GP fees become so expensive?

Cook123

I think for mild illnesses, the trust/relationship with the doctor is probably the most important.

If you perceive the medicines to be not effective, u will sure not be happy even if the medicines are working.

The crowd pulling GPs are the ones with the best PR, even if their clinical skills are just average or above average.

Hard Truth.

A lot in Paragon...

I feel that it's important to establish a long term relationship with a doctor (aka family doctor), who knows your medical history well and can more suitably treat you.

But nowadays with chain clinics, I find it difficult as the doctors keep changing.

I think for mild illnesses, the trust/relationship with the doctor is probably the most important.

If you perceive the medicines to be not effective, u will sure not be happy even if the medicines are working.

The crowd pulling GPs are the ones with the best PR, even if their clinical skills are just average or above average.

Hard Truth.

the GP clinic at my foot of my block very popular cos' she is good with parents and toddlers/young kids. my SIL so enamoured by her that she will not visit the clinic if she is not at the clinic, for herself or her son.... so does my neighbours n others in the estate.... machiam rock star sia [laugh]

Edited by Toothiewabbit

the GP clinic at my foot of my block very popular cos' she is good with parents and toddlers/young kids. my SIL so enamoured by her that she will not visit the clinic if she is not at the clinic, for herself or her son.... so does my neighbours n others in the estate.... machiam rock star sia [laugh]

Doctor not around then your SIL won't be sick anymore?

you will be surprised... ...

Especially the older folks.

Children usually then no one will wait.

Over the last 30 years, prices has gone up for most things and this is due to inflation.

Cannot keep comparing prices of yesteryears.

My Malaysian relative visited the polyclinic recently.

She was charged a consult fee of $40.

A visit to the A+E cost about $110. In the 90"s, it's about $50-60.

Last I heard, a private orthopaedic specialist consultation fee is around $150 (without medications). In the 90"s, specialist fees were around $50-60.

In the early 80"s, I remember as a child, my parents usually spend $6-$10 per visit to the GP for my childhood flu.

Those times, I could still get mee rebus at $0.80-& $1.00 per bowl in ang mo kio coffeeshop.

I believe HDB rental during the early 80"s is around $300-1000/mth.

Recent HDB shop rents at Punggol is around $10000-15000/mth.

I think 2 years ago, a clinic at Punggol, which is smaller and situated beside Ntuc supermarket paid more than $25000/mth rental vs Ntuc supermarket $20000. No wonder punggol residents have to pay more for their GP visits.

Salary has also gone up too. My retired dad who was a banker in the early 80"s earns $3000/mth as a branch bank manager. I think branch managers these days command $12000-15000/mth.

Personally, if I am sick, I will spend to get well quickly otherwise I cannot contribute to taking care of my family and working properly. Nothing better than to be in the pink of health asap.

I remember a friend of mine who was coughing for 2 months without visiting his doc, then suddenly he landed in the hospital and died from pneumonia.

I also know an army Encik who was having flu and went for his usual run in the camp to "run off his flu". The next day, he was breathless and 3 days later died from flu related heart infection. He was a fit 50 yr old man.

Thanks for listening

if going gov hospital for specialist visit, rem must get referral letter from polyclinic first in order to enjoy subsidy rates...

Edited by Worldir

Yeah, many people will trust a certain doctor.

For those who can wait, they will actually come back another time or day.

Not unless they are dying of coz, then any doctor is better than no doctor.

Have things changed (for the worse)?

I remembered about 6 years back, the neighbourhood GP gave me a referral letter to SGH. Somemore, I am using co's medical credit card's single bedder class. I asked if I will miss the subsidies, he said NO.

Maybe, I checked myself in to A&E?

Err to get into the subsidised clinic, only if u are a CHAS card or PG card holder. I doubt any of you are lol.

Edited by Kangadrool

Have things changed (for the worse)?

I remembered about 6 years back, the neighbourhood GP gave me a referral letter to SGH. Somemore, I am using co's medical credit card. I asked if I will miss the subsidies, he said NO.

Maybe, I checked myself in to A&E?

Anyone can refer to A&E, the A&E Department has no tiers. They accept all walk-ins and emergencies of course.

I meant the subsidised specialist outpatient clinics.

health still very impt. paying a bit more to get well faster so that can work is still wiser than saving money and later end up got complication and cannot work for long time. lagi worse

OIC. So, that doc earned more with that referral letter writing! [laugh] I should have checked myself into A&E since few clinics either cannot solve my problem/totally puzzled.

Anyone can refer to A&E, the A&E Department has no tiers. They accept all walk-ins and emergencies of course.

I meant the subsidised specialist outpatient clinics.

OIC. So, that doc earned more with that referral letter writing! [laugh] I should have checked myself into A&E since few clinics either cannot solve my problem/totally puzzled.

I usually write in the memo what i want to be done for the patient.

Some A&E MO is very xin jiao...