Court punishes Hewlett-Packard for under paying sales rep

Camrysfa

Maybe true...

but the article didn't make it sound like a compatibility issue... and it's not like these HP servers are using exotic operating systems like in their old Itaniums. Everything is software and everything is virtual nowadays.

HP should have given a cost for the maintenance (if the product isn't EOL)... could have asked for an obscene amount and NETS would have had to make cost-benefit analysis on whether to continue or throw it all out.

But this type of ultimatum saying we won't extend maintenance if you don't continue buying our hardware is wrong I think.

I also agreed its morally wrong but in business when a contract ends it ends.

But very under the belt leh

Management had sent her many congratulatory messages when she won the contract. But 10 days after her commission claim a month later was rejected, they retrenched her.

I would think there would be a case for her to sue them for unfair dismissal (under the guise of retrenchment).

Well HP can say that this lady had used unacceptable and reputation tarnishable methods to "win" Nets and was thereby terminated and does not qualify for full remuneration

She is lucky she even got paid....

It should be disciplinary discharge instead of retrenchment.

Like that can or not huh?

Management had sent her many congratulatory messages when she won the contract. But 10 days after her commission claim a month later was rejected, they retrenched her.

I would think there would be a case for her to sue them for unfair dismissal (under the guise of retrenchment).

so much for meritocracy

you deliver, they deny

puiz

Well HP can say that this lady had used unacceptable and reputation tarnishable methods to "win" Nets and was thereby terminated and does not qualify for full remuneration

Too bad. She was retrenched.

If terminated, i think diff story.

Maybe true...

but the article didn't make it sound like a compatibility issue... and it's not like these HP servers are using exotic operating systems like in their old Itaniums. Everything is software and everything is virtual nowadays.

HP should have given a cost for the maintenance (if the product isn't EOL)... could have asked for an obscene amount and NETS would have had to make cost-benefit analysis on whether to continue or throw it all out.

But this type of ultimatum saying we won't extend maintenance if you don't continue buying our hardware is wrong I think.

We all know it's never about compatibility issue but due to not having new order. But there is always a risk that issue is cause by other server and no one want to do other people shit also.

As for the ultimate, I don't think there is anything wrong. They can always try to buy support from other source if they think hp not good. This is business, and company now a day don't talk about relationship anymore.

Too bad. She was retrenched.

If terminated, i think diff story.

From the timing she was retrench, we can also say hp trying to short change her or not.😂😂

We all know it's never about compatibility issue but due to not having new order. But there is always a risk that issue is cause by other server and no one want to do other people shit also.

As for the ultimate, I don't think there is anything wrong. They can always try to buy support from other source if they think hp not good. This is business, and company now a day don't talk about relationship anymore.

From the timing she was retrench, we can also say hp trying to short change her or not.😂😂

I think it's hardware maintenance, which covers replacement of parts and limited downtime, response within certain time, yada yada. No sane "other source" will quote for such maintenance without the support of HP itself. Servers are not like PCs, can buy parts from Amazon. Not any Tom Dick or Harry can support.

That said, I wonder now that her sales tactic was exposed in court, will she get new job offers, since she's that good? [:p]

I think it's hardware maintenance, which covers replacement of parts and limited downtime, response within certain time, yada yada. No sane "other source" will quote for such maintenance without the support of HP itself. Servers are not like PCs, can buy parts from Amazon. Not any Tom Dick or Harry can support.

That said, I wonder now that her sales tactic was exposed in court, will she get new job offers, since she's that good? [:p]

I believe should Include software maintenance too.

Hardware maintenance spoilt Liao order can replace. It's isn't rocket science it's the software part that is the problem.

I believe should Include software maintenance too.

Hardware maintenance spoilt Liao order can replace. It's isn't rocket science it's the software part that is the problem.

Hardware replacement if no keep stock, must wait 1 week or 1 month. With NETS kind of business, can they afford to tell their retailers who use NETS, dont use their machine for 1 week or 1 month? Of cos u want the hardware part ASAP.

Truth also. Never though of the urgency of stuff.

