Kia Carens 2015: all new 7-seater arrives

yo2020

1 hour ago, teomingern said:

Bro Apple-Tree, nice find... how did you connect the phone to the car?

Oh .... yahor, you will need a Bluetooth OBD Adapter.

Try:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000603696085.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.2e206021bzAlRa&algo_pvid=2a1a73ef-bea3-4938-992d-f222d1bb2271&algo_expid=2a1a73ef-bea3-4938-992d-f222d1bb2271-2&btsid=0bb0623d15993723862124208e2f3e&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_

OR

https://shopee.sg/【Ready-Stock】Super-Mini-ELM327-Bluetooth-V2.1-OBD2-Wireless-Car-Diagnostic-Scanner-Universal-OBD-II-Auto-Scan-Tool-Work-On-Android-i.282573063.5245819749

OR

https://www.lazada.sg/products/car-bluetooth-obdii-scan-tool-scanner-adapter-v15-elm-327-v-15-obd-2-car-diagnostic-tool-for-android-devices-i1132250654-s4396600853.html?spm=a2o42.searchlist.list.2.3c9fc4fczFZzYz&search=1

It is so small in formfactor that you will tend to leave it on the OBD port permanently.  DON'T DO that, it is possible hacker can access your vehicle OBD, even when your car is shut or worse, when you are driving.  Mode 8 of the PID ba...... Can Actuate your car sub-component.....like GB ba..

Managed to capture a DPF Regeneration Event today leh.

Seems like 110km apart and it take about 17mins in a stop-start driving. RPM like normal at 1500 and speed 60~70km/h along Jln BMerah. 100% load

See the DPF burning at around 600C and hor Catalytic only 300++C

For our U2 engine, EU forumer generally report regeneration at 300~400km and 15~20mins duration.

Guess SG too congested ......heee

thumbnail_Screenshot_2020-09-07-19-58-48-470_com.ovz.carscanner.jpg

thumbnail_Screenshot_2020-09-07-19-38-48-887_com.ovz.carscanner.jpg

thumbnail_Screenshot_2020-09-07-19-55-57-469_com.ovz.carscanner.jpg

thumbnail_Screenshot_2020-09-07-19-54-28-845_com.ovz.carscanner.jpg

On 11/12/2020 at 3:02 PM, Destinyg said:

Can I join the group chat? Carens Newbie here

Er ....... if you are talking about this thread, you are welcome.

But if you are talking about Wechat or Whatsapp chat group ....... It is not very trendy these days lor.

Becos it is always trying to hawker something to you or there is nothing major to report lor.

Welcome to Kia Carens,  Vanngoh !    U get to like this car more and more as day goes by for its power and good fuel consumption.    Enjoy yr ride.

DIY DCT7 Gearbox oil Change at 89kkm.

Just DIY Change the Freaking Gearbox Oil and probably easiest and practical in Singapore Context.

You will need to go UNDER the car - Actually only your head cross the bumper laa.  But NEVER use a Car Jack hor, if the jack failed, you will die hor.

Then buying a safety lifter cost 35 but hor where to store and it is a cost.

I just need to lift up the car safety by a bit ...... So I use a brick lor, it is hard and it is very quite safe laa.

What you need :

a) 2L of SAE70 GL4 Oil - Ya ...... Kia SAID keeping you in suspend.  Now you can buy it from Qoo10 or Lazarda or whatever, I bought for $25/bottle .... minus virtual coins - $46. Kia said 1.9L to fill.  Alternatively - REDLINE MTLV Gear Box GL4 - Which is not available in SG now.  DO NOT USE GL5, MAY DAMAGE YOUR GB BALLBEAR.  SAE70 is very thin oil, I think it feel like a 0W/20 or even 10 oil.

b) 2 Alum Washer Kia 21513-11000 from Fitipart $0.28 each ..... ya 50 cts they also sell one ..... BUT Self Collect hor or pay $10 for delivery ba

c) A long span 8mm Allen key - To remove the filler bolt - Long span hor, I use the 150mm long allen key.

d) A 24mm Socket $3- To remove Drain Plug - Get the Six Sided one hor - To Prevent slippage and damage to the plug.

e) A drain pan - I have a 7L Drain Pan ...... U can use that pan you used to wash your underwear..... I say GOOD Luck - $15??

f) A Filler Bottle - that bottle you put soya sauce ..... I bought a $8.30 Gearbox Oil Fill kit, but not very good. It is so not good I did even put the photo here.

