Lala81 Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 if 100% city drive your fc is normal lah for my car used by my wife to send and fetch kids and groceries etc, can hit 6km/l very happy liao ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cboonh 2nd Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 C'on, dont shun away from my question on what is yr FC on 100% city drive lahWhy do you need my FC to determine that your FC is not ideal? Although it's the same car, driving pattern differs from person to person. Not mentioning different traffic conditions, travel patterns, driver weight, number of passengers, and the list goes on.. You know your drive pattern, you know what kind of FC you can expect. If you didn't know before, now you do. Blaming it on the AWD seems like a low blow. Dun blame it on the swimming trunks, take a look at your driving pattern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Why do you need my FC to determine that your FC is not ideal? Although it's the same car, driving pattern differs from person to person. Not mentioning different traffic conditions, travel patterns, driver weight, number of passengers, and the list goes on.. You know your drive pattern, you know what kind of FC you can expect. If you didn't know before, now you do. Blaming it on the AWD seems like a low blow. Dun blame it on the swimming trunks, take a look at your driving pattern. I think the car is different. Your car is XT. His car is FNA. NA should have better FC on theory..opss... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml2spin 2nd Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 (edited) Why do you need my FC to determine that your FC is not ideal? Although it's the same car, driving pattern differs from person to person. Not mentioning different traffic conditions, travel patterns, driver weight, number of passengers, and the list goes on.. You know your drive pattern, you know what kind of FC you can expect. If you didn't know before, now you do. Blaming it on the AWD seems like a low blow. Dun blame it on the swimming trunks, take a look at your driving pattern. Quote as I can't praise you repeatedly. Edited September 8, 2016 by Ml2spin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sopskysalat 4th Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 I think the car is different. Your car is XT. His car is FNA. NA should have better FC on theory..opss... Err.. there was another thread discussing Turbo can save on fuel. So shouldn't FXT give better FC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Quote as I can't praise you repeatedly. hahaha. you guys sibei bully him leh. iirc when he first bought he also kena kan left right centre for changing from FXT and FNA now he bought liao, complain about FC also kena F left right centre. see open lah guys. some will love the car, there will always be some that hate it. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Likely to take you a while to get used to the CVT, I think... just like when I first encountered the Alfa 159 gearbox when it first launched few years ago. i used to drive a CS3 Lancer with CVT for 3.5 years. many people kpkb about the gearbox, but somehow i'm ok. there's a way to drive using the CVT. can't drive a CVT the way it's driven with a conventional autobox. same with the selespeed. many people hated it, but i absolutely loved it. again, there's a way to drive it "properly" btw i went to test drive the XT earlier in the afternoon. the cvt is silky smooth, i like it. Actually the CVT no need to get use to.. Quite responsive. Else got S mode for quicker response. It's the the CG that most sedan Drivers may need some adjustments when doing the test drive.. Suggest to go test drive other small SUV around price range of 130-180k after test drive FXT yah! my current car is lowered so i'm quite close to the ground. driving the XT just now, fwah, the driving position is commanding and the whole view is expansive. steering is also very light compared to mine, so i didn't try to corner at all. but it's ok since an SUV is not meant to be cornered hard. For FC, has to see the total fuel pumped and the total distance travelled for the previous tank... The 5.8L/100km or 15/100 shown on the trip computer has little meaning as it's just a calculation factoring in the various pre input assumed city, highway consumption, engine load etc.. And also depends on when was the reading of the total consumption taken. Example if just pumped full tank and the trip meter is reset, and happens to be caught in a jam on causeway check point, it can goes up to 40L/100km Bec the distance travelled in the new tank is just 5km. I only know in the real world, I have gotten FC as bad as 1L/4.8km for distance of 250km travelled due to driving at higher speed on NSHW, 1L/15km for a distance of 180km due to driving Long distance on NSHW driving at 90-100kmh. And in Singapore 90% city driving the worst FC at 1L/7.3km.. Other time with a mixture of city highway start stop traffic is around 1L=8.3km with an slightly upsized tyre and heavier dead load of 40+-50kg of soundproof material with subwoofer plus the spare tyres still in car its good enough for me, considering the size and power. i was getting 7.5km/l on my 159, 6.3km/l on my GT and currently 8.2km/l on average on my current car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 yah! my current car is lowered so i'm quite close to the ground. driving the XT just now, fwah, the driving position is commanding and the whole view is expansive. I tend to get motion sick easily in SUVs/MPVs and vans. Even sometimes bad roads (super lot of road works/MRT construction) in my own sedan also can be motion sick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Err.. there was another thread discussing Turbo can save on fuel. So shouldn't FXT give better FC? Because most XT owner will drive the car quite hard, unlike those light pressure turbo car that is for fuel saving purpose... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Because most XT owner will drive the car quite hard, unlike those light pressure turbo car that is for fuel saving purpose... I drive NA also heavy footed. Haha can't save much petrol one ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cboonh 2nd Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 hahaha. you guys sibei bully him leh. iirc when he first bought he also kena kan left right centre for changing from FXT and FNA now he bought liao, complain about FC also kena F left right centre. see open lah guys. some will love the car, there will always be some that hate it. hahaha See very open liao loh... Else wun be so diplomatic le. Why you call this bullying wor? I'm trying to present a more balanced view. Otherwise the car botaiboji kanna whack. Very one sided ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackhawk81 Clutched September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Wow, great candid discussion of Forester XT FC. I am just wondering if anyone knew the actual real life FC of Nissan Xtrail ? Would it be the similar to Forester XT? Haiya.. if wanna ride in a performance car don't bother about FC la.. those who bothered with it get a BNB la.. or get a B M W. I drive an 2016 Outback .. 60% HW.. (but nowadays HW damn jam too).. Accumulated (4mths) AFC so far 8.7l/100km on system. Outback is also in my consideration as it is bigger and has nicer colour. By the way, is the insurance fee the same as Forester or higher? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coldastone17 1st Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Wow, great candid discussion of Forester XT FC. I am just wondering if anyone knew the actual real life FC of Nissan Xtrail ? Would it be the similar to Forester XT? Outback is also in my consideration as it is bigger and has nicer colour. By the way, is the insurance fee the same as Forester or higher? Me oso considered Xtrail..but u must note that xtrail may have a heavier body weight..jus my 5c view... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Wow, great candid discussion of Forester XT FC. I am just wondering if anyone knew the actual real life FC of Nissan Xtrail ? Would it be the similar to Forester XT? Outback is also in my consideration as it is bigger and has nicer colour. By the way, is the insurance fee the same as Forester or higher? Actually suv FC all not so good. Xtrail guys tell me also abt 10-11 range Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Me oso considered Xtrail..but u must note that xtrail may have a heavier body weight..jus my 5c view... Go test drive both car and see what you like. Nissan and Subaru showroom are always side by side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coldastone17 1st Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Go test drive both car and see what you like. Nissan and Subaru showroom are always side by side. So in ur opinion..likes and dislikes for Xtrail and Forrester? views.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 So in ur opinion..likes and dislikes for Xtrail and Forrester? views.. As a FXT owner, my opinion will be very bias. If you like power, there is no way to turn back after you drive the XT. Any others SUV with similar performance all cost $100k more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear September 8, 2016 Share September 8, 2016 Remember I used to see their logo Tan Cheong and Son when I stayed opposite their showroom on BT. So Nissan or Subaru... Profit goes to them and same COE bidding team. FC for FXT is average 8.5 - 10km/ litre with sprited driving... So if one care abt FC maybe better to try QQ 1.2T. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...