K20a engine performance parts

coldbeer21

hi guys i'm looking for items to beef up my engine. currently running dc5 stock engine. was thinking of getting cams and maybe intake. anybody has suggestions? i've alr done my exo and decat so i'm just gonna leave it as that. thanks in advance guys! if anybody is selling used parts for dc5 or k20a please let me know!

Most DC5/R's COE will end in 1-2 years? I think it depends on what goals you set for your enhancements, how deep your pockets are and how fast you want to get there. A "R" engine is really quite special.

Don't focus only on the performance/speed and neglect the braking capabilities (brakes + good tyres).

haha i dont think i'm gonna do an engine swap. takes way too much time. i'd rather just change to a dc5r instead

Most DC5/R's COE will end in 1-2 years? I think it depends on what goals you set for your enhancements, how deep your pockets are and how fast you want to get there. A "R" engine is really quite special.

Don't focus only on the performance/speed and neglect the braking capabilities (brakes + good tyres).

k20a3 if i'm not wrong. mine's the GSR not type r

Which engine exactly is your K20A?

There are different types, if it is K20A3 or K20A6 engine then can forget about it.

GSR only has 5 speed. and mine's auto tranny so... yeap!

upgrade your final drive and 4/5/6 gearings for faster acceleration.

okay sorry for not stating it initially, i'm driving the GSR not type r so the engine's k20a3 if i'm not wrong. will switching to an open pod/drop in high flow filter PLUS a decat make a significant difference? i'm just thinking of small and budgeted improvements to get my car ready for 0808 this year. budget's prolly 400-500 since my car's coe ends dec this year

lup turbo is the most cost effective/bhp mod, worth considering especially since you are in your last year of ownership.

Honestly, your budget probably can't even cover labour for some mods. You won't gain much with the NA setup, unless you are talking about extensive internal upgrades. Don't waste a couple of hundred $ on 5-10bhp gains.

Why not approach the honda specialist workshops see what used parts they have? The K20 has been around for 10 years I'm sure there are lots of used parts lying around.

haha i dont think i'm gonna do an engine swap. takes way too much time. i'd rather just change to a dc5r instead

k20a3 if i'm not wrong. mine's the GSR not type r

GSR only has 5 speed. and mine's auto tranny so... yeap!

okay sorry for not stating it initially, i'm driving the GSR not type r so the engine's k20a3 if i'm not wrong. will switching to an open pod/drop in high flow filter PLUS a decat make a significant difference? i'm just thinking of small and budgeted improvements to get my car ready for 0808 this year. budget's prolly 400-500 since my car's coe ends dec this year

If you are on an auto with no other big mods, the open pod is a bad idea IMHO. You lose drivability in low end. I learnt from mistake.

so switching for an open pod is bad on auto trannies? how about a high flow flter? meaning i keep my stock airbox and just change out the stock air filter w maybe a K&N filter. will that be better? or do you have any other suggestions/advice?

If you are on an auto with no other big mods, the open pod is a bad idea IMHO. You lose drivability in low end. I learnt from mistake.

so switching for an open pod is bad on auto trannies? how about a high flow flter? meaning i keep my stock airbox and just change out the stock air filter w maybe a K&N filter. will that be better? or do you have any other suggestions/advice?

Not that it is bad just for auto tranny's but that regardless of auto or manual, you will lose the low end. But with an auto where you already lose power at the torque convertor, the loss is felt more keenly. Manual you can keep it at high revs 'manually' but that is a harsh driving style.

Not sure for high flow, if you would even feel a difference. Really depend on car and set-up, I not familiar with your car model mods.

I used to drive the same car.

Best mod I have done is to change to dc5r exhaust, inclusive of the header.

