SPH kenna from LWL

Jellandross

The family spat has made the NZ papers...

For what it's worth (which isn't much) 

My personal opinion is in sympathy with LWL. 

Not wanting to comment on the quality of her writing, or the treatment from SPH (too much of a minefield and it would take to long to lay out a reasoned post)

But in my mind - "Ground up Effort" in relation to Singapore, to me, has always been a "dog whistle" for PA led efforts / arrangements of what should be done.  And I have seen first hand how the separation between what the PAP wants and what the PA does works at the grass roots level.

In my mind, and in my likely biased opinion, for LHL to throw up his hands and disclaim all responsibility for the lionisation and worship of LKY is a bit of an eye roller.

Last year, when the comemmorisations were ongoing - the way that LKY's leadership was communicated to my kindergarten daughter already made me very uncomfortable from an "indoctrination"  (read North Korea-esque) viewpoint.  At the time, sensitivity and also a realisation that my viewpoint and standards are different kept me quiet.  

And I'm still not going to comment on what should and should not be done -

My only thoughts would be

1. LKY was very specific on his wishes, which were much more in line with the "Churchill" way of remembering than the China one

2. What LWL is saying sounds very much in line with my understanding of what LKY said

3. The PAP has a very vested interest in having the populace remember and revere LKY, and the consequent linking between LKY, his success and the PAP is not going to do them any harm whatsoever.

(and as a footnote - I wonder how much of the last election result had to do with a wish to honour LKY?  I'm not sure how you'd test such a hypothesis, but it would sure make an interesting topic for a doctoral thesis)  

nice summary shaggger....

Why can't she just do her own thing and not meddling with how the country wants to commemorate her father's passing.

She should know that no matter what the old man wishes, being the founding prime minister and all the work that he had done over the past 50 years, LKY can never have a private life be it alive or after his passing.

Imagine if we, as a country, just let the anniversary past as just any ordinary day, you think what the mass media of the world will say. It will be a PR disaster as a country.

Personally, I find the commemoration ceremony all over the island simple and solemn. Don't understand what's the problem?   

From what I understand - 

LWL feels that LHL is encouraging the memorials - something that as a filial son he shouldn't be doing as it goes against LKY wishes.  

She seems to believe that he is giving things the imprimature of support as he sees benefit to the PAP or his personal standing from having LKY remembered this way.

Execute Order @Staff69

nb i damn selective 1 ok

plus she not my errrrr.....manly cup of tea

can refer to radx. he anything also take 1

post-131345-0-83617800-1460350815.jpg

Edited by Staff69

nb i damn selective 1 ok

plus she not my errrrr.....manly cup of tea

can refer to radx. he anything also take 1

lol unintentional.

HO Ching

1 hr · 

Peace, folks, and embarrassed apologies from this Twitter newbie.

Had been playing around with Twitter y'day, trying out different buttons, seeing what can or cannot be done.

Discovered Twitter reposts pictures without captions, and unfortunately one of the pictures could be misunderstood on its own.

Took down as soon as a friend alerted me.

There are enough troubles in the world. Far from adding oil to fires, I would prefer we try to solve and resolve problems, among friends, within families and between neighbours.

We grieve in different ways, and should leave space for each of us to come to terms with our loss.

Grieving is especially hard when tears come at unexpected moments.

I respect and deeply appreciate the many heartfelt commemorations, and understand those who prefer a more stoic approach.

Hopefully, the passage of time will help heal.

Many thanks too for all the kind wishes, sound advice and generous thoughts.

Take care, all, and have a good week and year ahead.

lol unintentional.

seriously, if this were xiaxue, xiaxuay or @joseph22, i would believe, but her?? sorry hor :grin:  :grin:

you dont believe???..............you dont believe???..............you dont believe???...............NAH............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

post-59158-0-73454200-1460295267_thumb.p

wat to do, when horizontal, i still hav e to do the embalming leh...if not how? throw in sea?? [scholar]

You forget to be menly ! Throw in sea_____ fill in the blank .

hmmm won't the post have something like "via twitter"?

I thought twitter is only words only lol. i didn't know got images.

hmmm won't the post have something like "via twitter"?

I thought twitter is only words only lol. i didn't know got images.

wa...din know you old fart too...hahha

yes, twitter has images

you dont believe???..............you dont believe???..............you dont believe???...............NAH............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

post-59158-0-73454200-1460295267_thumb.p

might as well say somebod posted from downstairs using SINGHELL network

She and LHY want to honour LKY's wishes to have the house demolished if she is no longer living there.  If not demolished, only opened to family members.  LKY was very clear about that.

But LHL set up a committee to decide what to do with the house.

She is probably dulan that LHL bo chi as a PM to just go ahead and demolish  but left open the possibility that hundreds of thousands of people may eventually be trooping through the house and gawking at LKY's and his wife's possessions.  

She wants to follow her father's wishes to the letter.  LHL wants to do with is right for Singapore and Singaporeans.  So, fight lah!

To me, old man's wishes were clear enough, so dunno why must set up committee ... really boh ji.

Anyways, me not a Lee ... so I just  :a-popcorn:

To me, old man's wishes were clear enough, so dunno why must set up committee ... really boh ji.

Anyways, me not a Lee ... so I just  :a-popcorn:

yea, you just a BLUE-porn freak... :XD:

I think its very difficult to be a leader of a nation, a sibling and a son of the late founding father.

there is a difference in what the grassroot or nation wants, what the family wants and what LKY himself wants.

But once the integrity of the PM is in question, he has no choice but to back his position; family or not. (if LWL is not family family, lawyer letters would have gone out.) 

But lets give them some space for what I see as a family dispute.

be more human and see them as such.

According to ST associate editor Ivan Fernandez, Dr Lee insisted on publishing a version of her article that contained significant sections of tex were plagiarised.  The evidence presented by Ivan Fernandez looks compelling. 

http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/why-dr-lees-column-was-not-published

if LWL simply stated these examples as quotes from source, would it avoid the plagiarism issue?

rather than I think the angle of passing it off as original thought..

rewording it would have been acceptable.

I think its very difficult to be a leader of a nation, a sibling and a son of the late founding father.

there is a difference in what the grassroot or nation wants, what the family wants and what LKY himself wants.

But once the integrity of the PM is in question, he has no choice but to back his position; family or not. (if LWL is not family family, lawyer letters would have gone out.) 

But lets give them some space for what I see as a family dispute.

be more human and see them as such.

nicely said and i concur fully.  2 hats being worn here by LHL

She should be very grateful to her elder brother. Without him, who is she?

are you insinuating cronyism  ?