2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

BM Harrier turbo spec looks good for torque and power. Care to share how it is under powered and sluggish?

I drive a car with the same engine. Yes on paper the spec look good. And yes it is really fast and responsive.

The underpowered feeling and sluggishness comes only from WOT from standstill. When lights turn green, you WOT, there's a one second lag before the car surges. Some say it's a switch from Atkinson to Otto causing the lag. Some say it's a deliberate throttling response limitation by Toyota to prevent slip.

4th Gear

Hi Milynot,

Have you test driven both FXT n harrier turbo?

You can also checked out harrier thread and read the comments there by the bros who test driven both cars.

In my opinion, if you have set your mind for Harrier turbo, don't test drive the FXT.

I was just comparing the paper specs for both the fxt and harrier turbo on SG Carmart and, IN MY HUMBLE OPINION, there are a few factors that , to me, give the Fxt an edge over the harrier.

1. Price difference of about 30k

2. All wheel drive on fxt vs front wheel drive on harrier

3. boxer engine

4. 10% more cargo space

5. Smaller turning radius

I was just comparing the paper specs for both the fxt and harrier turbo on SG Carmart and, IN MY HUMBLE OPINION, there are a few factors that , to me, give the Fxt an edge over the harrier.

1. Price difference of about 30k

2. All wheel drive on fxt vs front wheel drive on harrier

3. boxer engine

4. 10% more cargo space

5. Smaller turning radius

That is why a couple of us who were waiting for BM harrier, decided to sign for a FXT instead.

I wonder will harrier turbo be affected as badly as FXT when VES scheme kicks in next year.

Any bros drive in S or S# mode by default or do you typically toggle the modes when doing city or highway driving? Concerned if I could cause unnecessary strain on the engine/ gearbox if I stick to S or S# mode.

I drive a car with the same engine. Yes on paper the spec look good. And yes it is really fast and responsive.

The underpowered feeling and sluggishness comes only from WOT from standstill. When lights turn green, you WOT, there's a one second lag before the car surges. Some say it's a switch from Atkinson to Otto causing the lag. Some say it's a deliberate throttling response limitation by Toyota to prevent slip.

Actually the FXT the 1st 1-2 sec also felt slow due to the CVT.

Any bros drive in S or S# mode by default or do you typically toggle the modes when doing city or highway driving? Concerned if I could cause unnecessary strain on the engine/ gearbox if I stick to S or S# mode.

Mostly on S mode.

There should be more strain when always using I mode as rpm is always too low. Which is easy to cause carbon to build up for long term.

I am getting better FC at S mode.

Actually the FXT the 1st 1-2 sec also felt slow due to the CVT.

When I test drove the FXT, I don't remember encountering the same lag leh.

It's the lousy trade in price that put me off. Else I might have been driving the FXT now liao.

In fact, I "poisoned" one of my friends into buying and he's now happily driving it since CNY

Mostly on S mode.

There should be more strain when always using I mode as rpm is always too low. Which is easy to cause carbon to build up for long term.

Oh wow... do you switch to S mode immediately or wait till the engine temp goes to 90

Depends on coe leh...and when the 15k additional cevs kicks in? If more new Cat B models (like the harrier turbo) push the coe up...then the price will likewise. Anyway i hardly doubt coe can hold at this level given the economy? If you are trading in then the difference will be adjusted a bit..you see the various SE reactions lah. If he ai mai ai mai like that..it means the sales are very good and he is not hard up for sales...then maybe sales are really damn good and coe will likely hold...but again this will be for like the next 2 months only. The last round of coe biddings...prices down by a few K within bids...its really hard to say...but i do notice people getting their coe bids rather fast nwadays instead of like having to wait many bids. Such is not a good sign though.

I installed purely for the safety of my kids but no issue yet leh. I hope it doesnt not happen often as it does drain the battery.

