Pentux 1st Gear April 13, 2016 Author Share April 13, 2016 Can say which road going in which direction and turning where? No video very difficult to visualise what happened. woodlands st 81, from cc turning in to next right turn. anyway called up insurance company...this kind of case very common and i not sure how much % they are claiming liability for. my insurance co currently does not want to back down from their current settlement and the other party lawyer dont want to accept. so continue to fight until case close lo. maybe will take 1 whole year if the other side lawyer GL and dont want to settle. currently claiming me for $7k whiplash. this idiot really makes my blood boil! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endurance201 2nd Gear April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 (edited) Some background of the incident. On a single lane road, i have signalled to turn right but my car was more to the left hand of the single land road and when i turned right, the car behind me banged into the right hand front bumper. my insurance company took very long and case not settled yet after 6 months and now suddenly receive lawyer letter claiming whiplash injury. i know in the industry there are many such false claims of whiplash and not easy to fight back as they have certificate. anyone encounter such issues before? super duper angry my well known insurance company like accepting these claims without fighting. not sharing any video as the case is ongoing and not sure will jeopardise my unclosed case No worries la. I used to have a case that lasted from 2012 to 2015 and received 2 lawyer letter. Just hand the lawyer letter to your insurance company. Edited April 13, 2016 by Endurance201 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 no lah. choy! its the chain collision that happened last year. the claims only came 7 months later. and the whip lash was dated december or january or something. which makes me suspect how a whiplash could come only a few months later. a few days... yes. a few weeks, stretching it. a few months?!? yes. the insurers settled. brought the amount down to a reasonable few thousand. but i am still gonna be loaded for the next renewal due to this. which makes it so frustrating. Whiplash can come after months. There was a case claimed whiplash around 1 year time frame. Hmm by the way singapore road so wide? Can overtake on the right on a single lane. Don't tell me LCK. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 Whiplash can come after months. There was a case claimed whiplash around 1 year time frame. Hmm by the way singapore road so wide? Can overtake on the right on a single lane. Don't tell me LCK. Haha Quite alot of single lane roads are very wide. Can have 2 cars side by side. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 Singapore road lanes are relatively wide for a tiny island. If you go UK and Japan, you'll see the huge difference. Whiplash can come after months. There was a case claimed whiplash around 1 year time frame.Hmm by the way singapore road so wide? Can overtake on the right on a single lane. Don't tell me LCK. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 Some background of the incident. On a single lane road, i have signalled to turn right but my car was more to the left hand of the single land road and when i turned right, the car behind me banged into the right hand front bumper. my insurance company took very long and case not settled yet after 6 months and now suddenly receive lawyer letter claiming whiplash injury. i know in the industry there are many such false claims of whiplash and not easy to fight back as they have certificate. anyone encounter such issues before? super duper angry my well known insurance company like accepting these claims without fighting. not sharing any video as the case is ongoing and not sure will jeopardise my unclosed case TS very simple lah. Since you are the car in front and he hit you in the back. Just go doctor and claim you have whiplash lah and claim against him. Btw the car behind you is at fault. He should have stopped instead of knocking into you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyruga 1st Gear April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 (edited) Last time I bang into a taxi which was parked at the side of road. Both cars cui and I used my insurance excess $500 at that time.The insurer told me I am responsible for his damages as it was a hit from behind. Bo bian lor...so claim insurance. Driver also claim Whiplash against me + 7 days cannot work. Damage over $10000. But I didn't have to pay other than the excess $500. Next year, I change insurer....only $100 more ex. Then I change again. Now my insurance $800 per year. Edited April 13, 2016 by Hyruga Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bacteria83 Turbocharged April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 I also involved in an accident last yr. Whiplash 14k for a small knock. Whatever is it I'm at fault for that accident. I'm willing settle private but that person demand 4k for private. I'm unwilling to pay so much cause my workshop said ask him to come over less than 500 settle for me. Now the claim close to 30k. Still fighting out in court. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 (edited) Some background of the incident. On a single lane road, i have signalled to turn right but my car was more to the left hand of the single land road and when i turned right, the car behind me banged into the right hand front bumper. my insurance company took very long and case not settled yet after 6 months and now suddenly receive lawyer letter claiming whiplash injury. i know in the industry there are many such false claims of whiplash and not easy to fight back as they have certificate. anyone encounter such issues before? super duper angry my well known insurance company like accepting these claims without fighting. not sharing any video as the case is ongoing and not sure will jeopardise my unclosed case let your insurer handle. I knocked into a taxi when he jam braked on lane 1 on expressway. Initially said no injuries. A few days later also no injuries. Then a few months later, a 14k claim came and the insurer paid him... also received a letter from TP because he had mc more than 3 days so I went down to make a report in a police post. In the end, i lost my ncd and received a warning letter for dangerous driving when the driver stopped the car in the middle of lane 1... but no fine and no demerit points and no injuries to my passenger or myself. BTW, i received a lot of letters from my insurer as they kept fighting the case. think the claim was subsequently reduced to 10k. Edited April 14, 2016 by Fishy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 actually all this is in part caused by workshops and ambulance chasing law firms. people are just taking advantage of the system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentux 1st Gear April 14, 2016 Author Share April 14, 2016 let your insurer handle. I knocked into a taxi when he jam braked on lane 1 on expressway. Initially said no injuries. A few days later also no injuries. Then a few months later, a 14k claim came and the insurer paid him... also received a letter from TP because he had mc more than 3 days so I went down to make a report in a police post. In the end, i lost my ncd and received a warning letter for dangerous driving when the driver stopped the car in the middle of lane 1... but no fine and no demerit points and no injuries to my passenger or myself. BTW, i received a lot of letters from my insurer as they kept fighting the case. think the claim was subsequently reduced to 10k. poor thing. taxi jam brake for no reason. did u have any video evidence? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 let your insurer handle. I knocked into a taxi when he jam braked on lane 1 on expressway. Initially said no injuries. A few days later also no injuries. Then a few months later, a 14k claim came and the insurer paid him... also received a letter from TP because he had mc more than 3 days so I went down to make a report in a police post. In the end, i lost my ncd and received a warning letter for dangerous driving when the driver stopped the car in the middle of lane 1... but no fine and no demerit points and no injuries to my passenger or myself. BTW, i received a lot of letters from my insurer as they kept fighting the case. think the claim was subsequently reduced to 10k. yeah ... once was on Lane 1 and a red taxi jam brake when he saw me coming up ... think he just trying to pull a fast one and get 5 days MC and claim whiplash etc ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyruga 1st Gear April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 yeah ... once was on Lane 1 and a red taxi jam brake when he saw me coming up ... think he just trying to pull a fast one and get 5 days MC and claim whiplash etc ... Come to think of it. Last time, the taxi driver also maybe purposely ebrake to claim insurance from me. Whiplash. 7 years ago. But bobian. I wasn't paying close attention so didn't know whether the taxi was purposely ebraking or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 (edited) poor thing. taxi jam brake for no reason. did u have any video evidence? Video evidence also no use. Cuz he could have jam brake for any reason. Could be a small rat on the road also can. That is why got to keep a safe distance and be alert at all times. It is the responsibility of the car at the back to keep a safe distance and ensure he has enough time to stop if the car infront jam brake. Only time when you rear end someone and got chance of not getting 100% of the blame is when you got video evidence that the person cut into your lane and jam brake so you don't even have time to keep a safe distance. Edited April 14, 2016 by Nzy 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 poor thing. taxi jam brake for no reason. did u have any video evidence? that time no blackvue... according to taxi, there was road work on lane 2 so someone cut his lane into lane 1 so he brake to avoid crashing into him... yeah ... once was on Lane 1 and a red taxi jam brake when he saw me coming up ... think he just trying to pull a fast one and get 5 days MC and claim whiplash etc ... best part was i received the letter to make a report to police on CNY eve... so imagine me hastily finish my reunion dinner then went to police post... no mood to eat the dinner. even the policeman on duty asked if i had finished my reunion dinner... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 15, 2016 Share April 15, 2016 Dunnoe if it is true, but hear from kopitiam rumours that some Taxi drivers purposely induce rear end accidents to go on paid holiday vacations yearly. since they are only one of the few vocations that can claim lost of income from the accident, they will purposely induce such accident so that during the downtime for repair, they will go for their preplanned overseas holidays. Devious, anyone can verify? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged April 15, 2016 Share April 15, 2016 Dunnoe if it is true, but hear from kopitiam rumours that some Taxi drivers purposely induce rear end accidents to go on paid holiday vacations yearly. since they are only one of the few vocations that can claim lost of income from the accident, they will purposely induce such accident so that during the downtime for repair, they will go for their preplanned overseas holidays. Devious, anyone can verify? I doubt they do it on purpose. Don't think they will want to risk injury by doing it intentionally. But probably will take the chance to get free holiday if it is given to them by the tailgaters. Anyway, their plan won't work if everyone keeps a safe distance. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 15, 2016 Share April 15, 2016 I doubt they do it on purpose. Don't think they will want to risk injury by doing it intentionally. But probably will take the chance to get free holiday if it is given to them by the tailgaters. Anyway, their plan won't work if everyone keeps a safe distance. Not saying it is true or not but there are a few things that can make it more palatable: - when you are the one planning for the accident, you can always brace yourself before impact, choose the right speed and target. that way risk of injury is minimal. - their plan will not work if everyone keeps a safe distance...agree...but based on the number of accidents happening on our roads, that will be utopian scenario. At most if 1st attempt don't work, try it on the next stretch of the road till they hit jackpot. they are on the road all the time...lots of time and opportunity to try ..if they are not hidding in rws. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...