The_Bear Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 yep.........a lot of people don't realise how the law is set up and how people work around the laws. and the small guy always get screwed. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 Always bought from AD and serviced by them also. rich man spotted! but then i know of pple that not just serviced by AD but everything oso go AD, eg. tyres...just plain willing to be carrot'ed 4) how much deposit asked to place (not too much); point 4 is actually the most pertinent one if you want to skip all other steps. you just pay a price you can afford to lose sleep over even if it goes bad. dealers under CaseTrust supposedly have S$50K insurance bond for you to claim in case any "unresolved dispute" - https://www.casetrust.org.sg/accreditation-detail.aspx?id=3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 dealers under CaseTrust supposedly have S$50K insurance bond for you to claim in case any "unresolved dispute" - https://www.casetrust.org.sg/accreditation-detail.aspx?id=3 good point. but then for people who set up company to scam people and flee, they will surely not sign up for case trust. or for this case, the amount he scammed is $2.7m as reported by some sources, the $50k is surely small change for this scammer director. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 good point. but then for people who set up company to scam people and flee, they will surely not sign up for case trust. or for this case, the amount he scammed is $2.7m as reported by some sources, the $50k is surely small change for this scammer director. 1. Only buy from CaseTrust dealers then. 2. $50K each. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 Hahha discrimination. Cheapo kopi. If 5k 10k is a lot to someone, then maybe the struggle should have been public transport or used car. And BnB never give out expensive coffee de. 3 in 1 already not bad. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 (edited) 1. Only buy from CaseTrust dealers then. 2. $50K each. point 2. $50k insured amount for each deal? quite unlikely unless it is an insurance tie up. if it is an insurance tie up, the premiums would have been quite substantial and again quite unlikely to come out from this company or its director. I have just read the wordings in case trust website. I believe it is $50k for each dealer and not for each customer. which goes back to my point it won't adequately compensate the amount they have scammed. Edited December 18, 2014 by Acemundo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 rich man spotted! but then i know of pple that not just serviced by AD but everything oso go AD, eg. tyres...just plain willing to be carrot'ed dealers under CaseTrust supposedly have S$50K insurance bond for you to claim in case any "unresolved dispute" - https://www.casetrust.org.sg/accreditation-detail.aspx?id=3 No lah. If get AD to service, there is a proper record and it adds value to the car when selling Tyres and batteries of course no need to go AD lah [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 point 2. $50k insured amount for each deal? quite unlikely unless it is an insurance tie up. if it is an insurance tie up, the premiums would have been quite substantial and again quite unlikely to come out from this company or its director. I have just read the wordings in case trust website. I believe it is $50k for each dealer and not for each customer. which goes back to my point it won't adequately compensate the amount they have scammed. There are individual bonds executed for every NTS worker by their employer. Maybe we should consider similar framework for the auto industry. Either that or limit the amount of deposit that can be collected to a minimal sum i.e $1,000 and below. The dealers should not be looking to their customers to fund their business. They should bear their own finances and risks up to completion. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 There are individual bonds executed for every NTS worker by their employer. Maybe we should consider similar framework for the auto industry. Either that or limit the amount of deposit that can be collected to a minimal sum i.e $1000 and below. yep this I agree. I find there is too much free play because govt not motivated to step in. the very least they could do is to standarise the deposit at a token figure of few thousand dollars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 I have just read the wordings in case trust website. I believe it is $50k for each dealer and not for each customer. which goes back to my point it won't adequately compensate the amount they have scammed. 1. site already says is "insurance bond". 2. "protect the customer’s fees and deposits" - note the is customer's and not customers'; $50K for each dealer is beyond stupid when it becomes just $1K if dealer has just 50 customers. want to confirm, just call and ask... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 There is 1 way, not fool proof and not applicable to everyone.. first and foremost is must have car to trade in what i do is when they ask for deposit, i will say the deposit is the trade in value of my car... so in the contract they will put i trade in the car at $xxx value... when they pass me my new car.. i pass them my old car... and by latest next day... i expect them to do the transfer... this is not fool proof because they can still transfer your old car to them but not transfer your new car to you.... and to counter this would be to go with them to LTA to do the transfer. but how many people actually bothered? