I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

Just a thought.

Like being a first time parent, nobody actually had experience it before and no matter how much you read and seek advise, soon you realised you are unique. Same goes for finding a job.

For the many, it is a lot to do with compromise. Some love their job so much that they willing to take a drastic pay cut. Other hate their job but stuck with it for the money. Some do a great job for humanity such as undertakers but many do not want to be associated with them because of cultural taboo or just stigma but strangely when they take part time job as moderator, suddenly they attract all kind of bed fellows. Few can truly say they are in the job because of passion and loving it.

From my observation.

In the same discipline like nursing, there are many varied experience and I dare say it involves the team and the people you work with. If you have a good mentor that you respect and willing to learn, your job suddenly becomes meaningful.

In nursing, there are many different fields you can join. If you are more of the office hours time, polyclinics and the like would be great. But if you like a bit of challenge then A&E. If you want to further specialised there is ICU. So the field is wide and your choice is also wide.

You may read so much about a certain field and think you like it but theory is a lot different from practical. If it does not suit you after awhile then you may want to decide to switch something else. However, because you are still young, switching does not mean it is bad but just adds to your life experience.

Nursing is a medical profession where you deal with people's life and these life cannot be replaced and why institutions are very strict. And you need to understand that.

Furthermore, nursing, once you get your diploma or degree, that does not end, it is a life time of learning. Just like doctors they need to keep up with medical technology and updates. So be prepared if you want to be a responsible and good nurse.

If you enter the medical profession, being a doctor or nurse, all that really matters is the genuine heart to help people in times of their needs (medical). With the right mindset, anything that comes along the way is not important.

Wishing those who are taking or already in the medical profession a successful career.

• Praise 10

Just a thought.

Like being a first time parent, nobody actually had experience it before and no matter how much you read and seek advise, soon you realised you are unique. Same goes for finding a job.

For the many, it is a lot to do with compromise. Some love their job so much that they willing to take a drastic pay cut. Other hate their job but stuck with it for the money. Some do a great job for humanity such as undertakers but many do not want to be associated with them because of cultural taboo or just stigma but strangely when they take part time job as moderator, suddenly they attract all kind of bed fellows. Few can truly say they are in the job because of passion and loving it.

From my observation.

In the same discipline like nursing, there are many varied experience and I dare say it involves the team and the people you work with. If you have a good mentor that you respect and willing to learn, your job suddenly becomes meaningful.

In nursing, there are many different fields you can join. If you are more of the office hours time, polyclinics and the like would be great. But if you like a bit of challenge then A&E. If you want to further specialised there is ICU. So the field is wide and your choice is also wide.

You may read so much about a certain field and think you like it but theory is a lot different from practical. If it does not suit you after awhile then you may want to decide to switch something else. However, because you are still young, switching does not mean it is bad but just adds to your life experience.

Nursing is a medical profession where you deal with people's life and these life cannot be replaced and why institutions are very strict. And you need to understand that.

Furthermore, nursing, once you get your diploma or degree, that does not end, it is a life time of learning. Just like doctors they need to keep up with medical technology and updates. So be prepared if you want to be a responsible and good nurse.

If you enter the medical profession, being a doctor or nurse, all that really matters is the genuine heart to help people in times of their needs (medical). With the right mindset, anything that comes along the way is not important.

Wishing those who are taking or already in the medical profession a successful career.

thats why my profession rawks...my patients NEVER complain.... [thumbsup]  :D  :D  :a-rip:

We have all eaten humble pie learning our trades or jobs.

Lets say I don't like the way it's done. It's no different from being in Saf.

yup!  i even scold doctors one/...and report them to SMC.... :grin:

Uncle Uncle doggie also wanna be nurse, can support doggie or not 

you lucky tht cheapskate buy you even a pair of gloves [:p]

Uncle Uncle doggie also wanna be nurse, can support doggie or not [:p] ð

Take up Nursing can't take Sq first class leh. 太后请三思 。。。lol

@claris with what others have said, nursing is a calling.  It is a meaningful job and the intangible gains you get are amazing.  

Remember the primary reason you are doing it for, to care for others and be of help when they are down.  the profession has changed lots and there are still many opportunities there for progression and if you go all the way to Masters/PhD, look to be an APN.  That can be 10-15 yrs down the road depending how fast you progress.

Healthcare is booming and as @philipkee mentioned, you won't be rich, but in bad/good times, there will still be food on the table.  I know, as I was there, not nursing but in another healthcare profession.

Best wishes and if you want more info, feel free to drop a pm

can lah, C-130 doing Medical Evac...

