My date with Traffic Court, Court 21

Adrianli

One fine and bright sunny Sunday morning, I was heading north as usual for my hobby routine. The roads were usually clear this early in the morning. My right foot feels a bit heavier than usual. The engine wants its horses to be released after a work week of low revs. After passing the two overhead bridge on CTE, the usual candid camera spots, I was going up the flyover on Bradellel. Decided to let the horses out for that momentary stamp on the accelerator hard. On the way down the flyover, forgot to release the accelerator as the pull from the engine was too mesmerising.

Within a couple of seconds, a motorbike with flashing blue and red lights was at my side and waved me to stop. I had to adhere to his command and did so. We pulled to the side of the road and he parked behind me. He walked over and asked me to get out of the car and produce my NRIC and driving license. I knew I was caught speeding but I did not know how fast I was caught for. I thought, at most 120km/h. I do not look at the speedometer and drive, I was looking at the road trying to concentrate and look out for other road users as my car cut through the air.

While he was radioing back his HQ to check the status of my NRIC and driving license, his accomplice arrived. Immediately, his accomplice asked me how fast I was going. I said I don’t know as I was concentrating driving on the expressway as what any good driver should. He showed me his speed camera display and it showed 143km/h. Goodness me, I was shocked too. He did a mental calculation, then told me I am lucky. Any higher and my license will be revoked. He asked for a reason for going that fast. I said I had no excuse, I was not rushing to anywhere. I plead for him to report a lower speed, but he refused.

After checking my records are clean, they told me to leave and expect a summon letter within two weeks. And told me to drive carefully!!! Very chop chop, the stop lasted less than 10mins. Looking backing into my in-car video camera, I did clock 143km/h on the downslope of the flyover. I should have released the accelerator after the upslope. They were stationed between the entrance of Bradellel and exit of AMK Ave 1 on the CTE northbound. Just outside of SMRT depot. That is a busy place, cant believe they had stationed there as I have never encounter them there. One holding the speed camera, another standby at the side of his motorbike.

Within two weeks, I really received a registered mail from postman. And I was formerly charged by traffic police for speeding at 143km/h over 90km/h speed limit. There was no composition fine to settle the offence. And at the bottom of the letter I was told to appear in court on a specific date and time. This time, really jia lat liao. Quickly went online to search for forums on what to do. There really isn’t much, the only close reference was in Singapore Bike Forum dated 2010. The fine was $800 to $1,000 with suspension of license from 3 months to 6 months. I asked around my friends, none of them ever encounter such high speeding cases. One friend told me his another friend’s wife kena $1,000 fine and 3 months suspension.

Frankly, I am not worried about the fine. I am more worried of the suspension. I need my car for weekend travelling for my hobby. Day to day, I can rely on public transport but for my hobby, which I had advanced into larger scale models, I require a transport. So I decided to look for my MP to appeal to the court for not suspending my license. I am willing to pay the fine and have 18 points deducted as a punishment of my driving.

post-2654-0-80059700-1451877204_thumb.jpg

It was a Monday evening when I met my MP, who happens to be the transport minister too(now no more liao), Mr Lui Tuck Yew. The wait was long, about one hour. Then I was met with one of the many volunteers who would write a summary of my request to Mr Lui. He was shocked at the speed I was driving too and he told me that they will not be able to interfere with court proceedings. Only thing they can do is write to traffic police to appeal. I asked how about a personal letter from Mr Lui to the judge which I will hand carry to court. He told me to ask Mr Lui later when I meet him.

It was another 30mins before I am allowed to meet my MP. Upon entering the room, Mr Lui stood up, greeted me, extended his hand to shake mine. He listened to my request and politely told me that he is unable to interfere with court proceedings and is unable to write me a personal letter to the judge. He told me he will write to traffic police and try to appeal my case as I have existing medical conditions that having a car would ease my convenience. After that, he told me to take care and drive carefully!!!

Prior to seeing Mr Lui, I had already prepared letters from my various specialist stating my medical condition which does not allow me prolong standing.

True to his words, Mr Lui indeed wrote to traffic police and appeal my case. I received a letter from traffic police that they will review my case. However, the following week, received a letter back from traffic police that my appeal was unsuccessful and a new court date is set for my case. From here, I knew suspension of my driving license was for sure, but for how long, that will depend on the mood of the judge.

post-2654-0-34621200-1451877304_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-31074600-1451877322_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-73243800-1451877343_thumb.jpg

• Praise 43

The week leading up to my attendance at traffic court, I had prepared myself for a long suspension. Stowed my car away and left petrol at half tank. Check out the various bus routes to work and places where I enjoy my hobby. Check out apps that predict bus timing. Down size my hobby and bought some backpacks. My brother was my support, he took leave that day and fetch me around.

I reached State Court one hour before my hearing. There are seats outside the court room. I was one of the first few to arrive. There were computer consoles in front of the seats to register your attendance. I had brought along all my paper documentation and $5,000 cash, just in case as I do not know the maximum fine. Slowly the seats begin to fill up as more people arrive at traffic court, Court 21. Once it was time of the hearing, we were ushered into the court room.

As you enter the court room, right side for accused and left side for visitors. There is a court assistant who will call your name and let you know your options and ask what you wish to plead. There are three things you can do.

1. Plead guilty
  2. Claim trial
  3. Postpone court date

He/she, there are two of them going around asking each accused, will tell you the charges you will be facing. Mine was:

First offender – Maximum of $1,000 fine and 12 months of disqualification from all classes of vehicles.