Since the car is left with about 6 months, no point to do much (not much to do anyways for auto tranny). With open pod you get loud induction 'noise' at higher revs so that is a shiok factor. But like Ake109 mentioned, you lose some low end power but I think quite negligible la. With around $500 budget, you probably can look into the header as suggested to complete the I/H/E mod. Other than that, start to save your money for the DC5R (and insurance)...that will make the real difference.

I speak from experiences from driving an auto accord using K20A6 engine, similar to your K20A3. No point doing major upgrades as the engine do not have full VTEC capabilities, only the intake valves only. And the max rev allowed is only 6800rpm, unlike the VTEC engines.

Nevertheless, it is a good engine that can withstand rough handling.

Add in a K&N filter does help a bit on the high end with little sacrifice on the lower end.

The main feature of this engine is that it runs very economically at low revs, so the only way to enjoy the car is to do either the following:

1. Try to rev above 3.5krpm as soon as you can and keep it there (if you have torque converter to restrict up-shifting). This will open the "VTEC" valve and provide the power.

2. Like they say, change ECU programming to open the "VTEC" valve at a lower rev. I dun know whether anyone do this anymore.

Hope this helps you.

i didnt change the header for my exo but changed everything after the cat. the muffler is pro racer but mid pipe is not lta approved one. i also removed my cat. i feel like the exo runs pretty smooth alr with the above mods i mentioned. only thing left is my intake i guess.

I used to drive the same car.

Best mod I have done is to change to dc5r exhaust, inclusive of the header.

hahaha i not into the sound! i just want speed LOL. anyway, i prolly wont get a dc5r. gonna switch to cla45. NA cars too hard to mod alr. i'd rather just buy a proper car and no need mod at all. hahaha but now i say say only. drive 1 year later sure start to mod the cla also LOL

Since the car is left with about 6 months, no point to do much (not much to do anyways for auto tranny). With open pod you get loud induction 'noise' at higher revs so that is a shiok factor. But like Ake109 mentioned, you lose some low end power but I think quite negligible la. With around $500 budget, you probably can look into the header as suggested to complete the I/H/E mod. Other than that, start to save your money for the DC5R (and insurance)...that will make the real difference.

k20a3 vtec kicks in at 2.2k rpm. then at 5.5k rpm the full vtec opens. so actually i drive most of the time the 2.2k vtec is open. do you think getting better cams will help? i know its beyond my budget but i got a friend who's scrapping his car and has those cams. he say if i want he can give me. but if i take the cams i need to retune and stuff. willit be worth it still? considering left w 6 months only

I speak from experiences from driving an auto accord using K20A6 engine, similar to your K20A3. No point doing major upgrades as the engine do not have full VTEC capabilities, only the intake valves only. And the max rev allowed is only 6800rpm, unlike the VTEC engines.

Nevertheless, it is a good engine that can withstand rough handling.

Add in a K&N filter does help a bit on the high end with little sacrifice on the lower end.

The main feature of this engine is that it runs very economically at low revs, so the only way to enjoy the car is to do either the following:

1. Try to rev above 3.5krpm as soon as you can and keep it there (if you have torque converter to restrict up-shifting). This will open the "VTEC" valve and provide the power.

2. Like they say, change ECU programming to open the "VTEC" valve at a lower rev. I dun know whether anyone do this anymore.

Hope this helps you.

K20A3 doesn't have the Vtec at 5.5k rpm.

For the 160hp thats its generating, i would say its sufficient to push the GSR faster than most cars on the road.

My advice to you on open pod is skip it. For Auto, stick to stock airbox or Mugen airbox if you can get 1

oh hahaha but feels like have leh. cos everytime i whack until 5.5k got kick again hahaha maybe is placebo effect idk LOL i was thinking of going with the hondata airbox mod. anyone knows if its good?

For the 160hp thats its generating, i would say its sufficient to push the GSR faster than most cars on the road.

My advice to you on open pod is skip it. For Auto, stick to stock airbox or Mugen airbox if you can get 1

+1

Get a mugen air box with mugen bumper.

Good for auto.