The original service manual from Kia ONLY said to fill via the 17mm Filler Plug which behind the gearbox (circle in Green).  But actually, not much is mentioned about the 8mm Allen Key Fill plug at the front. For Carens, it is not possible or very difficult as GB Support is in the way.

The removal of the undercarriage cover, I think you all can figure out.  As seen in the photo, I unscrew the cover until it become OK for me to access then stop liao, the cover is still dangling in the photo...... don't over do.

You will need  2  bricks to tilt up your front wheels or as long as your head can go under the car can liao.

VERY IMPORTANT.  Loosen the Filler Plug FIRST hor.  If you are UNABLE to LOOSEN it - ABORT.  Pack Up go home drink beer ??

Then you proceed to UNSCREW the Drain Plug.  To prevent splashing because the oil will not flow out smooth due to vacuum, quickly unscrew the filler to let air in.

IMPORTANT when filling - FILL SLOWLY hor, if not oil will spill out.

After everything is done, I measured the spent oil by pouring back to the oil bottle.  It measured about 1.7L. 200ml less after 89kkm should measure OK ba. This ...... no mechanic will DO FOR U in SG hor.  I think my gearbox is OK.

Then Test Drive laa ...... PIE .... Not sure the hype, seems like smoother and it reach D7 at about 70km/h, usually 80km/h.  Or izzit the downslope.

When I parked the car that same night, I put a card board under my car to check for leak...... So far OK.  KiaSu abit, I will do 1 more day.....Amateur. 

With this, you can inspect the oil is enough every .....10~20kkm ?? Park the car on a flat surface, slowly loosen the filler plug, as you turn, if oil start to leak out, mean you probably have enough oil lor ...... Do not unscrew the filler plug, hearsay, it will flow.

I did it on the Top floor of a MCP.  No moving traffic.  

Appletree support local business by buying with local disti for material and parts, whenever possible.  

1628607078483.thumb.jpg.bd109d7046e24f9c9571aa283913a7a4.jpg

1628608691606.jpg

thumbnail_1628608783586.jpg

1628607078455.jpg

thumbnail_1628607078419.jpg

Kia_DCT7A.jpg

2032G3_Filler_Bottle_York_Cap.jpg

About after a week after I changed my Gear Oil, my car started to jerk:

a) Move off will jerk

b) Gear Change from 3~4 will jerk

c) Low speed driving will jerk

d) High speed at Gear 7, will jerk

e) Accelerate will hesitate 

Scare until siao sia ........Did I screw up my GB.

Scan OBD for several days and NO DTC lor.  So DCT Clutch screw already ?

Then notice that there is a Pending DTC.  Oh P0069 - Manifold MAP and P0237 - TC PS.

After change MAP problem solved.  The graph show the air pressure fell to 57~62kPa for an extensive time is rare lor.  Usually momentarily one. Low pressure, so ECU reduce fuel, less fuel less power and hence the car jerk lor .....

Hearsay the DCT clutch is supposed to last AT LEAST 200kkm lor. Let see how, now 90kkm. Still very OK !!

thumbnail_1629811708460.jpg

thumbnail_1629814708425.jpg

@Alvintcs Welcome, my 2017 carens has given me much "fun" with its high torque ; it is reaching into its 6 yrs soon with 100K and so far not much hi-cup(finger crossed).    Hope you enjoy your ride !