asking for change of Govt. There MUST be real checks.

I want PAP to lose the 2/3 majority asap.

No one party should have the right to just redo our constitution anytime they want on their own. Expect them to change more things to their advantage again if they lose more seats.

I want them forced to abolish GRC, by losing more GRC, only then will they realise it's back fired. No candidates by backdoor.

I want TC abolished and reverted back to hdb, only then can we prevent the AIM and upgrading bull shit that's been going on. I do the same taxes and NS, I expect my neighbourhood to have the same benefits regardless of who I exercise my vote for. Otherwise. . Reduce my taxes and NS accordingly.

• Praise 11

He is the only leader with 90% parliament seats on 60% vote share, media control, compliant courts, open call for coup if he loses. . Who still kpkb he cannot handle it. Yet keep asking for pay rise to handle very "tough" job.

I am not asking for change of Govt. There MUST be real checks.

I want PAP to lose the 2/3 majority asap.

No one party should have the right to just redo our constitution anytime they want on their own. Expect them to change more things to their advantage again if they lose more seats.

I want them forced to abolish GRC, by losing more GRC, only then will they realise it's back fired. No candidates by backdoor.

I want TC abolished and reverted back to hdb, only then can we prevent the AIM and upgrading bull shit that's been going on. I do the same taxes and NS, I expect my neighbourhood to have the same benefits regardless of who I exercise my vote for. Otherwise. . Reduce my taxes and NS accordingly.

No can do!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24iC4uMyEyM

Lol. Not siding anyone and neither do i wish for such crowded situation which make everyone plek cek. Among the GE rally speeches, no one really suggested how to make SG sustainable in the future without natural resources. Please correct me if im wrong. I am really keen to hear more from whichever party has a convincing proposal.

Because there is a perfectly good reason for that.

Singapore is really no different

from the overwhelming vast majority of first world countries

that are all resource poor countries.

"Natural resource" is just a talking point to fool the layperson

who don't understand what makes first world economies sustainable in the first place.

I will use a real world example.

The mining including energy extraction industry in USA is about 600+ billion USD.

You must be thinking, this very huge when this is slightly bigger than Singapore's economy.

However, this mining sector is only about 3% of USA's 18 trillion economy.

This is the same for rest of the first world economies.

Russia and Saudi Arabia are considered natural resource rich

because oil forms about 25% and 50% of their GDP.

In short, "natural resource" is just an over simplistic myth

that is repeated constantly to over inflate its importance to a layperson.

[cool]

Edited by CKP

Because there is perfectly good reason for that.

that all are resource poor countries.

who don't understand what makes first world economies sustainable in the first place.

[cool]

Do explain?

How many first world countries are resource poor? Off hand i can only think of Switzerland and maybe Japan.

I not a supporter of white shirt. But i hate to see my hard earn $$ being saved on some layback sinkies who rather spend more time Q-ing outside MP session than work smarter to pay for their overdue hp bills. Speaking as a blue collar who work hard rather than Kpkb on FT.

ml4014.jpg

Rate of increase may be slower, but knn, its still increasing....

And these ppl are here vying for jobs that our own ppl , our children will be doing in future as PMET !

What lao eh .....

Do explain?

How many first world countries are resource poor? Off hand i can only think of Switzerland and maybe Japan.

I added some real world comparisons in my previous post.

Natural resources contribute an insignificant amount of GDP to most first world countries

including Switzerland, Japan, USA, Germany, Italy, UK etc.

Only a handful of exceptions out of the 30-40 first world economies

are Norway (oil/gas, 11-13% of GDP), Australia and Canada (precious commodities, 9-11% of GDP).

If one looks outside first world economies,

most of the oil rich countries are lesser developed economies

eg mid-east economies, Venezuela, Russia, Iran.

[cool]

Because there is a perfectly good reason for that.

that are all resource poor countries.

I will use a real world example.

The mining including energy extraction industry in USA is about 600+ billion USD.

You must be thinking, this very huge when this is slightly bigger than Singapore's economy.

However, this mining sector is only about 3% of USA's 18 trillion economy.

This is the same for rest of the first world economies.

Russia and Saudi Arabia are considered natural resource rich

because oil forms about 25% and 50% of their GDP.

In short, "natural resource" is just an over simplistic myth

that is repeated constantly to over inflate its importance to a layperson.

[cool]

Well said. You beri kiang you should go run a party. I vote you bro.

Can you further elaborate what's the top contributors to GDP in first world countries?

Edited by Andyngps