OR she can be private nurse for some saudi Sultan

Hor....doc suan doggie....young time don't know how to save $$, anyhow spent, now job no need to travel, can save $$ le

Else, old already jin stressed [sweatdrop]

Hor....doc suan doggie....young time don't know how to save $$, anyhow spent, now job no need to travel, can save $$ le

Else, old already jin stressed [sweatdrop]

thot u collect PG card aldy? :a-panic:

Being a RN and a nurse in role play very different.

Ha ha ha

ya @enye must like uniform gal wan...

Actually , I think many of us here also like uniform gals, not restricted to just nurse , SQ etc etc ha ha ha

P/S: Sorry , perhaps should not crack such jokes in this thread

Edited by RH1667

@claris with what others have said, nursing is a calling.  It is a meaningful job and the intangible gains you get are amazing.  

Remember the primary reason you are doing it for, to care for others and be of help when they are down.  the profession has changed lots and there are still many opportunities there for progression and if you go all the way to Masters/PhD, look to be an APN.  That can be 10-15 yrs down the road depending how fast you progress.

Healthcare is booming and as philipkee mentioned, you won't be rich, but in bad/good times, there will still be food on the table.  I know, as I was there, not nursing but in another healthcare profession.

Best wishes and if you want more info, feel free to drop a pm

can lah, C-130 doing Medical Evac...

OR she can be private nurse for some saudi Sultan

yours is more like "After-healthcare" profession................those healthcare cannot handle liao all pass to you...........and cfm good time bad time also got food on your table...............because good time bad time also ppl die.............. [:p]  [:p]

C130 first class is just pull the curtain behind can liao............ [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

i am being stalked in mcf and all the mod does is to laugh at me

peasant jin pai mia

Ya Lor...see lah....u frighten the elite until he cry Liao....think he siam doggie from now on

Being a RN and a nurse in role play very different.

Ha ha ha

All doggie want for Xmas is roast goose...kekeke... [:p]

Elite roast goose also don't Chia Liao, nursing education he run far far away :D

Uncle Uncle doggie also wanna be nurse, can support doggie or not [:p] ð

i said youngsters leh

you young or not, chief?

Unruly patient so far no. Yes, i have handled drunks but manageable. I did encounter one suicidal man who could not be restrained. It was night shift. I instructed my junior to keep an eye on him at all times, even if we cannot clean the other patients, its ok. We can answer complaints but if he jumps off, we are finished.

Sexual harassment, I have heard before. During night shift in single rooms. Usually police will be called in. But i mean molest. Rape so far never.

But if patient denied harassment, and there are only two persons inside the room, a nurse and the patient, how to proof who is telling the truth?

Are there cases where doc molest patients while in coma?

"genuine heart to help"

Wah Bro, the nursing and medical professions need people like u  [thumbsup]

Just a thought.

From my observation.

• Praise 10

thats why my profession rawks...my patients NEVER complain.... [thumbsup]:D:D:a-rip:

yup! i even scold doctors one/...and report them to SMC.... :grin:

you lucky tht cheapskate buy you even a pair of gloves [:p]

Not fair. Many complain don't know where you bury / hide the feedback box.

That is why every time at the end of 7th month, there are many who failed to return because they had been looking and digging looking for the feedback box until they blur.

That is the reason why we have so many souls roaming around even after the 7th month.

You don't believe, next time you meet one, you ask them. Ask them about the feedback box.

Good night my friend.

But if patient denied harassment, and there are only two persons inside the room, a nurse and the patient, how to proof who is telling the truth?

Are there cases where doc molest patients while in coma?

usually male nurses don't handle female patients alone bah. Or he will work in a male ward.

Reverse ... unless u are brad pitt, i doubt even the ah mah want to molest you  [laugh]

Not in my experience but we talk to each other as if the patient is alive. We also talk to the patient as if he were alive cos there is a belief that the spirit is still inside or aroundso showing respect is a mUST.

A freaky incident. A doctor was doing a study on brain activity and we know the value is 100 for alive and conscious patient and 0 for dead. There was this one time when we stopped resuscitation and patient was declared dead. Brain activity level was 10,and dropping. The family came in and the number jumped to 99.

I asked the doctor if patient would awake but he assured me patient would not as heart was almost not beating. BUT he could not explain why the brain activity was TT of a conscious person. Patient did not wake up and died immediately after the relatives left. The sudden surge of brain activity when the family came is something I still cannot explain even today.

So when we handle dead bodies, we treat the patient as alive. Even when we transfer to mortuary, we still talk to the patient, say we are turning him and all TT. I think it is also basic respect.

What is TT??