Advice needed for New Zealand road trip

Bluepica

On 2/17/2024 at 12:31 PM, teomingern said:

If you want a slow easy tour, easily can spend a month...

Fly into Christchurch/Blenheim/Picton (4-5 days)

Drive across TranzAlpine (2-3 days, stay 1-2 nights at Arthur's Pass)

Drive to Greymouth/Hokitika/Punakaiki (2 days)

Drive to Franz Josef/Fox Glacier (4 days)

Drive to Haast/Wanaka (3 days)

Drive to Queenstown/Cromwell (3 days)

Drive to Te Anau/Milford Sound/Doubtful Sound (4 days)

Drive to Invercagill/Bluff/Dunedin (2-3 days)

Drive to Lake Tekapo/ Mount Cook (4 days)

Drive to Christchurch (stay 1-2 nights fly home)

Taking the maximum days listed above = 33 days already lor...

Many of the items above can spend the entire day just visiting... lots of nice walks... the glacier climbs can take full day plus helicopter rides if you want to pay through the nose for them)...

I'll probably spend 2 days or more in Queenstown... touristy but really very beautiful with lots of super interesting art galleries and cafes just to sit around and stare... 

NZ has lots of activities for little kids too... not all are expensive but more suitable for primary school and older... hence I'm holding off this trip until my son is old enough to climb the glaciers without too much fuss...

I spent 25 days in NZ with my parents in 2004, driving North & South Island... that was pretty fun and cool but I felt a bit rushed cos I didn't get to see many places...

North Island also has many superb places... hope to do both in a few year's time and spend hopefully over 30 days to really see and feel the NZ atmosphere... must incept my wife to be willing to cook on holiday to keep the cost reasonable... ha ha...

This schedule does not even take into account sunny Richmond/Nelson/Abel Tasman National Park, Havelock (the best mussels in NZ) and Blenheim (many good wineries). Add another week to cover this north of SI area. If want to trek the Queen Charlotte and Abel Tasman tracks, add another 3 more days.

Since this is a motoring forum, and we love cars and driving, this is one experience to try. It is at Cromwell (fruit basket of SI), near to Queenstown. This experience is little known by foreigners. You can either take the super-car taxi round the track for raw speed, or self-drive a V8 Mustang/Camaro with an instructor beside you. I only learned about it because I met one of the partners while trekking in NZ. He was a former saloon car race car driver, and now a garage owner who specialises in building Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT86 for the track.

https://www.highlands.co.nz/experiences

On 2/17/2024 at 2:08 PM, serenade said:

This schedule does not even take into account sunny Richmond/Nelson/Abel Tasman National Park, Havelock (the best mussels in NZ) and Blenheim (many good wineries). Add another week to cover this north of SI area. If want to trek the Queen Charlotte and Abel Tasman tracks, add another 3 more days.

Exactly... 1 month in South Island... too short for me... heh heh heh...

On 2/17/2024 at 8:48 PM, teomingern said:

Exactly... 1 month in South Island... too short for me... heh heh heh...

You are the lucky one that work allow you to take such a long break away. 

Likely you are boss of your own. Or semi retired mode 😇

Edited by Tohto

On 2/18/2024 at 9:39 PM, Tohto said:

You are the lucky one that work allow you to take such a long break away. 

Likely you are boss of your own. Or semi retired mode 😇

I wish lor... neither... just a humble salaried worker with time on hand but no money to travel more... heh heh...

On 2/19/2024 at 9:01 AM, teomingern said:

I wish lor... neither... just a humble salaried worker with time on hand but no money to travel more... heh heh...

You are lucky. 

Even if I only travel for only 1 week.  At night back to hotel still need to check and clear email.  For longer break,  I don't want to have hundreds of email waiting for me. 

On 2/19/2024 at 12:34 PM, Tohto said:

You are lucky. 

Even if I only travel for only 1 week.  At night back to hotel still need to check and clear email.  For longer break,  I don't want to have hundreds of email waiting for me. 

so lucky, still can reply at hotel

i reply emails and Teams message on the go liao

LOL

• Sad 1

On 2/19/2024 at 12:54 PM, Wt_know said:

so lucky, still can reply at hotel

i reply emails and Teams message on the go liao

LOL

On the phone sure have.

At hotel is to clear up all. 

On 2/19/2024 at 9:01 AM, teomingern said:

You are lucky. 

On 2/19/2024 at 1:15 PM, Tohto said:

On the phone sure have.

At hotel is to clear up all. 

You are lucky. 

Reply on the phone also normal for me lah.

At night in hotel is to clear up every day one. 

On 2/19/2024 at 12:34 PM, Tohto said:

You are lucky. 

Wah I feel you bro... your wife never complain meh? I just feel thankful reading what you said above... 😅

On 2/19/2024 at 1:17 PM, Tohto said:

Reply on the phone also normal for me lah.

At night in hotel is to clear up every day one. 

On leave still must clear meh? Don't have anyone to cover?

On 2/19/2024 at 1:22 PM, teomingern said:

On leave still must clear meh? Don't have anyone to cover?

people Senior Director level... need to reply.... else no use to organization then tio pok....

On 2/19/2024 at 1:53 PM, Mkl22 said:

people Senior Director level... need to reply.... else no use to organization then tio pok....

I am just a miserable low position  employee,  if senior director can assign all the work out already.

Looking at my traveling plan, will try to extend the trip to NZ to 12 to 13 days.

Difficult part is my girl graduation day in Brisbane not confirm yet, only estimate base on past year date. I will arrive Brisbane just before the Graduation start and plan travel out to NZ maybe 2 to 3 days later.

On 2/21/2024 at 10:35 PM, Tohto said:

Looking at my traveling plan, will try to extend the trip to NZ to 12 to 13 days.

Difficult part is my girl graduation day in Brisbane not confirm yet, only estimate base on past year date. I will arrive Brisbane just before the Graduation start and plan travel out to NZ maybe 2 to 3 days later.

I mean based on previous years, what's the date range possible? Problem with ang mos is that they quite easy going... so heh heh... don't have firm dates so far in advanced...

2nd Gear

one of my travel lists, have not been there before so most probably will cover the south island only