Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 (edited) Looking at the new A4 & A3 sedan, with a price diff of about $30k, which one would be a better buy, & why? Love to hear from the gurus here! I test drove the A3, like the handling and power for this small car. The interior and exterior all very nice. Few shortcomings like no electric chairs, no keyless entry and small rear head and legroom for my family. Most imp to me is the gearbox, the SE assured me the gearbox already no problem but I just Kia Si, till now haven commit. The A3 price is very attractive though! The new A4 I have not see it, have not test drive so cannot comment too much. Before the car show this year my SE told me the A4 price would be in the range of $170k. Hence I totally drop the idea until yesterday I read this thread know the base model is 15XK. About $25K more for the new A4... To me it solved my two objections on A3; bigger rear head & leg rooms and more reliable 7 speed Wet gearbox. Seems worth it. Haha... Edited March 8, 2016 by Yaloryalor ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berg1981 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 Thanks for sharing! I checked the audi website, the base model seems like dun have the metal trimming at the steering wheel. Your pics has it. Is it comes as standard? Secondly, for the interior the top area (above the dashboard and ceiling) is it full black? Think base model don't have the metal part at steering wheel. I believe the pic wasn't his car? I think he mentioned that his car is black exterior. The pic shows a red exterior A4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 Thanks for sharing! I checked the audi website, the base model seems like dun have the metal trimming at the steering wheel. Your pics has it. Is it comes as standard? Secondly, for the interior the top area (above the dashboard and ceiling) is it full black? 1. Base trim don't have. The pic I use is showroom unit with Design trim. If wanna retrofit, the steering wheel matt chrome trim is SGD $180. It's a replacement of that part, not a direct paste over. As mentioned, the Design trim is $10,000 more. Main differences are: Faux leather trim at centre console knee rest area, memory seat, chrome steering wheel trim, different design for rear diffuser & front lower bumper + side skirts, exterior door handles of chrome trim too - Let me know if I missed out anything. Everything else is the same.. so people can decide the additional $10K is worth it or not. (I only like the side skirt and chrome steering wheel bit so I am getting them retrofitted outside for $600+ and $180 respectively.) No, Virtual cockpit is not included in this Design trim. Side note: Both trim comes with 16" rims & tires but PA will let you change to 17" ones based on the design you choose. Weird arrangement due to the 17" set arriving at a different timing (later). 2. The roof lining is light grey. If all black with the dashboard, maybe cabin will become too dark. I think 18" will look very nice. If 19" maybe less comfort and tyre very expensive liao. hahaha I changed to 18" rims & tires (Continental CSC5) on first day after collection. Will show photos soon The look is greatly enhanced Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 I test drove the A3, like the handling and power for this small car. The interior and exterior all very nice. Few shortcomings like no electric chairs, no keyless entry and small rear head and legroom for my family. Most imp to me is the gearbox, the SE assured me the gearbox already no problem but I just Kia Si, till now haven commit. The A3 price is very attractive though! The new A4 I have not see it, have not test drive so cannot comment too much. Before the car show this year my SE told me the A4 price would be in the range of $170k. Hence I totally drop the idea until yesterday I read this thread know the base model is 15XK. About $25K more for the new A4... To me it solved my two objections on A3; bigger rear head & leg rooms and more reliable 7 speed Wet gearbox. Seems worth it. Haha... I test drove the A3 almost a year before, almost committed but didn't. In the end, got the A4. Usual concern.. problematic gearbox. Still using the same dry 7 speeder DSG which I wasn't willing to give chance to (one of my previous ride is Scirocco twincharged 1.4TSI). In terms of space, interior design, creature comforts, tech gizmos and performance, I'd say the new A4 is a lot ahead of the A3. To me, the additional $25-30K is very well worth it. I loved the A4 so much on first sight, I gave my credit card to the SE on first viewing! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 Looking at the new A4 & A3 sedan, with a price diff of about $30k, which one would be a better buy, & why? Love to hear from the gurus here! (Listing out what I can recall) A4 on new MLB-Evo platform; certain model depending on engine have some significant weight savings, up to 120KG A4 has a new engine, 1.4L turbocharged unit punching out 150BHP/250NM vs A3's 123BHP/200NM A4 has a newly designed wet-clutch 7speed (DSG) transmission named S-tronic; A3 uses notorious dry clutch 7 speeder A4 has new interior design language (check my signature links), only new Q7 shares this design style for now; A3 old design language. Both has centre dashboard screen roughly of same size; A3 is retractable, A4 isn't. A4 has Apple car play - Enables Messages / Phone calls / Google Maps / Spotify with voice activation on your MMI screen, A3 doesn't. A4 has new tachometer cluster with bigger centre color display (not referring to Virtual cockpit), A3 using old VW style, very small limited display. A4 has dynamic sweeping style rear signal lights. A3 doesn't. A4 has better legroom, foot well space and headroom as well as bigger boot with hands free automatic opening feature. A4 base trim has full electric seats for both front passenger + driver. A4 uses