SG Presidential Election 2016/17!

Yewheng

who is Singapore first elected president?  

150 members have voted

1. 1. who is Singapore first elected president?

• Wee Kim Wee
    • Ong Teng Cheong
    • S R Nathan
    • Yusof Ishak

Was it ever?

If we had Western style democracy during our founding fathers' day, Singapore would had been Indian Rojak, Chinese Rojak and Malay style Rojak all mixed together.

Along the way, a compact was made between our government and citizens which includes giving up some/many of our rights and liberty in returned for social stability and economy success.

Today, some want their rights and liberty returned. What about the compact made? Where / what to trade?

Western or pure form of democracy, I dont think it will work in Singapore. The population as a whole is not mature yet. If majority based their choice of political party on HDB upgrading, that is very revealing.

When we demand democracy, exactly what are we demanding?

Are we on occasion confused democracy with transparency, accountability and etc?

Currently, even many academia are not sure what type if democracy we are looking for or aim for.

Democracy, is a very short word, but it change our country for the better or worse. Are we prepared for the consequences? If it doesnt work, elevating citizens' lives, who are we going to blame?

True democracy? Think it's a word coined to confuse ppl.

Democracy? Selective and subjective. Also depends on how green or how dry the pasture next door or over the oceans is. If greener, ours a lousy democracy. If drier next door, ours is still a lousy democracy. Because all got internal chip that if do not kpkb, cannot pass the test as a true blood Singaporean. Really one. Good can be better. Better can be best and the rest is historically documented as besterest liao. No fight.

Age has alot to do with how one equate democracy too. When one is young, everything is planned or more or less done for us. Like we can't protest and insist on which brand of baby powder or pampers or what type of cot or bed or floor to sleep on.

For me, it's democracy with many invisible grilles. Those grilles can either protect or restrict depending on individuals. No grille can fit everyone because it is made to this strict code from Nature, "we are unique". Like that also is a problem.

I remember the fervour of Egyptians fighting for true freedom and democracy. Somemore siao siao, weapon of mass disruption is the internet. Cheap and good. And all went for it. Happy like shxt too they were then.

Of course "small details" like who will run the country, who will head the new government and blah blah blah are so easy peasy issues. Things will fall into place. Democracy will take care of things. Freedom! Fight! Nothing like internal strife to tear up any country, however big or small or powerful. Citizens against citizens. Hurray!

Look at Egypt today.

Strike fear? No lah. Singaporeans are very educated and IT savy one. Where so easy to hoodwink?

Edited by PSP415

Don't really care who he is.

Just tell me one thing, is he aligned to PAP or not? If not aligned, I will go down and vote for him. 

If aligned then I will book my holiday overseas.

just wondering why this thread is still active .... ??? :a-bang:

Because we are stupid and hopeful.

Hopeful that somewhere out there, there will be a malay candidate willing to challenge the PAP.

more like you can't really chose a president now that they already narrowed down the choices for you .... so might as well just forget about this round.

Got Bourborn, 2nd Change liao.... Maybe ProperNext (could be the reason for merger with DW???) next... [laugh]

Will be sama sama Tan Tan Tan Tan - 4 candidates fight.

Jib Gor lor.  [lipsrsealed]

Being the President of the Republic of Singapore,

1. Sure will want to challenge the PAP.

2. Can stop him from being corrupted by paying him millions per year. One less "corrupted" politician in the world.

3. A "first" in Singapore in the world. First "magician" to be a President of a state in the world.

4. Can help Singapore to negotiate extensions for our water supply from Malaysia easily. 

One stone kill four birds.  [lipsrsealed]

more like you can't really chose a president now that they already narrowed down the choices for you .... so might as well just forget about this round.

If there is a non PAP aligned candidate, why would you want to give up this round?

Yes, they changed the rules because they were scared to lose but if we beat them at the new game, victory is all the sweeter.

Let's just wait and see the candidate slate before deciding anything.

Edited by Kusje

If there is a non PAP aligned candidate, why would you want to give up this round?

well, just remember that the president does not hold executive power, just the one of the keys to the vault ... you want to vote for the independent Uber driver ?

so have or don't have does not matter ... and now with the additional restriction ....<SIGH!>

Stop being naive lah. Even if there's a freak election the pm and parliament can still throw the president out and vote for another. How can they not have a backup plan? When it comes to politics it's never a fair game.

better than blackout :grin:  :grin:  :grin: