Is it illegal to sell petrol?

jan1

Hi. I'm new here. Some questions need to ask here. Found car not working the very next day I top up full tank petrol...

Not going to repair the 9.9 yr old car so have to tow my car to scrapyard these few days. Anywhere to sell the petrol away legally? Is it easy to get the petrol out? Which LTA appointed scrapyard give a better price?

Scrapyard should be able to siphon or drain it out. I have read before about people illegally siphoning out other vehicles petrol but not sure how its done. Just check with scrapyard. Ask them to increase the scrap value?

Hi. I'm new here. Some questions need to ask here. Found car not working the very next day I top up full tank petrol...
Not going to repair the 9.9 yr old car so have to tow my car to scrapyard these few days. Anywhere to sell the petrol away legally? Is it easy to get the petrol out? Which LTA appointed scrapyard give a better price?

buy a cheap hand pump from hardware shop or Fairprice/SS, do a clean car-to-car transfer. Those want to save $$$ can use water hose, suck it out at your own risk. Yes, seen people doing it.

Since you have large volume of petrol, not advisable to store in containers which is illegal and damn blardy dangerous.

All above are technically illegal to be done in HDB carpark btw; at your own risk.

One comment. Don't. How much can u earn? $100? $200?

But think of the questing you will face if suay suay a few days later a person was found murdered because doused with petrol.

That is what a petrol attendant told me. Not illegal but stricter for sales of petrol that is not pumped directly into car. Happened after a murder case in Singapore.

Get this lah. Got nong nong version.

$T2eC16hHJIcFHN+33m3vBSHyLBRId!~~60_35.J

Get a tin can or specialised container to store the petrol. DO NOT use any type of plastic container. Try not to store for more dan 6 months. Petrol also have shelf life.

Usually at the inlet where you insert the petrol pump nozzle, just after that, there's a wire mesh. Use a sharp metal object to pierce thru it dan you insert the above siphoning device. Depending on the size of your fuel tank you will need a lot of tin containers and your hands will cramp after the workout. How are you going to transport so many petrol cans around? Is it worth the trouble?

If battery, spark plugs, etc still new can take out or not?

W/o a car how to transport so many things home? At home got place to store or not? :D

Anyway if you estimate how much you need to buy stuff to get things outta your car(well, you need tools, ppl aren't going to do it for you for free) and you have to bring it home, put it up on sale, haggle with ppl on the prices etc etc.....

IMO just let it go....in peace. Save yourself the trouble.

True. What if transfer to new car spill on paint? can damage new paint too?

I think can ask scrapyard.

The money that you are going to recover from the petrol is not worth the risk that you are going to take.

Like many above, would not advise you to do it. For that small money, it is troublesome and can be risky.

Some freak occurrence can easily cause a fire when you are transferring the stuff in/out. e.g. one small bit of flying ash from a smoker walking by or spark from static electricity and you will have an uncontrollable fire instantly. Somemore now going to be 7th month, many fires and flying ash.

True. What if transfer to new car spill on paint? can damage new paint too?

I think can ask scrapyard.

Wont damage paint that easily lah. I am sure many of us have had petrol spills on the paintwork near the fuel filler before. No real effect one, unless you leave it there long long or scrub it in hard. Splash water on it no problems liao.

Edited by Ake109

Scrapyard would not pay you a single dollar more even if you have gold bar in the fuel tank. They have a standardized pricing for different categories (engine capacity) of cars.

Then they deduct the parts that was taken out from the car when you send in for scarpping.

For example, most pay $100 body value for 1.6L scrap car. If you take out the car seats, they pay $80, more parts taken $50.

If car is "undriveable" and need to be towed to them, $0 body value.

not worth the risk and trouble, unless your tank is 500ltrs...

if kena naked flame then boom liow.........

if got bike its ok, just pump to your bike direct not advisable to store it.

OMG. So I get $0 when I tow my car to the scrapyard? And somemore have to pay for the tow.

Unless your car got scrap value lor.

Last time, my BMW GB piang liao. Still got back $1.5k scrap value.

you tio con liao! :blink:

Just chk with a scrapyard. $50 if engine still working. $100 if tip-top condition.