a new key fob.. Very hard to find a leather case/pouch that fits it, for now. Last one.. A4 is newer At the end of the day, both cars are pretty decent lah. See budget how comfortable lor. In my opinion, A4's advantages over the A3 is very significant, so most people will find it worthwhile to jump. But if we compare similarly a 2016 Audi A4 in Quattro 2.0TFSI (0-100km/h in 5.8seconds) standard trim comes with S-line kit & Virtual cockpit vs the current generation Audi A6.. is it still worthwhile to jump to the 6? Maybe not because THAT A4 has most of the bells & whistles, while still quite expensive at a possible $220K-230K speculated, is still cheaper than an A6 with the same 2.0TFSI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 (edited) 1. Base trim don't have. The pic I use is showroom unit with Design trim. If wanna retrofit, the steering wheel matt chrome trim is SGD $180. It's a replacement of that part, not a direct paste over. As mentioned, the Design trim is $10,000 more. Main differences are: Faux leather trim at centre console knee rest area, memory seat, chrome steering wheel trim, different design for rear diffuser & front lower bumper + side skirts, exterior door handles of chrome trim too - Let me know if I missed out anything. Everything else is the same.. so people can decide the additional $10K is worth it or not. (I only like the side skirt and chrome steering wheel bit so I am getting them retrofitted outside for $600+ and $180 respectively.) No, Virtual cockpit is not included in this Design trim. Side note: Both trim comes with 16" rims & tires but PA will let you change to 17" ones based on the design you choose. Weird arrangement due to the 17" set arriving at a different timing (later). 2. The roof lining is light grey. If all black with the dashboard, maybe cabin will become too dark. I changed to 18" rims & tires (Continental CSC5) on first day after collection. Will show photos soon The look is greatly enhanced The $180 metal piece at the steering wheel is it an option or you mean you retrofit at outside workshop? The exterior door handles is chrome for design and body colour for base model? How much you pay for the 18" rims after you trade in the 17" rims? Looking forward to your pics! Edited March 8, 2016 by Yaloryalor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 8, 2016 Share March 8, 2016 The $180 metal piece at the steering wheel is it an option or you mean you retrofit at outside workshop? The exterior door handles is chrome for design and body colour for base model? How much you pay for the 18" rims after you trade in the 17" rims? Looking forward to your pics! 1. Retrofit outside. 2. Door handles is half chrome half body color for Design trim, full body color for base model (mine) - Retrofit available but v costly outside, total replacement, $400+, not worth I reckon 3. Rims v cheap if you get replica, expensive if you go for original forge, see budget lor. Profile 225/45/R18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area + New LED DRL with integrated fog lights (Mythos Black) *Audi RS6 design rims 18" in silver finish with Continental CSC5 tires *S-Line bodykit (side skirts only) *Single chrome exhaust tip (freebie from SE) To do list: PPS (tomorrow) Darkening of window tint (stock solar film is very basic) Replace rear diffuser to allow for additional exhaust tip on the right side Exhaust system probably Supersprint for a slightly louder, bassy tone Throttle controller (none in the market right now can fit this new A4 with its new ODB port) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area + New LED DRL with integrated fog lights (Mythos Black) *Audi RS6 design rims 18" in silver finish with Continental CSC5 tires *S-Line bodykit (side skirts only) *Single chrome exhaust tip (freebie from SE) To do list: PPS (tomorrow) Darkening of window tint (stock solar film is very basic) Replace rear diffuser to allow for additional exhaust tip on the right side Exhaust system probably Supersprint for a slightly louder, bassy tone Throttle controller (none in the market right now can fit this new A4 with its new ODB port) if you keep the car on sports mode it would be like having the throttle controller I imagine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area + New LED DRL with integrated fog lights (Mythos Black) *Audi RS6 design rims 18" in silver finish with Continental CSC5 tires *S-Line bodykit (side skirts only) *Single chrome exhaust tip (freebie from SE) To do list: PPS (tomorrow) Darkening of window tint (stock solar film is very basic) Replace rear diffuser to allow for additional exhaust tip on the right side Exhaust system probably Supersprint for a slightly louder, bassy tone Throttle controller (none in the market right now can fit this new A4 with its new ODB port) the wheel arc gap is surprisingly quite big. u shd consider dual exhaust diffuser if u considering exhaust mod. I dun thk there is approved SS for your model yet. if you keep the car on sports mode it would be like having the throttle controller I imagine? quite different. the sports mode keeps the revs, the throttle controller amplifies the signal. so theoretically, a sports mode + throttle controller can throw the car more aggressively and reduce throttle lag. