Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

buy? At a stroke of pen or pencil, your house may be gone.

rent is the way to go. Otang rents and then run road if you decide to uproot to another place.

bring along the TV or fridge if the house is furnish with [laugh]

Australia racist?

When I went to Australia the taxi driver to the hotel was from India.

My Australian colleagues were from South Africa, Canada, Italian, Poland,

Vietnam, India and China.

I find more racism in Malaysia.

I don't think I did say Australian are racist but in general if you are not a local, there will be rejection from locals when you are competing with them.

In general, developed countries like australia, this is more apparent if you are not Eurasian or ang moh. This is a fact even if you work here in Singapore.

I also qualified that if you got money, all will treat you like god. Tell me this is not true.

Australia racist?

When I went to Australia the taxi driver to the hotel was from India.

My Australian colleagues were from South Africa, Canada, Italian, Poland,

Vietnam, India and China.

I find more racism in Malaysia.

James,

Sala lah, according to Oxford Dictionary, racism is the feeling of superiority. How can a group of people who require protection and affirmative action for more than 50 freaking years be racist? [laugh]

post-24635-0-08369400-1449888844_thumb.png

buy? At a stroke of pen or pencil, your house may be gone.

rent is the way to go. Otang rents and then run road if you decide to uproot to another place.

And don't need to bother with maintenance issues like leaky roof after some 10 years.

Once the place gets run down, move on to another newer one at similar rental price. Lots of supply there.

Has anyone here thought about summer homes in Cameron Highlands or near the mountains in KK...so pretty!!

if u dont mind the long drive there then its quite nice. kinda boring after awhile tho

Edited by Duckduck

actually, i look at retirement differently where i want to retire in spore

lets say i can retire in jb living in a 5000sqft semi-D

but at what age do you retire? 60-65-70?

at that age i dont want to live in a gigantic 5000sqft semi-D ..

at that age i want to live in a 1000sqft pigeon hole with good facilities and infrastructure

one call ... ambulance can arrive or i can go to see doctor easily

so ... what is the purpose to retire in msia? to live in great bungalow or live decent?

somemore 2 old folks living in jb in a landed property ... sounds "no no"

unless you are in good health, your body is in good shape and you still can drive around and run errand

When one is in his 55 to 65, "semi-retire" in Malaysia first to enjoy the big houses and cars.

Beyond 65, come back to Singapore to live in small flat and also to make sure ambulance could arrive on time.

Edited by Albeniz

When one is in his 55 to 65, "semi-retire" in Malaysia first to enjoy the big houses and cars.

Beyond 65, come back to Singapore to live in small flat and also to make sure ambulance could arrive on time.

that's practical and the reality  [laugh]

I'm curious to know if any members in here lives in JB but works in SG.

Either daily commuting or via car pool.

Mind sharing your thoughts and experience?

I know a few of my colleagues does that and he drives daily in out.

He's already semi retirement hence I guess it don't really take much of a toll on him.

that's a good idea

but make sure at 55-65 you dont get mugged on the street or house burglary

PR colleague family in JB house kena burglared at 3-4am and the parent freakout almost got heart attack

2-3 men get into the house with parang and demand for money

1 of my relative in msia house also kena burglared but in KL ... and there are many cases stranger on bike roaming and when your house gate open they will cheong into the house with parang and steel pipe - most high on drugs

that's a good idea

but make sure at 55-65 you dont get mugged on the street or house burglary

PR colleague family in JB house kena burglared at 3-4am and the parent freakout almost got heart attack

2-3 men get intot the house with parang and demand for money

1 of my relative in msia house also kena burglared but in KL ... and there are many cases people on bike roaming and when your house gate open they will cheong into the house with parang and steel pipe - most high on drugs

yeah, staying in Malaysia definitely has its own security concern.

will staying in those condo, guarded, a better solution?

high floor, with access elevator, suite type

I always saw those video clips, its those landed that are robbed.

and usually unguarded..

of course, those guards for a petty salary, won't do much but better than nothing.

condo is overrated and overprice

condo facilities are poorly maintained and pretty bare/basic

depends on what condo

if cheapo condo, you see all kind of tenant and you will annoy and a concern ... got chicken farm too .. lol

if sibei expensive condo ... might as well get a semi-D

yeah, staying in Malaysia definitely has its own security concern.

will staying in those condo, guarded, a better solution?

high floor, with access elevator, suite type

I always saw those video clips, its those landed that are robbed.

and usually unguarded..

of course, those guards for a petty salary, won't do much but better than nothing.

go there of course buy landed lah, want to have big garden and pond.

if buy jb property ... no 5000sqft no talk !!!

1 porsche and 1 bmw park in front porch

condo is overrated and overprice

condo facilities are poorly maintained and pretty bare/basic

depends on what condo

if cheapo condo, you see all kind of tenant and you will annoy and a concern ... got chicken farm too .. lol

if sibei expensive condo ... might as well get a semi-D

I see, lately those property agents are pushing the condo at danga bay..

had a conversation with my Malaysia friend, say this project gonna be full of PRC..

and area going to be very congested..

recommend me to look at mount Austin or setia..

I actually like condo, cos it give me a sense of security.. :D

another friend of mine did that..

Singaporean but staying in indah.

a full time mc and magician..

very relax lifestyle..

own a big corner semi, enough to house 4 cars..

a proton exora, sg plate

another mpv..

an evo

plus a newly addition nsx..

if buy jb property ... no 5000sqft no talk !!!

1 porsche and 1 bmw park in front porch

ermm.. you must be very rich..

haha..

I find it quite amusing when Singaporeans tell me JB is quite safe one if u know what you are doing (eg my BIL)

Dunno how come all the ex-colleagues that were actual JB residents tell me differently  [rolleyes]

I know quite a number of them that don't enter back into JB unless for family matters and can tell me of multiple burglaries/muggings and also car jackings. Granted that not all of these incidents happen in JB.