600k comms i will also sue!

i think this sort of comms issue kenna sue is not rare. I hear before many stories of company try to eat sales ppl comms, usually sales ppl will LPPL but when the amount is big big like 600k, sure will kenna sue liao. Company will usually lose.

I thought many years ago HP was Best employer in Singapore for continuously few years?

Court punishes Hewlett-Packard for under paying sales rep…….

SINGAPORE — A retrenched sales product specialist with IT firm Hewlett-Packard (HP) is entitled to about S$600,000 in incentives for winning back a client, the High Court has ruled.

In a judgment made public today (Aug 5), Judicial Commissioner Edmund Leow ruled that Ms Corinna Chin Shu Hwa had helped win back electronic payments provider NETS as a customer for the Singapore subsidiary of HP, and the contract fell within the definition of “new business” for HP.

NETS was a HP customer but decided in late 2010 to buy IBM servers. The platform-migration process ran into problems and Ms Chin and her colleagues tried to woo NETS back in 2011 by, among other things, refusing to extend maintenance services for the existing servers unless NETS inked a new contract with HP.

This put pressure on NETS’ planned migration to the IBM servers, and it eventually ordered new HP servers in a March 2012 contract worth about S$5.38 million.

HP had argued that the NETS contract failed to meet the criteria for new business, and paid Ms Chin S$229,370.60 in incentives when it retrenched her in June 2012.

JC Leow ruled that HP’s meaning of “new end user customer” – part of how sales specialists’ performances were assessed from November 2011 – was ambiguous. The justice of the case demands that the company bear the risk of this ambiguity, he added.

“In terms of sales, NETS had been lost as a customer” when it decided to buy IBM servers in late 2010, the judge wrote.

Although NETS’ platform migration was from existing HP servers to new HP ones, it was because NETS was won back as a customer before the migration process was complete, and was hence not a “technology refresh contract”, JC Leow noted.

“Therefore, NETS was a ‘win back’ – i.e. a new end user customer – when it signed a contract for HP’s NonStop Blades servers in March 2012”, and was considered “new business”, he ruled.

And as Ms Chin was involuntarily terminated in June 2012 before the end of HP’s financial year, the calculation of her incentive pay should be on a pro-rated basis rather than a full-year basis, JC Leow said.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/court-orders-hewlett-packard-pay-retrenched-sales-specialist-about-s627000

http://www.stjobs.sg/career-resources/money-matters/former-exec-sues-hp-for-more-than-600000/a/159351

Edited by Yaloryalor

Personally i am quite shocked by the arm twisting methods she used but i believe it would have to be approved by HP management. Besides if she had broken any HP rules than she would have been dismissed or terminated (which as you rightfully said may have protected HP from paying her) and not retrenched. So that HP had to retrench her suggests that she did nothing wrong since retrenching someone doesn't require any performance or disciplinary reason.

is nets going to raise their % deduct from retailers?

Personally i am quite shocked by the arm twisting methods she used but i believe it would have to be approved by HP management. Besides if she had broken any HP rules than she would have been dismissed or terminated (which as you rightfully said may have protected HP from paying her) and not retrenched. So that HP had to retrench her suggests that she did nothing wrong since retrenching someone doesn't require any performance or disciplinary reason.

what are the methods used? issit the you buy the ibm servers, they don't work as well, now you are back using the old hp servers, we gonna cut support because our support contract has ended?

is nets going to raise their % deduct from retailers?

what are the methods used? issit the you buy the ibm servers, they don't work as well, now you are back using the old hp servers, we gonna cut support because our support contract has ended?

"....among other things REFUSING TO EXTEND service for existing HP servers...." Nothing illegal, just not very ethical. Some might even say anti-competitive.

microsoft don't wanna provide support for old operating systems

also very normal what

let say I got a very very old mercs, they say we aint got parts for these anymore

very normal what

sbs bus don't provide support for my very old magnetic cards

posb dont accept my old atm card without chip one

I donno how old the hp servers are and I also donno the service contract for these old servers

but I really doubt the service contract are still in force