Distracted Driving

Darryn

A crash resulting in serious injury or death is more likely to be caused by a distracted driver than a drinking one.

Waikato District Health Board trauma specialist Dr Grant Christey said distracted drivers cause 25 per cent of serious crashes, whereas drinking drivers cause 18 per cent. 

"The most common reasons are texting or talking on a mobile phone, people talking in the car, or kids in the back."

"They also suggest you are 400 per cent more likely to crash if you're using a mobile phone

Please be safe out there everyone!! 

Phones are a menace for drivers.  Saw one night this week a driver leaving a condo actively typing into his phone which was on a holder next to his wheel.  He almost hit pedestrians on the path.  And kept typing away when on the road.  He also was driving without his lights on too.

Remember the aye case where this female driver sway lightly off her lane and cause a motorbike to skid and die under a truck? I cannot think of anything else other than the lady driver probably busy looking at her phone. Everyday i drive sure got buggers like this. Please...you want to die you yourself die... Don't drag other people down...

90% of them time i see driver using handphone and driving at the same time are woman driver. got one time even saw a woman eating cup noodle when she stop at a red light junction. really so busy meh [smash]

A crash resulting in serious injury or death is more likely to be caused by a distracted driver than a drinking one.

Waikato District Health Board trauma specialist Dr Grant Christey said distracted drivers cause 25 per cent of serious crashes, whereas drinking drivers cause 18 per cent. 

"The most common reasons are texting or talking on a mobile phone, people talking in the car, or kids in the back."

"They also suggest you are 400 per cent more likely to crash if you're using a mobile phone

Please be safe out there everyone!! 

90% of them time i see driver using handphone and driving at the same time are woman driver. got one time even saw a woman eating cup noodle when she stop at a red light junction. really so busy meh [smash]

Heh...you don't know the half of it  from the UK....

But then, last week, the Daily Mail in Britain reported the results of a study of 1,000 women commissioned by Debra Robson, a makeup specialist at Harley Street clinic in London. It opened the discussion. The survey found that 46 per cent of women admit to applying makeup while driving. They do this even though 43 per cent know it’s dangerous. “Insurers estimate that as many as 450,000 accidents a year are caused by women drivers being distracted while applying cosmetics,” the paper said. 

And a slightly differrent statistic

Despite the dangers, a fifth of women drivers confess they have touched up their make-up on the move  -  not so much a case of Mirror, Signal, Manoeuvre as Mirror, Signal, Mascara. 
 Three per cent admit to causing a collision when distracted by applying cosmetics. That equates to around 450,000 crashes a year.  

Edited by Darryn

In the past, many drivers can easily send handphone text messages using just one hand while driving but it is extremely difficult to do that nowadays when using a smartphone since it is all about touch screen. Chances for accidents are much higher than ever before.

Makan ok la

I often eat in traffic junction too. Bopian la too hungry haha