Better router or wifi extender

Stratovarius

the most run lan cable outside the house window [laugh]

Got to engage spiderman to lay the outside cable. [laugh]

Can try carpet the house, and lay the cable underneath it.

Ask you guys, where to get phone-Ethernet adapter like this...

I know Amazon is selling but locally does anyone sell? Like Element14?

41x3cJ89ZcL.jpg

Does this work? the number of small cables is different for the phone and ethernet.

Ask you guys, where to get phone-Ethernet adapter like this...

I know Amazon is selling but locally does anyone sell? Like Element14?

41x3cJ89ZcL.jpg

bro telephone keystone looks like this

only connect 4 out of 8 of the LAN cable

611875935_343.JPG

so even if you use the adaptor also no use one

you need to change the telephone keystone to LAN keystone

Got to engage spiderman to lay the outside cable. [laugh]

Can try carpet the house, and lay the cable underneath it.

Does this work? the number of small cables is different for the phone and ethernet.

can one

use tek koh to do, 2 man job

can one

Serious, you actually gave me an idea. Currently I'm using flat type of lan cable running along the edge of the wall. Certain expose area quite unsightly.. got to make sure i don't dropped the tek koh onto someone head below.

bro telephone keystone looks like this

only connect 4 out of 8 of the LAN cable

611875935_343.JPG

so even if you use the adaptor also no use one

you need to change the telephone keystone to LAN keystone

can one

I see....

Can share where do you get the LAN keystone from? I mean other dan online.

Serious, you actually gave me an idea. Currently I'm using flat type of lan cable running along the edge of the wall. Certain expose area quite unsightly.. got to make sure i don't dropped the tek koh onto someone head below.

actually I did that but it was not for lan cable

it was for high pressure water hose

(I place my high pressure water jet machine, then the high pressure hose, I link to the toilet by going thru the external of the building. I use tek koh to do. but need two man job. one guy hold tek koh, the other to grab the other end of the hose)

to hold the hose tight, I use cable tie

I see....

Sim Lim Tower (not square). They should sell entire reels of cables there too.

TS, I have a unopen new Asus N56 (I think is this model no) router given free by M1 during signup

U interested?

Cheap cheap.....S$60.

self Collect sengkang

I see....

you go hardware shop should have

just tell them you want to buy

cat6 wall socket

60571big.jpg

but you will need the punch down tool also

Punch-down-tool-Krone-and-110-0a.jpg

Edited by Mustank

actually I did that but it was not for lan cable

it was for high pressure water hose

(I place my high pressure water jet machine, then the high pressure hose, I link to the toilet by going thru the external of the building. I use tek koh to do. but need two man job. one guy hold tek koh, the other to grab the other end of the hose)

to hold the hose tight, I use cable tie

Eh, better not do such stunts for LAN cables. Once exposed to outside weather, means possibly lightning strike can hit the cable. And confirmed the equipment will get fried.

Sim Lim Tower (not square). They should sell entire reels of cables there too.

Oh ok...Thanks.

you go hardware shop should have

just tell them you want to buy

cat6 wall socket

60571big.jpg

but you will need the punch down tool also

Punch-down-tool-Krone-and-110-0a.jpg

I see...thanks.

You live in one of the newer HDBs?

Your house might already have LAN cables installed in the wall socket... Just need to do some modification.

Actually, most of the newer condos also should have it.

Ya. think can change from rj11 to rj45 socket. Not sure if i can pull out the cover w/o damaging the wall. That's why quite reluctant to change.

I went through this situation couple of months back. Explored the options discussed here.

I suggest TS to try to move around the existing router to the best central location for a start. Even 2-3 metres I feel a difference liao. This is the easiest way for me, and now my EM (2 storey HDB) has Wifi signal everywhere, even in my master bedroom toilet which is blocked by staircase and 2 doors.

Ya. think can change from rj11 to rj45 socket. Not sure if i can pull out the cover w/o damaging the wall. That's why quite reluctant to change.

2 mounting screws only mah

wont spoil the wall lah

if realy is lan cable inside, huat ah!

Funny thing is I have two very solid pre cast concrete walls between my router and the PC in my study.

I don't get any drop off in download speed at all. Not even 0.1Mbps.

Anyway if there had been a severe drop off when we moved in 4 years ago my plan was to run cable through the A/C ducting which runs between all rooms or as last resort Power plugs sometimes known as Home Plugs.

i have a mixture of set up after i bought a better router (Asus RT-AC68U) after my Tp-link Archer C7 seems "weak" recently...

i have the main fiber connect to AC68U in living room, this Asus router connect to a TP-link homeplug. i have a receiving homeplug in my study room with Lan output connect to my old Archer C7. this C7 provide wifi to my master bedroom which is the farthest from living hall, and Lan to my computer. with this setup, i have strong wifi coverage in any part of my flat... [:p]

post-3324-0-36318500-1436862977_thumb.jpg

I have ac68 at TV console area. Have lan ports in my room. But it connects to my android box.

But wifi in my room is still patchy especially with closed doors. Usually it's only 15 mbps only which is liveable.

Bought a cheap tenda router from aliexpress but it can't f ING act as an access point. Anyone knows if a cheap tp link wireless n router can do that? The 20 plus dollar one at challenger.

Don't want to spend too much.

Not going to move my router also.

My starhub d link router was donated to my in laws place. So I don't have any other spare routers...

I have ac68 at TV console area. Have lan ports in my room. But it connects to my android box.

But wifi in my room is still patchy especially with closed doors. Usually it's only 15 mbps only which is liveable.

Bought a cheap tenda router from aliexpress but it can't f ING act as an access point. Anyone knows if a cheap tp link wireless n router can do that? The 20 plus dollar one at challenger.

Don't want to spend too much.

Not going to move my router also.

My starhub d link router was donated to my in laws place. So I don't have any other spare routers...

Yes, tp link can work as access point.

http://www.tp-link.com/gr/FAQ-417.html