Nissan QashQai 2014 Part 2

Yes, that's exactly right. I was advised last time for the previous car that aircon should be off before car is switched off / switched on, so I had that habit of switching the aircon off before I switched off the engine for the QQ as well.

For the moving off, if there is a split second delay, is that cause enough to install ethrottle, assuming ethrottle fixes that issue? I was scared s***tless when I tried to do a u-turn and the car wasn't behaving how I expected it to (oncoming bus, yikes!)

For a new car, what's the acceptable RPM if trying to do a fast take off? I think I tried close to 4000RPM and even then, it felt sluggish.

U can press the a/c button to shut down the compressor instead of turning off the whole ac system.

If your delay in moving off last 2~3secs, stepping harder also cannot move during this instant, then ur ride may be affect by power loss. Go back to TC if this is the case.

Flooring acc immediately won't get this fat car shooting off, u need to gradually feel the "biting" point first before stepping harder.

Sorry, regarding this, since there is actual drilling involved, would TC call this an unauthorised mod? I'm sure many have done it, and brought back to TC with no issue, just that if one day they want to enforce "the rules", do they have the "legal grounds" (for lack of a better term) to do so?

Hi Obsuresg.

What is authorised mod ??

Changing tyres, sport rims etc. would also be unauthorised mod if not done by them ?? For sure, there may be argumentation that with either too light or too heavy loading due to non stock rim or tyre, bearing is to be void of warranty ?  Sure got possibility but would they enforce ... not likely but sure that can "legally" do so but there are industry trend and expectation that would ensure that this is unlikely.

For such bumper screwing, drilling etc., what can be their concern or our concerns ... frankly none I can think of none.

Last word on such concern .... scare dun mod and keep to stock ... mod dun scare within reasonableness .... and acceptable risk.

Cheers.

Richard

PS:  Dun expect any written or response from TC on any exception e.g. ethrottle, rim, tyres etc.

The one I bought doesn't automatically turn on/off but it has an on/off switch. Similar to this

http://s.aliexpress.com/e2eAB32y

Rpm works intermittently in my case, sometimes totally no feedback.

Hi Mred1-2,

Thanks and yes, aware of such on/off switch type but still looking for any with auto shutdown when there is no activities and none found as yet.

Cheers,

Richard

Walaoe... You say until Freepower CMI.... Mine so far so good hor!!!

Hi Mh23,

Oh no ... did not say Freepower CMI lah ... just stating the fact that there were 3 bros out of about 40 bros with Freepower with quality issues on unit and harness ... it is up to bros to review but yes, I do stand by pivot drive cos personal experience for 2 cars with zero issue after 8.5 years each and now with one of the unit running in the 1.2L dig-t for almost 9 months ... swee swee.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Obsuresg.

Changing tyres, sport rims etc. would also be unauthorised mod if not done by them ?? For sure, there may be argumentation that with either too light or too heavy loading due to non stock rim or tyre, bearing is to be void of warranty ? Sure got possibility but would they enforce ... not likely but sure that can "legally" do so but there are industry trend and expectation that would ensure that this is unlikely.

For such bumper screwing, drilling etc., what can be their concern or our concerns ... frankly none I can think of none.

Last word on such concern .... scare dun mod and keep to stock ... mod dun scare within reasonableness .... and acceptable risk.

Cheers.

Richard

PS: Dun expect any written or response from TC on any exception e.g. ethrottle, rim, tyres etc.

Hi Mred1-2,

Thanks and yes, aware of such on/off switch type but still looking for any with auto shutdown when there is no activities and none found as yet.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Mh23,

Oh no ... did not say Freepower CMI lah ... just stating the fact that there were 3 bros out of about 40 bros with Freepower with quality issues on unit and harness ... it is up to bros to review but yes, I do stand by pivot drive cos personal experience for 2 cars with zero issue after 8.5 years each and now with one of the unit running in the 1.2L dig-t for almost 9 months ... swee swee.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard,

Use pivot drive will reduce FC or not ar?

Hi Obsuresg.

Changing tyres, sport rims etc. would also be unauthorised mod if not done by them ?? For sure, there may be argumentation that with either too light or too heavy loading due to non stock rim or tyre, bearing is to be void of warranty ?  Sure got possibility but would they enforce ... not likely but sure that can "legally" do so but there are industry trend and expectation that would ensure that this is unlikely.

Cheers.

Richard

PS:  Dun expect any written or response from TC on any exception e.g. ethrottle, rim, tyres etc.

Hi Mred1-2,

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Mh23,

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard (Lao Da)

Ok ok I confess, I was one of those 3 bros who encountered some "issues" with Freepower.  To be honest, I am until today missing those "good old days" when I had my FP as I do really really missed the smooth take-off which I enjoyed when I had it on inside my QQ.

My personal view (not scientific in any way and only the view of a "farmer") is that I had a unit which had some problems and coupled with our "sensitive" car, the problems happened.  To be fair, the supplier was willing to help me address me problems but I had to make the tough decision to forgo my dearly loved FP as I travel to M'sia often and didn't wanna risk having car problems while overseas.  If you ask me (again, I qualify that I am no engineer or scientist...just a simple farmer) I still think FP is fine.  Statistically, like you said, 37 out of 40 in our group (and I'm sure in the end there were more than 40) installed and only myself and 2 other bros had some issues, so I wouldn't go so far to say that FP "CMI".

Anyway, maybe you are lucky lor, maybe there are others with Pivot facing problems who have not made it known or are not in this forum...haha.  Life is like that one la... you win some, you lose some...

Meemee,

U r adding more dosages to his poisons.

At least after run in period to notice the after effect. Also to monitor new car for any abnormality before mod.