Repeat offender – Maximum of $2,000 fine and 12 months of disqualification from all classes of vehicles.

Then he/she will ask if you have anything you would like to say before sentencing as once the judge sentence you, its final. All disqualification starts from that very moment. Fine has to be paid on that day otherwise you will go to jail.

I let the court assistance know that I had no excuses and don’t wish to make up any. I would like to plead leniency for my case due to my medical condition where a car would be a great convenience to myself and my family. I would have to visit my paralysed mum regularly also and she is not staying near me.

The judge enter the court room, all stand and bow to the judge. Another court assistant would be reading out the charges one by one, in front of everyone. That session, there are about 30 of us accused. Mostly were heavy vehicle drivers and many were foreign workers. So I just seat there and listen to one by one as they were charged and how the judge sentenced them. Before me was a guy who did 135km/h over 80km/h on AYE. He gave the excuse that he was rushing home to coach his son for PSLE. That made the judge shout out a loud “What”. The judge ask him to say his reason again and he repeated it. He pleaded that he needed his car as he was doing a sales job and had just joined the company. The judge looked into his computer, flip a few papers and then sentenced him to $600 fine and one month disqualification. The judge said that is the minimum he is able to give due to his high speed.

My name was called and I went to stand behind the traffic police prosecutors. The court assistant who attended to me stood beside me. After my charges were read out in court, the court assistant informed the judge that I had no excuse for my speed and feel remorseful. She mentioned of my medical condition and cited that my mum was paralysed. Then she asked me to speak to the judge to plead for leniency. I told the judge about my medical condition and hope that he would not suspend my license. He looked at his computer and flip through his papers, then he asked the traffic police prosecutor if there are any past charges as my speed is very high. The prosecutors say nothing to add. That was my relief.

He said as my speed is too high, there is a mandatory disqualification of license to be imposed, he said that he will give me the same sentence as the guy before me. So he sentenced me to $600 fine or default of two days in jail and one month disqualification. I was happy and relieved that it was one month suspension only. I was immediately ushered by the police to a small room next to the court. The police inside the room will write down the charges in a log book and then I have to sign next to it acknowledging the charges. The police officer will ask if you are able to make payment that day. As I have a disqualification, the police said I have to surrender my driving license at traffic police HQ. I cannot surrender it at the court. We are escorted to the counter just outside the court room to make payment. There were three policemen there manning the queue.

Payment can be made by cash, Nets or Credit Cards. After making payment with Nets, the police will check your receipt before letting you go. Everything was done in a chop chop SOP order. I was in court for barely 20mins and I can leave already. I called my brother and he fetched me to traffic police HQ for me to surrender my license.

post-2654-0-86346400-1451877462_thumb.jpg

• Praise 10

At traffic police HQ, just take a queue number, go into the room and surrender your physical driving license there. The lady was shocked I was there just 40mins after my court hearing. They do not even have it on their computer record yet. She accepted my license and gave me an acknowledge form. She told me to collect my license after my suspension. Traffic police is supposed to send me a letter to collect back my license after my suspension. One week later, I received a letter from traffic police to surrender my license. Also on EDDIES, you will see that your license is invalid.

post-2654-0-42753600-1451877536_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-70651900-1451877551_thumb.jpg

Until the day of my suspension ended, no letter from traffic police to collect my driving license back. Never inform me to collect back my license. So I called them and they told me to go to traffic police HQ to collect it back.

And then I enquired about my points. I was wondering, after deducting 18 points, I should have left with 6 points. But the officer said no. As I had served my suspension, my points have been reset to 12 points for the next 12 months from the date my suspension ended. Woohooo so I gained 6 points. He said if I kena 12 points offence, my license will be suspended immediately. Only after 12 months, then I will have back my 24 points.

So from then on its safe driving for me, sticking to the speed limit +/- a little bit. No more hard stamping on accelerator in Singapore. Safe driving guys and gals, don’t scold me too much. I am just sharing my traffic court experience here. [drivingcar]

• Praise 59

You're very fortunate lucky bugger the judge was lenient and you were just below the "confirmed license gantong" speed.

Thanks for sharing.  It is a damned good reminder to drive safe.  [thumbsup]

Edited by Mason016

on the grand scale of things... 1mth is light punishment... take it and move on lo 

ps.. pls dont get me wrong ah...  [:)]

agree.  In view of the circumstances, judge was very considerate.

You're very fortunate lucky bugger the judge was lenient and you were just below the "confirmed license gantong" speed.

Thanks for sharing.  It is a damned good reminder to drive safe.  [thumbsup]

nowadays I also drop my speeds to 110 max. last time 120 is a definite once for every trip from A-B.

the unmarked tp cars really can work wonders on humji kias like me...  :secret-laugh:

Many many many years ago, my father lost his license because of speeding. 

At the time, you could apply for a "dispensation" for work - as he was working two jobs, his dispensation covered 7 am till 2 am...so it wasn't a problem. 

Exceeded by more than 50km/h and you only got suspended 1 mth ...  very lucky leh.  Good thing you have a nice clean record going for you.

nowadays I also drop my speeds to 110 max. last time 120 is a definite once for every trip from A-B.

the unmarked tp cars really can work wonders on humji kias like me...  :secret-laugh:

I once did 232 in my wowo.  My balls still shrink thinking about it.  :a-panic:

because he regular MCFer so everyone also considerate towards him...

if newbie... i think world war 3 liao... lol

and we know him too.....

membership has its privileges....

Suspension of license for one month .... does it meant that can drive again after 1 month ? Or need to retake driving test all over again ?