SPH kenna from LWL

Jellandross

I can't help but think of something I read in a Stephen King book long ago ---

(paraphrasing) 

The reasonable man adapts to the world around him, while the unreasonable man expects the world to adapt to him. 

All the great changes in the world have been brought about by unreasonable men. 

That quote seems to be most commonly attribute to George Bernard Shaw. Misattribution is just a shade less objectionable than outright plagiarism. [laugh]

Although I will concede that Stephen King had some great quotes like "REDRUM!!!" [laugh]

Seriously, he did say some profound things. Most notably, his introspective passages from The Body (the novella Stand By Me was based on); this is my especial favourite:

“The most important things are the hardest to say. They are the things you get ashamed of, because words diminish them -- words shrink things that seemed limitless when they were in your head to no more than living size when they're brought out. But it's more than that, isn't it? The most important things lie too close to wherever your secret heart is buried, like landmarks to a treasure your enemies would love to steal away. And you may make revelations that cost you dearly only to have people look at you in a funny way, not understanding what you've said at all, or why you thought it was so important that you almost cried while you were saying it. That's the worst, I think. When the secret stays locked within not for want of a teller but for want of an understanding ear.”

She seems to believe that he is giving things the imprimature of support as he sees benefit to the PAP or his personal standing from having LKY remembered this way.

Brilliant word, but please spell it correctly. :D

Seriously tianmo sounds like a pap ib

Although he maintains that he is an opp supporter

That quote seems to be most commonly attribute to George Bernard Shaw. Misattribution is just a shade less objectionable than outright plagiarism. [laugh]

Although I will concede that Stephen King had some great quotes like "REDRUM!!!" [laugh]

Seriously, he did say some profound things. Most notably, his introspective passages from The Body (the novella Stand By Me was based on); this is my especial favourite:

Haha...trust you to call me out on it...yeah, I know that the character (was the fat kid in The Stand) was quoting someone else...but I couldn't be arsed looking it up.

Anyway..King is now being billed as the next great American classic.

A great read is "full dark, no stars" (I think title is correct)....damb morbid.

And yes Redrum was my first king book.

Brilliant word, but please spell it correctly. :D

@Tianmo himself is sibei cuntfused. :D

He's the sort of "oppo supporter" that makes the oppo say "Mai lah, better you donch sarpork!" [laugh]

B lardy shot. ..must you highlight my laziness? ..

Now, even my family talks abt it ... and they don't even follow gossip political news ...

Shows how much this news has expanded ...

Hopefully nothing worse come out of this ... for LKY would be mad if his children quarrel over these in the open ...

~peace~

now its 2 powerful against a helpless one ... TVB interest in the script bo ?  :grin:

LWL is not someone you would consider as helpless lor [laugh] [laugh]

I beg to differ.

Her clout stems from being the daughter of lky. Now that lky is gone, she's resorting to posting on Facebook to complain about being oppressed.

lol unintentional.

Hahahaha. Please.  [rolleyes]

Worst excuse ever.

LWL is obviously upset with the full media coverage of the commemoration event whereby erasers were put together to form LKY's image and all that is going around the island. LWL being the primary care giver during her late father last days probably reinforce her believe on how LKY himself wants to be remembered after his passing. 

PR disaster or not, I don't know. I would tend to think that LKY would probably wants Singaporeans to remember him by looking around Singapore rather than to have any special event dedicated to him.

I sympathizes with LHL's position, a Son, a brother and the PM. As much as PAP denies that LKY's passing has any impact on the GE result, I do feel it has soften some of the hard line anti-pap citizens a fair bit, specially those hovering on the border. If LHL does exactly who his late father has instructed, Singaporeans will find him heartless just like his father. It will not go down well for him politically. He loosen too much, which is the case now, he gets pie on his face by his sibling for not fulfilling their late father's wishes. Difficult and delicate to balance all three roles.

LWL has always been direct and no nonsense (just like her father) although in this instance she is overly harsh with her 'dishonorable' son claim. It would be interesting to see how LHL navigate this issue. To be honest, I am disappointed that he decided to have a post on social media. It seems to be he is interested join in the party of washing dirty linen in public. I would be more impressed with LHL if he managed to sort out with LWL privately and get her to retract her statement on her own accord. My feeling is that, if you can't even manage family differences, how are you going to manage the country?