Thank you, Meemee and Mred1-2

I was also thinking about run-in the engine before installation of strut bar and RC. This way I may get to "enjoy" the difference of "before and after"

Any recommendations of brands/models and workshops is appreciated.  

now got a 1.2 LITE version...

Lite is basic model,

*For lite version:*

Don't have these items, advice from SE

x GPS

x Extended warranty

x Leather seats

x Rear silver bumper

x Glossy black power window trimming

Lite is basic model,

x GPS

x Extended warranty

x Leather seats

x Rear silver bumper

You could source these things on your own and get them below $3k i suppose.

Spend 3k on better quality

@obscuresg,

It's the way we drive and the characteristics of a new gen car.....

I guess both of us could be heavy footed, which more or less, were effected when we stepped a little harder in certain circumstances thinking that it will get out of the situation fast, i.e. U turn, right turn or first one to move off the traffic light.

With this baby, you will need to tap tap to move off, then gradually increase pressure.  Steping harder on the pedal in the initial 3 seconds will not make the car move off faster.

That said, the "power loss" will gradually decrease to a lag after running more than 5Km.  So bear with it in the mean time.  And also, turn off your auto start stop for the time being.

Like 1 bro said( seldom see him post now), when you drive a Turbo car, you will need to drive with anticipation.  

Enjoy!

Hi Richard,

Use pivot drive will reduce FC or not ar?

Hi Mark,

Theoretically yes but power and response are addictive and never enuff.

You will end up about the same but will better response when you need it. If you are not heavy footed but was initially so because you tried to improve, you should improve FC. You leg cannot be more sensitive and controlled than the electronics but best part is that you can set the sensitivity.

When travelling on nshway, I just set to max for best response for safety and forget about FC.

Cheers.

Richard

@obscuresg,

It's the way we drive and the characteristics of a new gen car.....

I guess both of us could be heavy footed, which more or less, were effected when we stepped a little harder in certain circumstances thinking that it will get out of the situation fast, i.e. U turn, right turn or first one to move off the traffic light.

With this baby, you will need to tap tap to move off, then gradually increase pressure. Steping harder on the pedal in the initial 3 seconds will not make the car move off faster.

That said, the "power loss" will gradually decrease to a lag after running more than 5Km. So bear with it in the mean time. And also, turn off your auto start stop for the time being.

Like 1 bro said( seldom see him post now), when you drive a Turbo car, you will need to drive with anticipation.

Enjoy!

Hi Candilious,

Don't mixed up the lag and power loss issues.

If power loss happens when moving off, car only crawls for a few secs no matter how hard u step acc, release/step again on acc also no use.

Lite is basic model,

x GPS

x Extended warranty

x Leather seats

x Rear silver bumper

Go for lite basic model, then add back one by one as freebies.

Can forget abt the gps if it's the same Zestech HU. Glossy trim only attracts finger prints marks.

Hi Candilious,

Don't mixed up the lag and power loss issues.

If power loss happens when moving off, car only crawls for a few secs no matter how hard u step acc, release/step again on acc also no use.

yup yes, I know the diff with power loss n lag. Had my fair share n shock during that time. Not teaching obscuresg how to deal with power loss, but rather telling him/her how he/she should be driving this car. Stepping hard on accelerator does not feed power to the engine, rather, during initial move off, he/she should be using the roll, tap, release, then press method. Like I said in my earlier post, TC should guve crash course on how to drive this beauty. I did find this method quite useful, although, at times, I'm still pressing hard in the pedal to chiong when lights turn green. Old habits die hard, been driving for 20 years liao.

Thanks for the advice. I'm a he btw. Hehe. Yeah I've discovered I need to change the way I drive. I got a pivot installed today and find that it makes the qq respond a bit better. The guy who installed it said I won't see a significant increase until I've broken the car in. Like you said, 5km.

I'm always nervous about voiding the warranty as you can see from my posts. But I thought this is an essential add on. Having said that, is it necessary to dismantle the pivot when bringing in for servicing? Including removing the harness? Advice please bros. thanks.

My FC was actually better during run-in period due to a lighter foot.

U can try using the Fuel Economy 2 display as a reference to understand how ur vehicle behaves. When u release acc, fc bar goes max, and cruising at constant speed, the bar will hovers around 20+km/L.

U can also try using cruise control if traffic situations allow.

I notice that fc is worse when on cruise. Think the reason is the engine brake cuts in when the speed goes above the cruise setting. This is usually when I'm going on a up slope which causes the cruise control to accelerate and the engine brake cuts in when going downhill.

Whereas we will normally just ease of the accelerator when we want to ease on the speed going downhill.

I notice that fc is worse when on cruise. Think the reason is the engine brake cuts in when the speed goes above the cruise setting. This is usually when I'm going on a up slope which causes the cruise control to accelerate and the engine brake cuts in when going downhill.

Whereas we will normally just ease of the accelerator when we want to ease on the speed going downhill.

Bros ..cruise control to save fuel ??

Dangerous and not safe de ......

Off the aircon if indeed FC is the top concern ....

Cheers.

Richard

Thanks for the advice. I'm a he btw. Hehe. Yeah I've discovered I need to change the way I drive. I got a pivot installed today and find that it makes the qq respond a bit better. The guy who installed it said I won't see a significant increase until I've broken the car in. Like you said, 5km.

I'm always nervous about voiding the warranty as you can see from my posts. But I thought this is an essential add on. Having said that, is it necessary to dismantle the pivot when bringing in for servicing? Including removing the harness? Advice please bros. thanks.

Hi Obsuresg,

No need to remove ethrottle for servicing and does not void warranty.

Cheers.

Richard