Netflix

Mustank

I assume you are using Netflix on your TV direct without a VPN? Please confirm as i am not sure if Netflix is availble yet without VPN.

Getting SD shows on Netflix is easy, any settop box or Tv with internet Lan will suffice

The problem is Netflix has limited 4K Video streaming only to a select category of TVs and settop boxes.  Is the Netflix app available on your 4K TV? And can you access and login using your TV Netflix app?

Just try la.  If you can, then try to access the 4k Movie list

If u are using a Settop box, then there are only very few that Netflix allows 4k streaming. This is not a limitation of the android box itself but a restriction imposed by Netflix.  To my knowledge currently only the following settopboxes have a tie-up with Netflix for 4k movies;

1) Nvidia Shield

2) Roku 4

3) TiVo Bolt

4) Latest version of Amazon Fire TV.

i am sorry i cant offer more help as i actually came here to look for help myself lol

There is a Nvidia shield tread in Hardware Zone and u may get better help there as i may not be equipped to help u. 

i am using vpn on a desktop link to tv

i donno my computer's video card can handle 4k or not but i don't think so

my computer about 1 year old

i go home see whether got this option or not

Er bro in that case more or less confirm you cant get the 4k stream.  Routing through a VPN will seriously degrade your bandwith.  And u need very high bandwith for 4k streaming.

The other issue is how is your PC transferring the show to your 4k TV?  Via HDMI 2 cable?  Or via Airpin Pro if u r on imac?  If u do such method, i seriously doubt the final resolution will be at 2160p / 4k.   FYI even using a settop box, they recommend using a HDMI 2 cable to get the full 4k @ 60fps.

And of coz u also need a 4k Netflix plan

Arrow is very good.  Just use showbox on Android box.  At 720p the 4k TV will upscale and it will look very nice.  Or u can torrent and dl the whole season to Hdd and watch direct via usb on your 4k TV.

i am using vpn on a desktop link to tv

i donno my computer's video card can handle 4k or not but i don't think so

my computer about 1 year old

i go home see whether got this option or not

Er bro in that case more or less confirm you cant get the 4k stream.  Routing through a VPN will seriously degrade your bandwith.  And u need very high bandwith for 4k streaming.

The other issue is how is your PC transferring the show to your 4k TV?  Via HDMI 2 cable?  Or via Airpin Pro if u r on imac?  If u do such method, i seriously doubt the final resolution will be at 2160p / 4k.   FYI even using a settop box, they recommend using a HDMI 2 cable to get the full 4k @ 60fps.

Arrow is very good.  Just use showbox on Android box.  At 720p the 4k TV will upscale and it will look very nice.  Or u can torrent and dl the whole season to Hdd and watch direct via usb on your 4k TV.

looks like must climb hill liao

How do you gain access to netflix w/o vpn?

Netflix will be available here in sinkieland soon.  So its a matter of time before locals here get direct access without a VPN.  Many new TVs also come with a Netflix app.  

However i do not know if it is CURRENTLY available now without VPN.

The other issue is, even if there is direct access available, the content for the Sg approved version of Netflix will probably be very different from those in the US and UK.  For eg i really doubt they will screen Spartacus or 50 shades uncut here.   For this reason many users of Netflix who prefer uncensored content, may prefer to retain their VPN access.

Can anyone here confirm when exactly Netlix will be available here?

How do you gain access to netflix w/o vpn?

Bro if u already have a Netflix account, just try accessing it without the VPN

You can share the same Netflix login with afew devices.  Try the login on a PC with no VPN.  Or just disable the VPN on your current PC and try to login

If the silly sign "Netflix is not available in your region" flashes on, then your question is answered. U still need the VPN.

er, what is climb hill? 

yeah

I also wanna know

Bro if u already have a Netflix account, just try accessing it without the VPN

You can share the same Netflix login with afew devices.  Try the login on a PC with no VPN.  Or just disable the VPN on your current PC and try to login

If the silly sign "Netflix is not available in your region" flashes on, then your question is answered. U still need the VPN.

er, what is climb hill? 

torrent lor

looks like must climb hill liao

Climb better. Can watch own time, no server lag, and hd quality with ac5.1. Usually available less than a week after broadcast and fast download if it is new. Downside is have to invest in 16tb nas.

Hi Ender i used to Climb a lot before I got the Minix.   Once i got the Minix i seldom climb.  It gives me most of what i need.

My only problem is that its tough to find 4k Movies on torrent due to HDCP controls.  I do find lots of 4k documentaries and videos and nature stuff , and porn.  But i really want the 4k Movies which, as i said, seem only to be available on Netflix.

Any way i also took a look at the Netflix 4k Movie list and many (if not all) the movies are NOT SHOT IN NATIVE 4K FORMAT.  Most are just digitally re-mastered from older 1080p format to 2160P.  Of coz this is still much better than the upscaling of SD content the 4k setoff box and TV does.  But its not the real deal.

Unless u can point me to some good 4k Movies in Native format, i think i am pretty much up against an brick wall in my search haha.

Oh btw Mustank i went to Netflix website and it now reads that "Netflix will be available in Singapore soon" so its not YET available n u still need the VPN.  Just get the Android 4k Settop box la. Trust me it will safe u much climbing.