Now, it is like a no-holds-barred spar between the two. 

I don't think LWL will ever retract her statement no matter what LHL says. This is no simple family dispute.

Govt stance has always been to defend themselves first to state their official position. To keep quiet is to silently agree with the claims.

A thought exercise for those that are saying they feel sorry for LHL as he has to wear "two hats" or that he is being put into a position of having to balance national interest and personal wishes...

What would you think if he did something similar to the below... 

My Fellow Singaporeans, 

The first anniversary of my late father is approaching.  As a son this is an extremely difficult time for me - remembering with great pride, as any son does, the achievements of a father.  His passing has left a large void for me.  I miss him not only as any son does a father, but also on a more professional level I miss him as a mentor, I miss his guidance and strategic thinking and I miss the insight he brings to many issues. 

As a Singaporean I want to thank him for bringing us forward to where we are today, and I fully understand the wish that many have to pay their respects through public ceremonies.  My role as a son conflicts directly with this - Papa was very clear and straightforward that he didn't want a cult of personality to arise around him, not that time and resources should be spent in his honour - preferring that we should place resources into moving forward, not looking back. 

With my role as a filial son being so diametrically opposed to following the wishes of my constituents, and as this is an issue of conscience that has no direct impact on the governing of Singapore, I am recusing myself all discussions regarding what should, or should not be done in memorialistion of our founding Prime Minister, Mr. Lee Kuan Yew - a government committee has been set-up to discuss the issue, and they will be announcing the appropriate decision from the standpoint of the Government of Singapore. 

In the meantime, and while they are undertaking their deliberations, as a family we will be taking our own private time to reflect on the passing of Papa, and we will be remembering and paying our respects in a manner that suits us as individuals.  I request that all of Singapore allows me, my siblings and our families the space to mourn the passing of a dearly loved father as we see fit.  

You should do PR for our Ministars. A lot of them really lacking in such skills. Always anyhow talk.  [cool]

Anyway I doubt he is in agreement with the second paragraph. As someone (you?) have mentioned, having the public remembering LKY is advantageous to his party. Don't be surprise if he's willing to play this political long game at the expense of his father's own wishes.

He is saying that Singaporeans should give the opposition a chance to develop (not PAP give chance la....)

As to why Singaporeans should encourage opposition, this parable is quite apt (note, not written by me ah - don't say what plagiarize this or that )

Cool story bro.  [cool]

"REDRUM"

"REDRUM"

"REDRUM" 

pai sei ... got carried away ...

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy 

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy   [smash]

I must correct this................you are totally wrong...........never in my present in MCF have I ever mention that i am a opp supporter............you can go check as far back as possible.........and if you can find one that i ever mention ..................you get a free meal from me............but of course not something that cost $700k hor.............

i have never mention that I am a PAP supporter either....................what I do always mention is..................I am a supporter to whoever give me the best deal..............and the best logical deal...........

so even if you want to name me as a PAP IB.........i dont even mind ...........but dont put words into my mouth lah..............

So serious ah nabshot

I must correct this................you are totally wrong...........never in my present in MCF have I ever mention that i am a opp supporter............you can go check as far back as possible.........and if you can find one that i ever mention ..................you get a free meal from me............but of course not something that cost $700k hor.............

i have never mention that I am a PAP supporter either....................what I do always mention is..................I am a supporter to whoever give me the best deal..............and the best logical deal...........

so even if you want to name me as a PAP IB.........i dont even mind ...........but dont put words into my mouth lah..............

Ok ok no need to get upset. I am not about to search through the whole forum trying to find one post. 我错了。请原谅。

You support any party that provides the best and most logical deal which happens to be miw for the last 50 years.

Ok ok no need to get upset. I am not about to search through the whole forum trying to find one post. 我错了。请原谅。

You support any party that provides the best and most logical deal which happens to be miw for the last 50 years.

Oh No, Turboflat4 has now a competitor. The best deal in town.

Can you imagine each time Tianmo drive past us with police escort, we are made to salute and stand attention?

Please Tianmo, no need to continue the good work of postings all your nightly activity including leopard crawl on facebook.

Anyone else please take a queue number.

Tianmo bro, take it easy, I think fellow MCF was just joking with you and probably miss you because you are not posting enough and wanting a response from you.

Especially sex deal. :D

Most definitely so since tianmo is the leader of mcf tiko rangers