Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

1 hour ago, awhtc said:

$5000 RM cannot survive in Johor?  I wonder how their own people survive then. I don't spend a lot on myself in Singapore also.

If just survive, can lah.  RM3000 also can.  But retire, must be in style mah, otherwise why retire, muayhahaha

i also dont spend a lot on myself in SG, on average $5k mthly...

25 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

If just survive, can lah.  RM3000 also can.  But retire, must be in style mah, otherwise why retire, muayhahaha

i also dont spend a lot on myself in SG, on average $25k mthly...

there was a typo ... corrected for you bro ... muayhahahaha

$5k ... sekali ... 1 quarter can only buy 1 box of cigar ... how can .... lol

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

there was a typo ... corrected for you bro ... muayhahahaha

$5k ... sekali ... 1 quarter can only buy 1 box of cigar ... how can .... lol

No lah, $5k is on myself, not inclusive of my wife who is a homemaker, and my 2 kids.

One box of cigars only about $750. I usually do about 2 boxes a month.  So thats only $1500, moreover i have a collection of more than a 100 boxes as it stands.  

2 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

i also dont spend a lot on myself in SG, on average $5k mthly...

If I just include food and other daily necessities (e.g. shampoo, utilities and handphone bill), for myself I just need only around $1k+ SGD at most a month to survive in Singapore (I have excluded car, insurance, installments and other costs that I need to pay at this stage of my life).

The key difference to retiring in Malaysia compared to Singapore is being able to afford another car to drive around to explore places and enjoy local delights.  I feel that Singapore is built for generating money from its working population and tourists.

I can hop back to Singapore easily via RTS.

MK and DPC ... [thumbsup] 

but i don't like to stay in KL ...

IPOH is besterest for me ... huat ah!

11 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Which part of Ipoh

Tiger Lane area ...

hearsay, Ipoh got many xmm ... so everyday i can go starbuck lim kopi ... lol

17 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

Tiger Lane area ...

hearsay, Ipoh got many xmm ... so everyday i can go starbuck lim kopi ... lol

Not far from my "girlfriend" home

32 minutes ago, awhtc said:

If I just include food and other daily necessities (e.g. shampoo, utilities and handphone bill), for myself I just need only around $1k+ SGD at most a month to survive in Singapore (I have excluded car, insurance, installments and other costs that I need to pay at this stage of my life).

The key difference to retiring in Malaysia compared to Singapore is being able to afford another car to drive around to explore places and enjoy local delights.  I feel that Singapore is built for generating money from its working population and tourists.

Yes thats what Singapore Inc is all about.

You know i know

7 hours ago, awhtc said:

Wah 1k, must be quite OK leh.  Carry on lor.

I am a "POOR" man but GARMENT don't think so.

I:

-Eat 2 meals a day MX Rice 1M1V+Upsize Rice $2.80X2X30 =  $168

-Lux Soap 3 for $1, 1 soap last 5days = $6

-Utilities whole family = $160

-HP $10 5GB+200mins

-Fixed Internet $29

-4D/TOTO  $120

-Smoking ~$100

Total $593

Car Effective Cost PER MONTH $1279

I also no eat wild chicken or KTV one, cannot sing. Then coffee, I only drink $1 one.  My place FC coffee $0.80.

Say NO to MORE than $1 coffee, ya. Nescafe BEST $0.20. 

On 10/10/2020 at 12:17 AM, Apple-Tree said:

Wah 1k, must be quite OK leh.  Carry on lor.

I am a "POOR" man but GARMENT don't think so.

I:

-Eat 2 meals a day MX Rice 1M1V+Upsize Rice $2.80X2X30 =  $168

-Lux Soap 3 for $1, 1 soap last 5days = $6

-Utilities whole family = $160

-HP $10 5GB+200mins

-Fixed Internet $29

-4D/TOTO  $120

-Smoking ~$100

Total $593

Car Effective Cost PER MONTH $1279

I also no eat wild chicken or KTV one, cannot sing. Then coffee, I only drink $1 one.  My place FC coffee $0.80.

Say NO to MORE than $1 coffee, ya. Nescafe BEST $0.20. 

If government dont think you are  a poor man that means you are not, but you choose to live like  a poor man. It is good  to stay frugal but why would you want to deprive yourself to save up so much? 

Edited by Ct3833

4 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

If government dont think you are  a poor man that means you are not, but you choose to live like  a poor man. It is good  to stay frugal but why would you want to deprive yourself to save up so much? 

Govt thinks some people are poor when they are not also.  
just becos they use HDB as address

5 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

Oh ....... it is called Front People Plant Tree, Back People can ENJOY the Shade lor ......

1 hour ago, Apple-Tree said:

Oh ....... it is called Front People Plant Tree, Back People can ENJOY the Shade lor ......

Remember to enjoy life. You just need to plant a tree or two, the rest they will have too  find their way out,  no need to give them a forest. 

2 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Govt thinks some people are poor when they are not also.  
just becos they use HDB as address

You post some more IRAS may come after you . Dont assume they are not surging  MCf. 😅😅

Just now, Ct3833 said:

You post some more IRAS may come after you . Dont assume they are not surging  MCf. 😅😅

They are free to do that. I am clean.  
pay and pay, no end one. Just paid property tax last week also.