Climb better. Can watch own time, no server lag, and hd quality with ac5.1. Usually available less than a week after broadcast and fast download if it is new. Downside is have to invest in 16tb nas.

@lala81 thanks for ur good recommendation! My box arrived ytd, have successfully set up and can watch most shows

May i know what app r u using to watch american dramas, was trying to watch but some cannot streamed outside mainland china

@lala81 thanks for ur good recommendation! My box arrived ytd, have successfully set up and can watch most shows

May i know what app r u using to watch american dramas, was trying to watch but some cannot streamed outside mainland china

I still climb hill for what i want to watch.

But probably genesis add on for Kodi is the best in terms of variety. 

Especially brand new ones.

on a sidenote, there's a very good thing in Kodi that allows you to offset the downloaded subtitles from subscene/opensub when they don't sync properly.

That's a damn superb thing especially if u are like me who use a lot of subtitles (cos sometimes watch when the kid is sleeping beside us).

Wish MXplayer would have this feature.

on a sidenote, there's a very good thing in Kodi that allows you to offset the downloaded subtitles from subscene/opensub when they don't sync properly.

That's a damn superb thing especially if u are like me who use a lot of subtitles (cos sometimes watch when the kid is sleeping beside us).

Okie thanks!

I use Genesis, bcuz it can auto download subtitles.

I watch always with subtitles on, as I'm hard of hearing and it's much easier to read and understand what they are saying.

I use Genesis, bcuz it can auto download subtitles.

I watch always with subtitles on, as I'm hard of hearing and it's much easier to read and understand what they are saying.

i've been watching angmoh serials or comedy since i was young, so i can catch ball most of the time.

But my wife buay sai. 

and sometimes the american drawls are hard to understand.

Netflix working with MDA on ways to navigate local broadcast regulations

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/singapore/netflix-working-with-mda/2361840.html

Netflix working with MDA on ways to navigate local broadcast regulations

By May Seah, TODAY

POSTED: 19 December 2015 at 5:44 PM

UPDATED: 19 December 2015 at 5:50 PM

AA

SINGAPORE: With a view to its local debut early next year, Netflix is busy preparing to enter the Singapore market, including exploring ways to navigate the regulatory regime here.

In a telephone interview from Los Angeles on Friday (Dec 18), Mr Jonathan Friedland, Netflix’s chief communications officer, said broadcast regulations are among the issues to be sorted out before the planned roll-out of its services in the first quarter of 2016. The American on-demand streaming media provider has been working with the Media Development Authority of Singapore (MDA) on this.

Mr Friedland said: “We will have an office in Singapore, so we’ve been trying to understand what the attitude of the Singaporean consumer is .... We’re going to have the Singaporean rating system, so we’re trying to understand exactly what the difference is, if any, between the way we handle content under our own global rating system and theirs.”

An MDA spokesperson said on Friday: “MDA is working with Netflix to familiarise them with Singapore’s regulations and media capabilities ahead of their arrival.”

Welcoming Netflix’s expansion into Singapore, the MDA spokesperson added: “It will inject greater vibrancy into our media sector and provide viewers with more choices.”

Mr Friedland is optimistic that Singapore’s broadcast regulations will not affect viewers’ enjoyment.

“What we’re hoping is that in an on-demand world, where people have to actively go and get the content, governments will treat that in a somewhat different light from how they treat traditional broadcasting,” he said.

Netflix, known not only for its extensive library of movies and TV shows but also for producing its own hit series such as House Of Cards and Orange Is The New Black, made its foray into Japan in September.

The company, which currently operates in more than 60 countries, also plans to launch in Hong Kong, South Korea and Taiwan next year. By entering Singapore, Mr Friedland said, Netflix aims “to provide consumers with a lot of great stories all over the world through a personalised system”.

These include all of the Netflix Originals that have come out in the last year-and-a-half, including Master Of None and Marvel’s Jessica Jones.

Interestingly, despite the prevalence of piracy through unsanctioned virtual private-network services, Mr Friedland said the piracy problem has gone down in most of the countries Netflix has entered.

“If you give people the ability to watch stuff they want to watch ... at a very reasonable price, they tend to want that,” he explained. “They don’t really want to go through the hassle of bit-torrenting and doing peer-to-peer stuff if they can avoid it.”

Netflix is confident it can offer user-friendly services to Singaporeans. “It works on your iPad, your Samsung TV, on mobile (phones) — it works seamlessly without any hassle ... What we offer people is a really simple, easy and effective on-demand viewing experience at a very reasonable price,” said Mr Friedland.

On the prospects of producing exclusive Singaporean original content, such as it did in Japan, he said Netflix hopes to produce content “where we find good stories”.

He added that the Netflix series Marco Polo was shot in Johor and “employed a lot of Singaporean talent — behind-the-scenes talent and some actors”. “We’re committed to making really good television and if we find great creators with stories that are universally resonant, then we probably will do some,” he said.

For now, Netflix will spend its first year in Singapore sussing out the market and making adjustments accordingly. “Netflix on Day 10 will be totally different from Netflix on Day One. And Netflix six months later will be even more different,” Mr Friedland said.

Read the original TODAY report here.

- TODAY/ek

AA

MediaCorp News Group

©2015 MediaCorp Pte Ltd