Caffeine Could Seriously Harm Men's Fertility

Picnic06-Biante15

Salar boh ... :o

@Tianmo your favourite drink, cannot take in too much (suggested adults only consume 400mg of caffeine a day) ... [sly]

Yahoo news: Caffeine Could Seriously Harm Men's Fertility: Should We All Just Quit?

Caffeine has hit the headlines again as it's been found to seriously affect men's fertility. New research has found that drinking just two strong cups of Joe a day could halve their chances of conceiving a child.

We know that too much caffeine isn't super duper healthy for us, but can our beloved coffee and tea really be that harmful to our health? And are we unwittingly drinking far more than is healthy without even realising?

In the past women have been warned not to overdo caffeine in pregnancy and there are studies suggesting it can raise the risk of miscarriage - so most women trying to conceive cut down anyway.

But this seems to be the first time men have been warned that their caffeine consumption could affect parenthood.

The research at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston showed that men who drank 265gm of caffeine a day had the least chance of becoming fathers. Experts suggest this could be because caffeine may harm sperm at a molecular level.

And though men who aren't trying to conceive might not think that they have anything to worry about, it definitely raises questions about what else caffeine might be doing to our health that we have no idea about.

Last year the editor in chief of the Journal of Caffeine Research Dr Jack James suggested caffeine-containing products need health warnings similar to those found on cigarette packets.

Dr James, who is head of the department of psychology at Reykjavik University, Iceland, has claimed that we're all consuming way more caffeine than we think we are.

Should we give up caffeine altogether?

Should we be ditching our coffee habits ASAP and do we need to be checking all the foods, drinks, medicines and even cosmetics we use to make sure we're not over-doing it?

It's suggested adults only consume 400mg of caffeine a day (two cups of instant coffee or four of tea). To put this into perspective, one large Starbucks coffee contains 360mg. So savour your morning cup as you shouldn't be drinking any more that day.

Though some studies have linked moderate caffeine consumption to better kidney function and a reduction in gallstones, and even heart benefits, experts remain cautious.

Migraine expert Dr Nicholas Silver, consultant neurologist at The Walton Centre for Neurology and Neurosurgery, told Yahoo!

Lifestyle that he believed we could get rid of 80 per cent of chronic illnesses, sleep problems, migraines and headaches if we simply stopped consuming caffeine

Link: https://sg.news.yahoo.com/two-cups-of-coffee-a-day-could-seriously-affect-male-fertility-thanks-to-caffeine-levels-130541083.html

post-21853-0-53030900-1413868334.jpg

Doesn't seem to affect doctors in hospitals...some of them are still romping away with nurses in the storerooms despite drinking copious amounts of coffee.

I also heard PCC too much or work in hot environment also affect fertility... but it seems not true leh.

@Tianmo your favourite drink, cannot take in too much (suggested adults only consume 400mg of caffeine a day) ... [sly]

I think he will be happy as the 'accident' rate is lower [laugh] [laugh]

Tianmo your favourite drink, cannot take in too much (suggested adults only consume 400mg of caffeine a day) ... [sly]

Yahoo news: Caffeine Could Seriously Harm Men's Fertility: Should We All Just Quit?

Caffeine has hit the headlines again as it's been found to seriously affect men's fertility. New research has found that drinking just two strong cups of Joe a day could halve their chances of conceiving a child.

We know that too much caffeine isn't super duper healthy for us, but can our beloved coffee and tea really be that harmful to our health? And are we unwittingly drinking far more than is healthy without even realising?

In the past women have been warned not to overdo caffeine in pregnancy and there are studies suggesting it can raise the risk of miscarriage - so most women trying to conceive cut down anyway.

But this seems to be the first time men have been warned that their caffeine consumption could affect parenthood.

The research at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston showed that men who drank 265gm of caffeine a day had the least chance of becoming fathers. Experts suggest this could be because caffeine may harm sperm at a molecular level.

And though men who aren't trying to conceive might not think that they have anything to worry about, it definitely raises questions about what else caffeine might be doing to our health that we have no idea about.

Last year the editor in chief of the Journal of Caffeine Research Dr Jack James suggested caffeine-containing products need health warnings similar to those found on cigarette packets.

Dr James, who is head of the department of psychology at Reykjavik University, Iceland, has claimed that we're all consuming way more caffeine than we think we are.

Should we give up caffeine altogether?

Should we be ditching our coffee habits ASAP and do we need to be checking all the foods, drinks, medicines and even cosmetics we use to make sure we're not over-doing it?

It's suggested adults only consume 400mg of caffeine a day (two cups of instant coffee or four of tea). To put this into perspective, one large Starbucks coffee contains 360mg. So savour your morning cup as you shouldn't be drinking any more that day.

Though some studies have linked moderate caffeine consumption to better kidney function and a reduction in gallstones, and even heart benefits, experts remain cautious.

Migraine expert Dr Nicholas Silver, consultant neurologist at The Walton Centre for Neurology and Neurosurgery, told Yahoo!

Lifestyle that he believed we could get rid of 80 per cent of chronic illnesses, sleep problems, migraines and headaches if we simply stopped consuming caffeine

Link: https://sg.news.yahoo.com/two-cups-of-coffee-a-day-could-seriously-affect-male-fertility-thanks-to-caffeine-levels-130541083.html

Not worry a single bit leh..................come on man.............pass me the kopi!!!!............. [laugh] [laugh]

okamoto 0.02........no scare "accident"......dont leave home without it.................... [laugh] [laugh]

this sound good as a advertisement motto............ [:p] [:p]

No protection needed. Can go raw 😄😄

Agreed, happy banging without fear cos he knows his fertility level ..... [laugh][laugh]

tianmo

KNN..................I can produce a football team hor........ <_<..... [laugh] [laugh]

Doesn't seem to affect doctors in hospitals...some of them are still romping away with nurses in the storerooms despite drinking copious amounts of coffee.

But that has nothing to do with sperm quality.

Anyway, you seem to be in the know for such matters. Are you the doctor or the nurse?

But that has nothing to do with sperm quality.

Anyway, you seem to be in the know for such matters. Are you the doctor or the nurse?

female doctor...............no male nurse to pull into the storeroom........... [:p][laugh] [laugh]

jialat tianmo angry liao.... [sweatdrop]

relac ................relac..........

I no angry.............I no angry............i very no angry........... [laugh] [laugh]