I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

Just throw out the clothes lor.

Some people don't change outfield anyway.

ewwww......SG army need to change uniform hor......thats why must stand-by full pack before each training exercise!

you all only standby full pack, i need to standby medical pouch in addition to my full pack [bigcry]

They standby but never change.

Maybe the hospital should be run like that.

In the hotel, the people that are visiting are in closed to perfect health. The hotel workers are not really well paid and if I were to make a guess, almost same level of pay but with different stress level.

The hospital is where the patient needs care and rest. The hotel, less so, because the visitors are mostly out partying or going to the office. Maybe peace and quiet after 10pm and a good bed.

So why is the hospital not run like a hotel???

I mean its really a paradigm shift. But the question here is shouldn't the service effectiveness be at that level?

Discharge summary?

Doctors round in the morning. Rounds can last anything from <1 hr to several hours depending on number of patients and manpower in the team. Sometimes round once already then need to re-round with the boss again.

The medication list/referral letters/appointments etc must be prepared for the discharge. Only then pharamacist can confirm the amounts given. Then nurses must ensure every stupid shit is completed, simple shit like removing the tag around your wrist etc etc. ward clerk need to ensure paperwork is semi completed. Pharmacist have to tell u eat this medicine, eat that medicine. 

Sometimes some people wait for results before discharging, so the doctor need to trace and then say ok to discharge.

If there's only 1-2 people doing this for multiple patients, then of course there's delay. The doctor can only be concentrating at one thing a time even when he/she is multi-tasking. 

There's other stuff that needs to be done too. Discharge and clearing the beds is a medium priority thing. 

A junior doctor with time on his hands the previous day will have done some of this pre-emptively but there will always be last minute changes.

Nurses, pharmacists etc all also have other things to do though probably only the nurses and doctors are more taxed for time and attention span.

Of course as a patient/relative, you are only sitting there waiting for time to go past so it seems like a no brainer task to you.

But the hospital has a duty of care, so everything must be completed/be pending. And that's why the nurses have a checklist to go through before you step out of the ward.

you all only standby full pack, i need to standby medical pouch in addition to my full pack [bigcry]

hello... when i stand-ed by vehicle hor...

see already also fainted. Got concertina wire, bar wire, electric detonators, non-electric detonators, iron pickets, sledge hammer, anti-tank mines, anti-personnel mines, conical charge, GPMP, 0.5" BMG, 7.62 rounds, 0.5" rounds, jerry cans, tow cable, sand bags, vehicle tool bag, bino, NVD, NVG, camou net, stretcher, etc. etc. etc.  [bigcry]  [bigcry]

still amazed how we managed to fit so many things inside...

haven't counted the 7 pax + full packs.

Even other platoons/companies people saw us also shake head...

Edited by Atrecord

They standby but never change.

i changed....after 2-3 days depending on the duration of the exercise, sure cannot tahan the smell and sticky feeling.

hello... when i stand-ed by vehicle hor...

see already also fainted. Got concertina wire, bar wire, electric detonators, non-electric detonators, iron pickets, sledge hammer, anti-tank mines, anti-personnel mines, conical charge, GPMP, 0.5" BMG, 7.62 rounds, 0.5" rounds, jerry cans, tow cable, sand bags, vehicle tool bag, bino, NVD, NVG, camou net, stretcher, etc. etc. etc. [bigcry][bigcry]

still amazed how we managed to fit so many things inside...

haven't counted the 7 pax + full packs.

Even other platoons/companies people saw us also shake head...

wah.....sound like you all going for a picnic......

i changed....after 2-3 days depending on the duration of the exercise, sure cannot tahan the smell and sticky feeling.

wah.....sound like you all going for a picnic......

you couldn't tahan at that time?

we could tahan anything... mud, dust, sweat, grease, smell...

How you know about the picnic?

Apart from those many things laid out on the ground (got fixed location one)... we also hide from the boss' eyes:

- maggie mee

- gas canister and gas stove

- gardenia bread

- luncheon meat

- corned beef

- rose syrup

And these were pre-SFI days...

i very optimistic wan. I will alsondo the same if i am in a vehicle. My friends lugged his full-pack full of cokes and titbits......i see i also

Stretcher inside Rover one. it is consider platoon store, not personal item. [:p]

so lucky....our medic got to lug around 1 for all the exercise....even the 72km. If not wrong he gave up that exercise.....but the 24km and force-marches we carried everything for him.

infantry ? 

For our road march, i only the standard FBO, no medical pouch.  :a-happy:

SCE specialise in building bridges and mine field, not walking  :grin:

think we OT from Jurong to East Coast liao 

infantry ?

For our road march, i only the standard FBO, no medical pouch. :a-happy:

SCE specialise in building bridges and mine field, not walking :grin:

yup.....1 SIR! But the medic nice guy! Even have heli license he took when he was on overseas attachement during his poly days. We of course didnt believe him until he showed us.

infantry ? 

For our road march, i only the standard FBO, no medical pouch.  :a-happy:

SCE specialise in building bridges and mine field, not walking  :grin:

Yah, i think not only East Coast, already crossed Bintan and approaching Borneo  [laugh]

i also once SCE, before they posted me to SAR...  :a-toast:

infantry ?

For our road march, i only the standard FBO, no medical pouch. :a-happy:

SCE specialise in building bridges and mine field, not walking :grin:

but still about medic mar....aka field nurse...

Better return to Nursing topic:

Must ask @philipkee:

What to watch out for if need to take care of dementia patient?

the patient now in the early stage only. The family not well-off, and in fact, the family is not closed to the patient... hopefully now will not leave him in the lurch.

Also, does dementia tend to run in the family? What's the best way to check and detect dementia for the elderly?

Edited by Atrecord