How come this regular soldier so old then get 3SGT?

Vega

WKLsuy2.png

35-year-old gets coveted Golden Bayonet award
Cadet outshines much younger trainees to clinch award.

Timothy Goh
Updated today at 09:27 AM
HE IS more than a dozen years older than most of his peers. And Specialist Cadet (SCT) Yong Heng Soon was also ahead of them in clinching the Golden Bayonet award at the 23rd Specialist Cadet Graduation Parade yesterday at Pasir Laba Camp.

The 35-year-old was one of 1,003 Specialist Cadets from the Singapore Army, the Republic of Singapore Navy and the Republic of Singapore Air Force who graduated after completing a 22-week course.

Only 21 cadets received the coveted Golden Bayonet, awarded to the top 10 per cent of all Specialist Cadet trainees.

Said the father of two children aged two and four: "I didn't really expect it - I came here with the objective to get the Third Sergeant (3SG) rank, not to fight for the Bayonet."

Having joined the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) as an enlistee in 1999, SCT Yong worked his way up the ranks until late last year, when he was chosen to go for training at the Specialist Cadet School. In contrast, most cadets are full-time national servicemen picked after basic military training and are aged between 18 and 22.

The 22 weeks of training to attain the rank of 3SG were challenging but his time in the SAF had taught him perseverance. "As a commander, I have more freedom, but also more responsibility," he said.

The experience has also broadened his perspective. "Last time I was (an enlistee), now I will be a Sergeant... Now I know how the Sergeants felt when they led us, what lines we cannot cross," he said.

However, one of his toughest moments had nothing to do with the training. His wife and children fell sick when he was training in Thailand. "I wanted to give up, to go back and take care of them. But we encouraged and motivated each other, and got through it," he said.

SCT Yong said his age and experience made him a natural guide for the younger trainees. He hopes to continue his SAF career, eventually becoming a Warrant Officer if possible.

The parade was reviewed by Senior Minister of State for Law and Education Indranee Rajah. Addressing the cadets, she said: "You are now entrusted with the heavy responsibility of leading men and women into battle... lead them by example and with conviction."

[email protected]

My son unit has men that are above 30 but are just corporal and below.....he told me some are 1st or 3rd corporal.....signed on as men. Got guts got experience.....

Boh tak chieh aka no academic qualifications.

some doesnt want the responsibilities of a leader....chiong sua can liao until the reach certain age where newer enlistees gets promoted and transferred to a better unit or become instructors....then they regret their previous decision.

wow, 16 years !!! Damn Loooooong journey sia. Given his low rank & pay, surprised he stayed for so long.

Last time never join SAFEC ?

All along I thought once sign on sure automatic become commander.

How come after so long no promote rank?

Ya. I also thought so as long as you sign on you will become minimum 3SGT rank. Not sure how come there are still got lower rank regulars as I thought those are NSFs only.

must be that time he PSLE also dun have. Then he slowly take, followed by O Levels

Got....there are units that have such men....regulars but below 3SGT. Sometime this unit are sent for overseas deployment under some international banner. Dont tell me SG sent all 3rd SGT as a section....😂😂😂😂.

Ya. I also thought so as long as you sign on you will become minimum 3SGT rank. Not sure how come there are still got lower rank regulars as I thought those are NSFs only.

Must be very sad right?

Imagine all his regular bmt peers are WO by now. ....

must be that time he PSLE also dun have. Then he slowly take, followed by O Levels

One year take one subject also graduated with a degree by now liao. ...ha.....

Got....there are units that have such men....regulars but below 3SGT. Sometime this unit are sent for overseas deployment under some international banner. Dont tell me SG sent all 3rd SGT as a section....😂😂😂😂.

Must be adf liao.

WKLsuy2.png

35-year-old gets coveted Golden Bayonet award

Cadet outshines much younger trainees to clinch award.

Timothy Goh

Updated today at 09:27 AM

HE IS more than a dozen years older than most of his peers. And Specialist Cadet (SCT) Yong Heng Soon was also ahead of them in clinching the Golden Bayonet award at the 23rd Specialist Cadet Graduation Parade yesterday at Pasir Laba Camp.

The 35-year-old was one of 1,003 Specialist Cadets from the Singapore Army, the Republic of Singapore Navy and the Republic of Singapore Air Force who graduated after completing a 22-week course.

Only 21 cadets received the coveted Golden Bayonet, awarded to the top 10 per cent of all Specialist Cadet trainees.

Said the father of two children aged two and four: "I didn't really expect it - I came here with the objective to get the Third Sergeant (3SG) rank, not to fight for the Bayonet."

Having joined the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) as an enlistee in 1999, SCT Yong worked his way up the ranks until late last year, when he was chosen to go for training at the Specialist Cadet School. In contrast, most cadets are full-time national servicemen picked after basic military training and are aged between 18 and 22.

The 22 weeks of training to attain the rank of 3SG were challenging but his time in the SAF had taught him perseverance. "As a commander, I have more freedom, but also more responsibility," he said.

The experience has also broadened his perspective. "Last time I was (an enlistee), now I will be a Sergeant... Now I know how the Sergeants felt when they led us, what lines we cannot cross," he said.

However, one of his toughest moments had nothing to do with the training. His wife and children fell sick when he was training in Thailand. "I wanted to give up, to go back and take care of them. But we encouraged and motivated each other, and got through it," he said.

SCT Yong said his age and experience made him a natural guide for the younger trainees. He hopes to continue his SAF career, eventually becoming a Warrant Officer if possible.

The parade was reviewed by Senior Minister of State for Law and Education Indranee Rajah. Addressing the cadets, she said: "You are now entrusted with the heavy responsibility of leading men and women into battle... lead them by example and with conviction."

[email protected]

Respect his dedication and perseverance :))

Though late, but its a rich reward for his relentless efforts :))

Kudos :))

Boh tak chieh aka no academic qualifications.

At least they do something worthwhile with their lives n do something for our country

I am so very proud of them

• Praise 11

Well done for him.. I remember gahment recently say they no need qualification also can climb the ladder if they have proven records and experiences. This guy seems to fit the bill.

Sad case :TT_TT:

Should come out become security guard...immediately get Brigadier General [flowerface]

Brigadier General commanding million sperms? <_<

These are the real career foot soldiers.

Met a couple of them during my NS days. Hokkien, steady type with lots of experience [thumbsup]

The Enciks and line Occifers usually take good care of these regulars.

Edited by Toothiewabbit