Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

14 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Housing is getting out of reach for a lot of ppl.  Ppl working KL is moving further and further away to Seremban.

The closest to town large housing estate is Seremban 2.

Seremban is still a relatively small town with 3 street from North to South

that's the charm of Seremban, not too far away from KL and relatively small town (relative depends on individual) some may consider it too big a city now!

but heck, i think if i can get a landed single storey bungalow there for retirement, i'll be happy man! I would prefer the old type housing estate rather than the new township that is booming..let's see what happens once Covid is over or so called endemic...

29 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Housing is getting out of reach for a lot of ppl.  Ppl working KL is moving further and further away to Seremban.

The closest to town large housing estate is Seremban 2.

Seremban is still a relatively small town with 3 street from North to South

yup ... many years already people move to Nilai (45mins drive) to KL due to high cost of housing in KL

now have to move further down to Seremban 2 ... [sweatdrop] 

It could not be the BAD, many Malaysian thought at first however the devastating flooding has caused havoc, damages and livelihoods to the majority of villages, stocks, homes, animals and assets lost in the last 50 years in Malaysia, not just KL alone, .

Yeah, the younger generation may have to consider or even make an informed decision on moving elsewhere for work, live & play, this has taken a form of future prospect and economy upturn and younger families has the option of choosing a Hope & Expectation, unfortunately the elderly folks will be left behind, all efforts will not be spared to make that commitment to migrate if chances of procuring working life seems an option.

I would be an Option for many young man and woman yet having opportunity of going home for visitation, so the question of retirement in Malaysia is now the talking point of NOT what if and what can happen if Malaysian or Singaporean retirement up north, it is also a Change of Mindset of which province/s is suitable, liveable and accommodating . . .( for their off spring - Education, Career & New Home cohesion. ) For Singaporean thinking retirement up north, it would be connecting with another new acceptance of lives in another countries, one may still wake up and have Kopi-O, Kaya Toast and WanTan Mee for Nasi Padang, Tosai and their Teh Tarik & Prata egg Malaysian Style, very affordable yet compromising in living condition and adopting new way of life. One must be prepared to accept it w/o complaint . . . KpKb 😨😤

Thailand has a retirement VISA for foreigners above 50 years old.

I think one just need to have 800,000 THB (~S$33,000) to qualify.

Would this be better than retiring in Malaysia? 

Do you know of anyone who went to Thailand for retirement?  Sounds good.

Can consider?  Just a little bit more up-north from our usual option.

Some information here:  https://www.thaiembassy.com/thailand-visa/retirement-visa

The Financial Requirements for a Retirement Visa (in Thailand)

Financial Requirements are as follows:

Thai Bank Account showing THB 800,000 or

Monthly income of at least THB 65,000 (income affidavit from your embassy in Bangkok) or

Combination (Bank Account + Annual Income = THB 800,000).

Edited by Albeniz

27 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Can consider?  Just a little bit more up-north from our usual option.

Some information here:  https://www.thaiembassy.com/thailand-visa/retirement-visa

The Financial Requirements for a Retirement Visa (in Thailand)

Financial Requirements are as follows:

Thai Bank Account showing THB 800,000 or

Monthly income of at least THB 65,000 (income affidavit from your embassy in Bangkok) or

Combination (Bank Account + Annual Income = THB 800,000).

Language is a problem unless you have a siam bu there with you. 😁

14 hours ago, Ho2786 said:

Kelantan number one

1000 big ringgit will do

Nasi lemak everyday

see doctor only one ringgit so can see everyday

nasi lemak everyday will sure see doctor everyday...🤣

15 hours ago, Ho2786 said:

Kelantan number one

1000 big ringgit will do

Nasi lemak everyday

see doctor only one ringgit so can see everyday

Kelantan is famous for Nasi Dagang 

Not Nasi Lemak

55 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

when is MM2H open border ... gotta make some new friend ... :grin:

Will tell you when my friend MM2H is approved.

😜

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

going to SARAWAK ... MTL ... lol

Huh?

This video probably made in KL to attract Hong Kongers.

Who actually speak Cantonese in Sarawak? 🤣

On 4/10/2022 at 11:21 AM, inlinesix said:

Will tell you when my friend MM2H is approved.

😜

On 4/10/2022 at 10:25 AM, Wt_know said:

when is MM2H open border ... gotta make some new friend ... :grin:

Just take note and don't take MH flight 370 and 17 when travelling out from MY

8 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Huh?

This video probably made in KL to attract Hong Kongers.

Who actually speak Cantonese in Sarawak? 🤣

apply Sarawak MM2H (SMM2H), can live and stay in KL, Penang, Ipoh, Johor, etc ... entire west msia

just like any Sarawakian wants to live and work in West msia ... however, West msian cannot do so in East msia and must apply work permit ...

Sarawak dua kee ... that's the rule determined and agreed donkey years liao

Sarawak huat ah!!! that's why Sarawak reduce their SMM2H eligibility for the loop hole

2022-04-18_081638.png

Today I went into Johor to run some errands. I pumped 16 L of RON 97 for RM $61 or about SG $20.

The parking at a small in the town centre is only RM $1 for 1 hour.

Cost of living is really much lower in Johor if one is earning SGD or retiring on SGD.

3 minutes ago, awhtc said:

Today I went into Johor to run some errands. I pumped 16 L of RON 97 for RM $61 or about SG $20.

The parking at a small in the town centre is only RM $1 for 1 hour.

Cost of living is really much lower in Johor if one is earning SGD or retiring on SGD.

aberthen ...

nong nong time ago ... in a far away galaxy

ministar already suggested to retire in JB with lower cost of living ... huat ah!