Any recommended tyre shop

Franwilliam

On 10/16/2022 at 8:05 PM, Blueray said:

last year my friend changed to P7 at Autocare World Lok Yang.

this year another changed to P7 at Hurry Tyre Bt Timah

both have big big Pirelli Performance Centre signs outside. 

Autoworld Care got 4 outlet now I think.

Me change to P1 with them in 2020 at Lok Yang. Price was a deal steal back then becos of Covid and online GSS.

Then when they open in east side, me go east side to rotate cos nearer.

3 hours ago, Mancypher said:

Autoworld Care got 4 outlet now I think.

Me change to P1 with them in 2020 at Lok Yang. Price was a deal steal back then becos of Covid and online GSS.

Then when they open in east side, me go east side to rotate cos nearer.

yes, free rotation too.

my friend has been going Lok Yang for free rotation. and coffee and biscuits too. [:p]

On 10/20/2022 at 11:30 AM, Dafansu said:

agreed used to be with them, that period they were popular with a lot of recommendations. I've moved on for many years, realised pricing a bit on the high after they gotten popular. 

His prices were cheap at the start and he used the forums well. Then like you said business flourished, he couldn’t really cope, hired extra help and slowly prices went up. 
experienced the rough handling of rims from the hired help and then decided not to return. 

Edited by Mkl22

35 minutes ago, Blueray said:

yes, free rotation too.

my friend has been going Lok Yang for free rotation. and coffee and biscuits too. [:p]

Your friend is @Philipkee

If not, you just give him the idea. 🤣

16 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

His prices were cheap at the start and he used the forums well. Then like you said business flourished, he couldn’t really cope, hired extra help and slowly prices went up. 
experienced the rough handling of rims from the hired help and then decided not to return. 

eng wah also quite boh chap with rim care. i feedback to Vince and he no hue me. so I moved on lor. 

2 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Your friend is @Philipkee

If not, you just give him the idea. 🤣

haha, we found out there was coffee and biscuits by accident actually.

the tyre mechanics were busy so we were told to go waiting room. 

45 minutes ago, Blueray said:

eng wah also quite boh chap with rim care. i feedback to Vince and he no hue me. so I moved on lor. 

haha, we found out there was coffee and biscuits by accident actually.

the tyre mechanics were busy so we were told to go waiting room. 

Don’t remind me about the fei zai at eng wah! Almost  Wanted to give him a big kick in the arse! 

On 10/20/2022 at 9:38 AM, Fitvip said:

I have been with Kah Tyres and Batteries Services at Lavender Street. Nice boss. Good prices.

Second that, lady boss auntie is nice and getting old, so sometimes memory not so good already 😅

Need to remind her who are you. 

The tyre chaps also friendly and do their job well. 

1 hour ago, Mkl22 said:

its like that.
last time my tyre shop. the boss handle my rims for me, he put on the machine no sound 1. he make sure the tyre come into contact with the machine first.

When his worker handle. he just put the rim onto the machine at once. every time u can hear the metal banging sound very loud.........

2 hours ago, Blueray said:

yes, free rotation too.

Didn't know got biscuits there. Coffee I know have. But I not a fan of coffee machine coffee. Only thing I remember is I got a bad stomach when I reach there n I'm glad they have bidet haha. 

12 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

Isn't it the same for all businesses that cost goes up?

Any recommendations for most competent tire shop? Looking for Pirellis  

Have only encountered once (at Bridgestone’s own outlet) where tire was correctly aligned and mounted, and lug nuts were installed with a torque wrench. It was a Japanese guy who did the job. Sadly, that place is gone I think. 

Many other tire shops aren’t even aware what the red and yellow marks on a new tire are for. 

Appreciate any recommendations of professional shops. Many thanks!

My current tyres are Yokohama Bluearth ES32 and size is 215/60R16.

About time to change and price from Autobacs is $688.

Are there equivalent brands or better value for money ones?

1 hour ago, Albeniz said:

172 IS Not cheap.
At this price i would rather take michelin or B.S

2 hours ago, Albeniz said:

Don't be shocked at the price.

If you not put off by the price do your research and then realise we have been way overpaying for tyres.

https://www.mycarforum.com/marketplace/info-178995/?module=main

On 10/16/2022 at 4:18 PM, Gnahp said:

maybe I should list out my preferences

- don't need free patching

- don't need free wheel rotation

- don't need to be the cheapest in town

- handle my car and wheels with care

- do a good wheel balancing job

- not over tightening the wheel bolts

- most importantly, don't say the followings to me

"boss, your wheel is warp"

"boss, your tyres eat one side, need wheel alignment"

"boss, your wheel has hairline crack"

This is funny. My recent tyre change did resulted in having comments like slightly warped wheels and rust in the rims.

I thought stock rims for Honda City should be some kind of alloy and not steel rims, how to have rust?

On 4/4/2023 at 4:36 PM, Daniu82 said:

Any lobang for 225/50 R18 comfort tyres like Michelin Primacy 4? 

I replaced 2 pc GY EG at soon huat at about 170ish each. R17. They replaced my own tpms (4 tyres) without additional charges.

Edited by Volvobrick