Intro a car

Charmaine12

Guys.. i am thinking of changing to a smaller car with lower maintenance. . Reason is my latio seems to give me problems.. and fuel consumption is quite high.. i am clocking 2.5k km per month.

I am looking at suzuki swift 1.3 or 1.2. Toyota vios or yaris.

Budget is 50k plus considering selling my latio 09 at that price.
Looking at at least 2009 car and newer.
Okay with manual gear.

Any other recommendation?

Guys.. i am thinking of changing to a smaller car with lower maintenance. . Reason is my latio seems to give me problems.. and fuel consumption is quite high.. i am clocking 2.5k km per month.

Okay with manual gear.

never go wrong with vios... Honda city is another option. I wont go for swift too small especially.

vios hardly any repair ... maybe just the compressor plate for the air con for those over 5 yrs .

The rest W&T as per norm.

But do change the rim to bigger one and proper tyres

whats ur FC in Latio ?

Okay with manual gear.

It is crazy to think this way.

1st: If latio cost you $x per year, you buy another car to save cost, provided the other car must be cheap and your latio is getting a very good price.

But in today's market, it's not possible.

2nd: What makes you think the other car will not give you problem?

3rd: How bad is the current FC for your latio now?

below table for your kind attention.

If latio is 10km/l while the newer car at 12km/l = savings of $83.00 per month.

$83 X 12 months = $996.00 per year.

post-61679-0-14417200-1419217980.png

Edited by Vhtfhwlego

bying a 2nd hand from a dealer, u may likely end up paying more for the repair of the purchased car then repairing ur current.

Every advise make sense.

My current ride need the following repairs

- Head gasket 1.6k

- shock absorbers - 600

- timing belt - 600

- leather seats. . Driver seat got tear.

- bad rattling sound when reverse (dunno what is this prob)

How

Every advise make sense.

- Head gasket 1.6k

- shock absorbers - 600

- timing belt - 600

How

All cars need to change shock absorbers around 5-6 yr mark. If u buy a car that's not changed, then u have to change lor. And changing shocks at 600 + is considered as cheap as it can get in SG liao.

Frankly other than the last point which you should get ur mechanics to investigate, i will just repair the car.

The latio is as reliable as the other cars u mention. Selling your car then buying from a 2nd hand car dealer, the $ u lose from such a deal is not worth it.

If left 3 yrs or more I will just repair

Confirm cheaper than any car now

yeah a ride like that is depreciating at 6 to max 8k/year. Any car u buy now depre at about 10k/year or even more. that $ can be spent on repairs.

get prius ?

Prius or the C very expensive

Every advise make sense.

- Head gasket 1.6k

- shock absorbers - 600

- timing belt - 600

How

Buying another resale doesn't solve any of the problem unless you ok with those car left a few mths and you drive it till scrape.

Those that you wrote here happen to all cars of certain age and mileage.

Every advise make sense.

- Head gasket 1.6k

- shock absorbers - 600

- timing belt - 600

How

This is very cheap liao.

Other than your bad rattling sound when reversing (where is the sound emanating from, btw?), the rest are all part n parcel of wear n tear. The only suay part is you got the car at either the wrong timing, or the previous owner wanted to save some money and got rid of the car right when these repairs were due.

BTW, didnt you recently create a thread about changing car?

Hold the car till 2016-2017 and buy new Car when the COE is lower, hits 50k ++ range. If you are in luck, the COE might even hit 40K.

Not worth to just switch a 2nd hand car, when the 2nd hand car depreciation is same as new car... and you face a risk of getting a 2nd hand lemon.

But... if you were to change, might as well change Axio... its FC is better than Vios or City. (Provided you dun get a 2nd hand lemon)

Change to a new car.

I wouldn't trust a used car other than my own used car.

Unless the other used car got clearer and more updated service records than my used car.