I only did the sound coating for undercarriage, which i hope it doesnt have some antirust properties also hence i skipped the antirust. Technically i thought all new cars have already some form or undercarriage coating? Anyway i heard of someone who still do the door spundproofing but at third party vendor. How much did subaru cmquote u for the steel BH? I am keen on that. In fact I may want to change the whole brake kit but that may mean changing rims as well if the brake caliper cannot fit into our stock rims..

How much did u do the 4 dr for at MI?

Seriously..at that price...pple may go for harrier turbo liao...what will MI do? Lower omv further by taking away some more features to reduce the price? And if the new 2019 model has better fuel efficiency, may reduce the cevs surcharge? But got to wait how long for the 2019 model?

Yup. You keen ah? The promo is on next coming weekend.

MI quoted me 380 for the steel braided hoses. Incl of Motul brake fluid. Worth upgrading if you ask me.

Oh wow... do you switch to S mode immediately or wait till the engine temp goes to 90

After drive out from mscp to main road.

When I test drove the FXT, I don't remember encountering the same lag leh.

It's the lousy trade in price that put me off. Else I might have been driving the FXT now liao.

In fact, I "poisoned" one of my friends into buying and he's now happily driving it since CNY ð

What car ar u driving bro?

Mostly on S mode.

Yup.. me too.. use to be on i mode.. after a few mths.. heck care already.. as long a sengine warm up switch to s mode.. more shiok

Depends on coe leh...and when the 15k additional cevs kicks in? If more new Cat B models (like the harrier turbo) push the coe up...then the price will likewise. Anyway i hardly doubt coe can hold at this level given the economy? If you are trading in then the difference will be adjusted a bit..you see the various SE reactions lah. If he ai mai ai mai like that..it means the sales are very good and he is not hard up for sales...then maybe sales are really damn good and coe will likely hold...but again this will be for like the next 2 months only. The last round of coe biddings...prices down by a few K within bids...its really hard to say...but i do notice people getting their coe bids rather fast nwadays instead of like having to wait many bids. Such is not a good sign though.

I installed purely for the safety of my kids but no issue yet leh. I hope it doesnt not happen often as it does drain the battery.

I only did the sound coating for undercarriage, which i hope it doesnt have some antirust properties also hence i skipped the antirust. Technically i thought all new cars have already some form or undercarriage coating? Anyway i heard of someone who still do the door spundproofing but at third party vendor. How much did subaru cmquote u for the steel BH? I am keen on that. In fact I may want to change the whole brake kit but that may mean changing rims as well if the brake caliper cannot fit into our stock rims..

How much did u do the 4 dr for at MI?

Seriously..at that price...pple may go for harrier turbo liao...what will MI do? Lower omv further by taking away some more features to reduce the price? And if the new 2019 model has better fuel efficiency, may reduce the cevs surcharge? But got to wait how long for the 2019 model?

Yup. You keen ah? The promo is on next coming weekend.

You are forgeting that due to VES, price for the harrier turbo might increased too. My feeling is price for most tc cars is going to be affected by the new scheme. Its too early to speculate now. Even though on paper, the 2 cars are very similar, these are actually 2 very different cars. Not all will make a decision based on paper specs and price.

Hey...you are damn right. I totally forgot about that.

MI quoted me 380 for the steel braided hoses. Incl of Motul brake fluid. Worth upgrading if you ask me.

Sounds ok. Outside steel BH also about close to $300. And at least still maintain brake warranty. Thanks bro. Wonder if its still sufficient to change BH only.

Very true.

Toyota always have a big group of loyal supporter.

And to them, FXT mostly likely will be a Ah Beng car

Just went for my 1K servicing at MI. SA recommended the undercarriage rust protection. Said that in the past, Foresters used to come with protection but not now. Not sure if it is worth doing but decided to do it nonetheless (yes I'm easily fleeced). Decided to change to steel braided brake hoses as well. Any bros did that? I feel the current brakes set up rather mushy with lousy pedal feel. My old ride (VW Jetta Sport) had much better and responsive brakes. It's useless to have 350nm if I'm unable to brake with confidence. Any bros did the sound deadening for the doors? Review?

Hi Chris,

How much did it cost you to change to steel braided brake hose? Any improvements?