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helloworld99 1st Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area + New LED DRL with integrated fog lights (Mythos Black) *Audi RS6 design rims 18" in silver finish with Continental CSC5 tires *S-Line bodykit (side skirts only) *Single chrome exhaust tip (freebie from SE) To do list: PPS (tomorrow) Darkening of window tint (stock solar film is very basic) Replace rear diffuser to allow for additional exhaust tip on the right side Exhaust system probably Supersprint for a slightly louder, bassy tone Throttle controller (none in the market right now can fit this new A4 with its new ODB port) Wow, looks really cool. The "Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area" was thrown in my your SE? Or you did at an option? Where did you do it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 the wheel arc gap is surprisingly quite big. u shd consider dual exhaust diffuser if u considering exhaust mod. I dun thk there is approved SS for your model yet. quite different. the sports mode keeps the revs, the throttle controller amplifies the signal. so theoretically, a sports mode + throttle controller can throw the car more aggressively and reduce throttle lag. What I understand about the throttle controller is it makes the throttle more sensitive reducing the lag (like putting your foot down more except the accelerator was depressed to begin with) - plz correct if mistaken For my current car putting the car to sports does exactly the above (and keep the revs as you said so it's kind of both). I am assuming the design for normal and sports mode between audi and bmw would be roughly similar on both fronts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Wow, looks really cool. The "Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area" was thrown in my your SE? Or you did at an option? Where did you do it? The multiple horizontal chrome inserts - Should be standard for both trim Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper - SE said only for Design trim, somehow mine was fitted as well even though is Base trim the wheel arc gap is surprisingly quite big. u shd consider dual exhaust diffuser if u considering exhaust mod. I dun thk there is approved SS for your model yet. Wheel arc gap - Yeap but I can live with it, doesn't to lower my suspension to close up the gap & end up giving up on comfort. The current suspension setting is very smooth & comfortable, even though on 18" rims and tires. Exhaust - Yeah, gonna get the dual exhaust diffuser next time, 1 on each side. The car is very new so approved exhaust system gonna take awhile, not in any rush to fit. Current stock can hear abit of nice engine growl during acceleration and the gear shifts which is good enough for me. My gf doesn't like too loud / intrusive engine noises. if you keep the car on sports mode it would be like having the throttle controller I imagine? I find a slight lag / hesitation on the throttle response / gear shifts especially on lower gears like 1 or 2, if I need to overtake or accelerate quickly from low speeds. The response is fine though if accelerating from stand still. I thought a throttle controller might help with this since my previous twincharged Scirocco also have somewhat similar drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VW0619 Clutched March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area + New LED DRL with integrated fog lights (Mythos Black) *Audi RS6 design rims 18" in silver finish with Continental CSC5 tires *S-Line bodykit (side skirts only) *Single chrome exhaust tip (freebie from SE) To do list: PPS (tomorrow) Darkening of window tint (stock solar film is very basic) Replace rear diffuser to allow for additional exhaust tip on the right side Exhaust system probably Supersprint for a slightly louder, bassy tone Throttle controller (none in the market right now can fit this new A4 with its new ODB port) how much do you pay for this include the upsize rim? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Front exterior with Audi single piece chrome grille with multiple horizontal chrome inserts + Dual chrome trim for left & right lower bumper area + New LED DRL with integrated fog lights (Mythos Black) *Audi RS6 design rims 18" in silver finish with Continental CSC5 tires *S-Line bodykit (side skirts only) *Single chrome exhaust tip (freebie from SE) To do list: PPS (tomorrow) Darkening of window tint (stock solar film is very basic) Replace rear diffuser to allow for additional exhaust tip on the right side Exhaust system probably Supersprint for a slightly louder, bassy tone Throttle controller (none in the market right now can fit this new A4 with its new ODB port) Very chio! Swee! The front bumper are original? Looks nice. You added the side skirt for $600? Have you installed the parking camera? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Very chio! Swee! The front bumper are original? Looks nice. You added the side skirt for $600? Have you installed the parking camera? I didn't add or change anything to the front. If choose design trim, there will be a front splitter as well as a different rear diffuser. I don't like overly cluttered or beng body kit so I only installed side skirts from S line kit, original from Germany $650. The added reflection from the side skirt makes the car look more athletic and strike a nicer pose. SE gave me parking camera but I rejected it & got her to give me the Audi logo entry light under door one. I installed Blackvue front & back (from my previous 1 year old car). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 I didn't add or change anything to the front. If choose design trim, there will be a front splitter as well as a different rear diffuser. I don't like overly cluttered or beng body kit so I only installed side skirts from S line kit, original from Germany $650. The added reflection from the side skirt makes the car look more athletic and strike a nicer pose. SE gave me parking camera but I rejected it & got her to give me the Audi logo entry light under door one. I installed Blackvue front & back (from my previous 1 year old car). Sorry I mean reverse camera not parking camera. Your installer using the Audi original parts to install the parking camera or the aftermarket one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueodyssey 2nd Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 Wow. Nice rims. Waiting for them to send me the brochure. haha. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...