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 (edited) the very least they could do is to standarise the deposit at a token figure of few thousand dollars. to bid COE for u is LTA already wants $10K wor, got dealer will ask for <$10K deposit and still bid for u meh? Edited December 18, 2014 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 (edited) 1. site already says is "insurance bond". 2. "protect the customer’s fees and deposits" - note the is customer's and not customers'; $50K for each dealer is beyond stupid when it becomes just $1K if dealer has just 50 customers. want to confirm, just call and ask... 1. yep even so it doesn't confirm the amount avail to victims 2. this only means each customer can claim, it doesn't mean all customers can claim $50k. besides, the commercial arrangement of a bond is such that it is a fix amount and not a variable one. for it to apply to all customers, it means it has to be a variable amount. insurance bond also doesn't mean it is underwritten by insurer. if it is, it would have definitely cited the underwriter. the way it is phrased, it seems to be underwritten by CASE, hence I believe it is a bond collected by CASE. I recall also a furore sometime back with Case Trust after a Case Trust accredited private school went bust. If going by your logic, these customers shouldn't have an issue claiming since it is unlikely students paid more than $50k for their course fees. again, I believe my interpretation is correct. to bid COE for u is LTA already wants $10K wor, got dealer will ask for <$10K deposit and still bid for u meh? well, at least I am saying more than the 1k Bavarian cited. why you choose to quibble with me only? I will tell you when I bought brand new car in 2002, the dealer asked for $7k deposit. I know it is a long time since then, but the rule of 10k deposit for COE bidding also existed during then. afterall, cat E COE is also transferrable. Edited December 18, 2014 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 to bid COE for u is LTA already wants $10K wor, got dealer will ask for <$10K deposit and still bid for u meh? This rule around for long time already, deposit last time also not this high, a few K only. Strong dealer would never ask you to commit more. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 1. yep even so it doesn't confirm the amount avail to victims 2. this only means each customer can claim, it doesn't mean all customers can claim $50k. besides, the commercial arrangement of a bond is such that it is a fix amount and not a variable one. for it to apply to all customers, it means it has to be a variable amount. insurance bond also doesn't mean it is underwritten by insurer. if it is, it would have definitely cited the underwriter. the way it is phrased, it seems to be underwritten by CASE, hence I believe it is a bond collected by CASE. I recall also a furore sometime back with Case Trust after a Case Trust accredited private school went bust. If going by your logic, these customers shouldn't have an issue claiming since it is unlikely students paid more than $50k for their course fees. again, I believe my interpretation is correct. well, at least I am saying more than the 1k Bavarian cited. why you choose to quibble with me only? I will tell you when I bought brand new car in 2002, the dealer asked for $7k deposit. I know it is a long time since then, but the rule of 10k deposit for COE also existed by then. afterall, cat E COE is also transferrable. Because he don't wanna quibble with a lowballer, who is also a mod here Hor @bavarian 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 Because he don't wanna quibble with a lowballer, who is also a mod here Hor @bavarian hehe a bear is so tall.......so naturally his balls are positioned relatively low Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 I recall also a furore sometime back with Case Trust after a Case Trust accredited private school went bust. If going by your logic, these customers shouldn't have an issue claiming since it is unlikely students paid more than $50k for their course fees. again, I believe my interpretation is correct. well, at least I am saying more than the 1k Bavarian cited. why you choose to quibble with me only? going by logic is fine, but your assumption that CaseTrust private school has $50K insurance bond same as CaseTrust motor dealer is not. go look through all the rest of the categories of CaseTrust'ed biz and tell me which one has $50K insurance bond? This rule around for long time already, deposit last time also not this high, a few K only. Strong dealer would never ask you to commit more. prease lor, C&C MB strong or not? how much deposit they ask for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 going by logic is fine, but your assumption that CaseTrust private school has $50K insurance bond same as CaseTrust motor dealer is not. go look through all the rest of the categories of CaseTrust'ed biz and tell me which one has $50K insurance bond? ok this is a side argument. even if it is not proven case trust for schools bond is same as case trust for motor car dealers, nothing beats the logic of the commercial arrangement right? for which you have already acceded my logical interpretation can hold water. the argument is already laid to rest in the prior post. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...