Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

7 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

For RM50k, you can drive F458 + Bungalow in Desa Park City.

Really meh? 

Then can consider but i dont like Ferraris in general. I’m a Porsche guy

On 8/11/2020 at 11:44 PM, jafizi said:
7 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

KL cheap rental

From 18k drop to 4k, you see his face light up, almost cannot contain the burst of sunlight radiating from his face :XD:

if it was me, I will go like this:

58378ABD-8759-4EF8-BCA8-7F44F01A4B41.gif

Edited by Mustank

2 hours ago, Mustank said:

From 18k drop to 4k, you see his face light up, almost cannot contain the burst of sunlight radiating from his face :XD:

all these got "deal" one la

just like Youtuber vlog flying SIA Suite to New York ... sibei shiok ...

but it cost an arm and a leg for normal person ... lol

1 minute ago, Wt_know said:

all these got "deal" one la

just like Youtuber vlog flying SIA Suite to New York ... sibei shiok ...

but it cost an arm and a leg for normal person ... lol

I saw HKer youtuber went to see a 2+k sq foot condo next to Mont Kiara International School.

RM1k/sq ft

My estimate for a monthly cost of living based on a 2-storey terrace for a couple living comfortably in Johor:

• Meals and weekend treats = $2000 RM
  • Car (all in, 7 years loan) = $1000 RM 
  • Utility bills (water and electricity) = $200 RM
  • Municipal = $50 RM
  • Maintenance and security fee = $300 RM
  • Property tax = $50 RM
  • Medical = $200 RM
  • Insurance = $500 RM
  • Internet and mobile = $200 RM
  • Miscellaneous = $500 RM

Total = $5000 RM or about $1700 SGD.  I think it is very much affordable for my case at today's prices.  Hope to have an earlier retirement in my 50s 😀

11 minutes ago, awhtc said:

My estimate for a monthly cost of living based on a 2-storey terrace for a couple living comfortably in Johor:

• Municipal = $50 RM
  • Property tax = $50 RM
  • Medical = $200 RM
  • Insurance = $500 RM

Total = $5000 RM or about $1700 SGD.  I think it is very much affordable for my case at today's prices.  Hope to have an earlier retirement in my 50s 😀

property ... 2-storey terrace smelly smelly RM1 mil leh?

fully paid also must add into monthly expenses ma for housing ... 

anyway ... based on my msia bro tips ... smelly smelly rm8k-rm10k la ... this is the acceptable range liao

for a couple living comfortably in msia includes house + car + groceries + makan + lepak + utilities + internet + date nights ... overseas holiday not counted hor

9 hours ago, awhtc said:

• Municipal = $50 RM
  • Property tax = $50 RM
  • Medical = $200 RM
  • Insurance = $500 RM

cater for housing, easily add 1,500 - 2,000 depending what type of house and where lor...

Meals 2,000 - a bit high ler….i think can go market and buy and cook, no need to eat out all the time. If 2 pax, cook at home, think can save a lot

Car 1,000 - depend what car and how much downpayment paid. Retire liao, so no need conti car, maybe a 10 yr old Camry can already.

if got fully paid house/condo - then i think SGD1,000 is really comfortable in KL. Husband and wife dun eat or spend a lot. - I would increase allocation on medical insurance....you know ler, old pple fall sick easily.

it would be nice, just drive around Malaysia and jalan jalan makan…[laugh]. Maybe find a job there as a part time cleaner in one of the offices to kill time..[laugh]. and supplement the income.

10 hours ago, awhtc said:

• Municipal = $50 RM
  • Property tax = $50 RM
  • Medical = $200 RM
  • Insurance = $500 RM

• Car: At RM1k, limited to Top spec MYVI
  • Utility: RM400 for double storey
  • Maintenance and Security: At least RM500 for double storey as you are staying in 3 - 4K sq ft space
  • Medical: Start staying healthy now
  • Internet and Mobile: RM99 for 100mbps internet; RM199 for 1gbps internet

10 hours ago, Wt_know said:

property ... 2-storey terrace smelly smelly RM1 mil leh?

fully paid also must add into monthly expenses ma for housing ... 

anyway ... based on my msia bro tips ... smelly smelly rm8k-rm10k la ... this is the acceptable range liao

for a couple living comfortably in msia includes house + car + groceries + makan + lepak + utilities + internet + date nights ... overseas holiday not counted hor

I have already factored the maintenance fee based on my own experience.  With some luxurious living, I will probably add another $1-2k RM more but that is still very affordable.  A car in Singapore will already cost at least 1.5k SGD or $4.5k RM a month.  I want to drive around and explore the good food and places of interest in Malaysia:

https://www.netflix.com/sg/title/81070979

https://theculturetrip.com/asia/malaysia/articles/malaysia-s-most-beautiful-places-to-visit-must-see-destinations/

11 hours ago, awhtc said:

• Municipal = $50 RM
  • Property tax = $50 RM
  • Medical = $200 RM
  • Insurance = $500 RM

Way underestimated lah.

no wonder people who earn $120kpa drive $200k cars..... muayhahaha

$5000 RM cannot survive in Johor?  I wonder how their own people survive then. I don't spend a lot on myself in Singapore also.

1 hour ago, awhtc said:

$5000 RM cannot survive in Johor?  I wonder how their own people survive then. I don't spend a lot on myself in Singapore also.

survive of course can la but your post says "living comfortably" ma ...

msia official poverty line is rm2,200 ... this makes rm3,200 poor ... rm4,200 decent .... rm5,200 probably comfort ... drive here drive there makan and lepak

and you if your are referring to johor bahru ... which is one of the most expensive state (after kl and penang) because of singapore

unless move futher north of johor bahru ... at least 45mins away ... further up after Kulai!

when ringgit weakening ... purchasing power will also be lower

based on your logic rm5000 household income is "okay" means husband and wife both making rm2500 salary (zero tax whatsoever)

do you think that's gonna be ok?

if your rm5k is per pax ... then the estimation of rm8k-rm10k sound reasonable for 2pax to live comfortably?

myr5000/pax live comfortably in msia ... drive here drive there jiak bah kut teh for lunch and seafood for dinner ...

sgd1650/pax live frugally in spore ... take public transport for sure ... not even Grab

still a HUGE step up hor ... huat ah! 

MM2H visa ... here i come !