Teachers may soon have to pay to park in schools.

Friendstar

Teachers may soon have to pay to park in schools.

The Straits Times understands that the Ministry of Education (MOE) is looking into whether public schools should continue to not charge staff for parking space in school compounds. Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao had reported on Thursday that the ministry has been discussing the issue since the start of last year.

Currently, all public service organisations, including the Education Ministry, charge parking fees at their offices. But parking remains free at the primary and secondary schools and the junior colleges. Only school staff are allowed to park in schools.

Last year, the Auditor-General Office's (AGO) report highlighted how the Institute of Technical Education (ITE), the Singapore Polytechnic (SP) and the Temasek Polytechnic (TP) were not imposing parking charges, or charging below market rate, for the use of their car parks. The report said such practices "are tantamount to providing hidden subsidies for vehicle parking".

The report pointed out that ITE did not charge users for its car park, and the estimated amount of parking fees forgone was $66,000 a month.

According to the report, SP implemented paid parking only in May 2013, but parking continued to be free for motorcycles. Parking was also free for those who parked their vehicles at the staff apartment car park. Of those who were charged for parking, some users, such as the poly's staff, tenants, and contractors, paid below the market rate.

At TP, which started charging for parking in June 2014, it capped its daily car park charges at $1.50 for staff, and $6.00 for other users, resulting in some users paying below market rate, the report went on.

Both the polys and the ITE had to review their parking charges.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapor...ok#xtor=CS1-10

I'm not a teacher nor a staff in any school but hello ... what's the problem with free parking for teachers/staff of school ???  [smash]  [confused]

I'm working in private sector and know of some companies who provide transport allowance, parking subsidy, etc ... as a benefit (only for certain level of employees). 

I think those teachers/staff who drive to school must be fuming mad at such suggestion by person X ....  [bounce1]

If this goes through, very well I think the next govt organization to implement is SAF ... paid parking in all SAF camps even for reservist ...   [sweatdrop]  

• Praise 14

Car-lite, car bright, first car I see tonight...

I'm not a teacher nor a staff in any school but hello ... what's the problem with free parking for teachers/staff of school ???  [smash]  [confused]

I'm working in private sector and know of some companies who provide transport allowance, parking subsidy, etc ... as a benefit (only for certain level of employees). 

I think those teachers/staff who drive to school must be fuming mad at such suggestion by person X ....  [bounce1]

If this goes through, very well I think the next govt organization to implement is SAF ... paid parking in all SAF camps even for reservist ...   [sweatdrop]  

Econ slowing, finding more avenues for national fund?

I'm not a teacher nor a staff in any school but hello ... what's the problem with free parking for teachers/staff of school ??? [smash][confused]

I think those teachers/staff who drive to school must be fuming mad at such suggestion by person X .... [bounce1]

If this goes through, very well I think the next govt organization to implement is SAF ... paid parking in all SAF camps even for reservist ... [sweatdrop]

Hope no authority figure reading this post lol..

This whole saga looks like own people sabo own people. I don't think any of the public is complaining about free parking for teachers in school.

As far as I know, teachers do not normally claim mileage or taxi fare if they have to go to another school or some off site location to attend meeting etc...Most of us do claim mileage or taxi fare if we have to do these activities. 

And some teachers even used their own car to transport students to competitions if the number is too small to book a school bus. All these are done FOC and at the expense of the teachers. So, small gesture like able to park free during school hours also 看不开。 

If teachers starts to 斤斤计较, then the students are the ones that are going to suffer

Edited by Neost
  • Praise 15

Squeeze ah!!!!

Well done MOE, now you're gonna piss off a big chunk of your employees.. and they say recruiting new teachers is hard..

Squeeze ah!!!!

Well done MOE, now you're gonna piss off a big chunk of your employees.. and they say recruiting new teachers is hard..

It's OK, erection achieved. No need Viagra for another 4 to 5 years, and Sinkaporeans have the memories of fruitflies. :D

• Praise 13

Want quality education for all children but small little favour of free parking inside school compound cannot.... :a-bang:

So if teachers give up driving to school and couple with MRT breakdown, student will loose out for not having any teachers during the first one or two periods. (cos teachers still on the way or stuck in MRT).

Sometimes teachers have to attend meetings during curriculum time and they can teach until their very last period so that he/she can drive to the meeting immediately when their periods end.

If they don't drive, they will leave 3 or 4 periods early just to beat the peak hours traffic or getting to the meeting place early.

So " Who Loose Out ? "

Teachers are also parents themselves and they too needs to sent their kids to school and then proceed to their own. And taken away this privilege would results of more to resign to become full time housewives.Then we have shortage of teachers again... [sweatdrop] 

To me there are many other issues that need to be addressed than this! we need quality teachers to provide quality education to our youngs rather than debating on such matter. really no eye to see liao.

Well, I have just a couple of small questions to ask.

Do any or all of these guys and gals (http://www.ago.gov.sg/about-us/senior-management):

post-52704-0-30419000-1452214513_thumb.jpg

enjoy free or subsidised parking at their place of work? (and keep in mind that this is the heart of town we're talking about).

Do they get a reimbursement for travelling (transport and/or parking) to different places during their auditing duties, which no doubt take them places all over Singapore?

That's all I want to know.

Whoever in the AGO suggested this had a good intention (i'm not related to AGO and I don't have friends / relatives / family working in AGO). There is a potential loophole since parking in school / ITE / Poly / NTU / NUS compound can be a source of corruption. One reliable complaint from public is enough for CPIB to start an investigation.

However my point is, MOE with so many scholars are so kiasi that the first thing comes to mind is PAY MONEY. It truly reflects the money-minded mentality of our social were TAUGHT and not FROM PARENTS since it is coming from OUR NATIONAL EDUCATION MINISTRY!!

They could just look into it and cleared it as a PRIVILEGE for educational staff (teachers, lecturers etc) maybe excludes the support staff. I don't think any right-minded people would mind the educational staff not paying for their parking at the place they are teaching. If they are going meeting at MOE or somewhere else then be my guest - charge all they want.

It is sad on how they are shaping Singapore's future leaders into money-minded machines... everything use MONEY to solve

See la..,..

Still believe 154 some more?

They are out to skin every penny.

Heng ah, I'm not in Cheng hu sector.

They better don't forget to collect parking fee from those who drove bike to work

You old enough to know Madonna meh?

Cool

"Star Light, Star Bright" is a nursery rhyme that waaaaay predated Madonna lah. :D

Aiyo

Is parking at schools very bad or crowded?

Are outsiders making use and crowding school parking?

If not why are we even talking about paid parking in schools?

Its all about money again?!?!?!

Sigh

It is due to staff working in poly and university need to pay for their parking, so now they also implement parking charges at pri and sec school?