Pre employment health check fail?

Extinguisher

Good idea when I tio ban [grin]

Actually not so good if you add that new proposed handle to your "2Fast2Furious" status title, you might end up being the one with HBP.

Ok, I think I better stop and go get my coffee now before I start sprouting even more nonsense here. Have a good one bro. [thumbsup]

Edited by efssc

Actually not so good if you add that new proposed handle to your "2Fast2Furious" status title, you might end up being the one with HBP.

Ok, I think I better stop and go get my coffee now before I start sprouting even more nonsense here. Have a good one bro. [thumbsup]

Actually I am liming kopi now [grin]

FYI to all, seems MOH has asked all the health test facilities to stop treadmill cardiac test, all cardiac test are now static. For treadmill cardiac test have to see cardiologist. 

Personally I think it sucks but lan lan

I don't know anyone exactly who got rejected due to HBP. But may be its due to overload work the whole day in IT companies. And a person with HBP can easily be more stressed due to work load, and it is dangerous to his health.

It actually all boils down to how much the company values you. If Stephen Hawkings resign and apply for NUS, I am very sure NUS will receive him with open arms, throw in almost everything to make him feel welcome here.

But for the masses like us because we are replaceable and not indispensable, things like pre-employment health checks are there to limit the companies liabilities. It is all a balance between benefits versus risks.

Have anyone heard of job offers being retracted due to blood pressure issue during pre-employment checks?

Edited by Albeniz

13 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Have anyone heard of job offers being retracted due to blood pressure issue during pre-employment checks?

Only if doctor certify candidate cannot perform job role due to HBP.

Some companies will accept candidates with HBP but exclude all conditions related to HBP in insurance coverage.

Some good companies will just offer as per normal.

If the nature of your job requires you to be medically fit, then no choice. Otherwise most times is exclusion from the company's standard medical benefits. I personally has gone through such an experience. After almost 50 years, suddenly an old man doctor diagnose heart got sound. Surely sound didn't suddenly appear right?

Went through very major test by specialist, 3 rounds including one that push a 'camera' through my mouth to check around the heart. Found nothing but still has sound. So, doctor says, you are born with sound, medically no problem. Having been very careful with the heart since and went through many other checks since there is this history. Singapore Heart Centre has the most advanced equipment. Why I am sharing this is, you probably may die of other reasons beside what you have been diagnosed. But good to know your body lah. Take it easy and a blessing to know your limit. 

Edited by Victor68

12 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

If the nature of your job requires you to be medically fit, then no choice. Otherwise most times is exclusion from the company's standard medical benefits. I personally has gone through such an experience. After almost 50 years, suddenly an old man doctor diagnose heart got sound. Surely sound didn't suddenly appear right?

Went through very major test by specialist, 3 rounds including one that push a 'camera' through my mouth to check around the heart. Found nothing but still has sound. So, doctor says, you are born with sound, medically no problem. Having been very careful with the heart since and went through many other checks since there is this history. Singapore Heart Centre has the most advanced equipment. Why I am sharing this is, you probably may die of other reasons beside what you have been diagnosed. But good to know your body lah. Take it easy and a blessing to know your limit. 

Heart got sound should be due to some heart valves problem, and heart murmur. Usually this should be born with it and should not appear overnight de. Just that you did not go do any related checkup on it, so you would not know it.

59 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Heart got sound should be due to some heart valves problem, and heart murmur. Usually this should be born with it and should not appear overnight de. Just that you did not go do any related checkup on it, so you would not know it.

Yes but mine confirm no valves problem. So it is kind of unusal.

23 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

Yes but mine confirm no valves problem. So it is kind of unusal.

If it does not affect your daily life, no need to worry so much liao.

2 hours ago, Albeniz said:

Have not heard of it. But usually company insurance will not cover pre existing illnesses for the 1st 6 months of new hires.

2 hours ago, Albeniz said:

the boss must be a caring one knowing g the job is too stress for someone with HBP problem to perform, reject him is for his own good.

47 minutes ago, 13177 said:

If it does not affect your daily life, no need to worry so much liao.

I always believe, if it is beyond your abilty to change, worry is no use. Better focus on what you can do. Never know what will happen tomorrow. Live to the fullest and ensure conscience is clear. When you are about to kick the bucket, regret too late. 

Is it for group hospitalization insurance?

Maybe insurance company will charge higher premium if a lot of the employees have pre-existing conditions.😂

Can say your medical history is confidential?

Revisiting this thread.

I went for a job pre employment medical check up recently and also to sign letter of offer. Just want to check, if anyone got a fail in their pre employment check up due to HBP or the company willing to accept but exclude coverage for your HBP related condition? I had asked the doctor is it a determine factor to fail someone with HBP  for this check? the doctor say no, not to worry. 

Can anyone advise based on your experience?

Edited by QQDreamer