New car scratched by sickos

Friendstar

According to the police who told me during my case,

1 car = mischief = civil case

Multiple cars + "some other factors" = vandalism = DPP case

Great law!

So next time we find our car vandalized, immediately vandalize the cars beside, then we have a case?

U get 2 civil case. One against you. Lol.

People who scratch cars are mentally disturb n have screw loose. They not stupid enough to steal random objests

This one fake right? I thought there was a picture of the owner's wife/gf painting it for fun cuz he going to respray.

No idea. Fake vandalism on own car = no caning  [;)]

Would like to ask for advice:

What happens if we catch the culprit? Report him/her to police? Does police even care? What other alternatives to stop them? Thanks!

post-52704-0-44528800-1495638703_thumb.jpg

According to the police who told me during my case,

1 car = mischief = civil case

Multiple cars + "some other factors" = vandalism = DPP case

Multiple "peasants" cars = still no case lar

Most important factor :

"Some other factors" = people who are elites, or got "guan-xi" with elites = vandalism = DPP case...

(that means their car are costlier as they pay more vehicle tax, and thus can activate the system to do their job)

LOL, you can chose to perform mischief on the culprit...

Just remember, don't vandalise the culprit can already...

Edited by Kingkong

fake one lah... windshield, brake lites, door handles... tyres and rims never kena....owner trying to have fun lah before spray paint.. want to bluff who...

Edited by Atomicman

Give the vandal two tight slaps... and deny slapping.

Either ask for private settlement or report to police lor. What else can one do legally? I also interested to know.

My Brother's car side mirrors kenna damaged by a guy in the middle of the night and we were informed when police came knocking at our doors saying the car is vandalised and culprit is caught. So the Inspecting Officer handling the case told us that the culprit requested for leniency and willing to pay for the damages incurred. So my brother let him go when he paid us in front of the inspecting officer as witness and case closed.

Edited by Buadongdong

Didn't know our police so efficient......... :D

Either ask for private settlement or report to police lor. What else can one do legally? I also interested to know.

My Brother's car side mirrors kenna damaged by a guy in the middle of the night and we were informed when police came knocking at our doors saying the car is vandalised and culprit is caught. So the Inspecting Officer handling the case told us that the culprit requested for leniency and willing to pay for the damages incurred. So my brother let him go when he paid us in front of the inspecting officer as witness and case closed.

Adrianli, bro you might like to know maybe they have finally paid attention and taking action now: 

Project engineer fined $3k for mischief

SINGAPORE - A project engineer who used his car key to scratch another car over a parking incident at The Grandstand mall was fined $3,000 on Thursday (May 25).

Wang Yong Jie, 32, admitted to committing mischief by scratching the right side of Mr Johnny Fang Hsiang Yoong's Suzuki Kizashi from back to front at the open space carpark at the Turf Club Road mall on March 6 last year.

Investigation showed that Mr Fang, 39, an IT service manager, was at the mall to have lunch with his wife and two children.

Upon reaching the carpark, he drove his car up a ramp to access the unsheltered carpark on Level 2.

Wang, who was driving directly in front of Mr Fang, made a wrong turn and ended up in the lane meant for oncoming vehicles.

Although Mr Fang was behind Wang, he made a turn into the correct lane and thus ended up overtaking the other driver. Meanwhile, Wang had to switch back to the correct lane.

Mr Fang then found a parking space. As he was parking his car, he noticed that Wang's car came very close and saw Wang glaring at him as he drove by.

Mr Fang thought this showed that Wang was unhappy with him for taking the parking spot, which probably would have been Wang's had he not made the wrong turn.

Wang subsequently used his car key to scratch the right side of Mr Fang's car, resulting in a long scratch mark. The in-vehicle camera captured him committing the act, which was accompanied by a loud scratching sound.

Mr Fang, who had since traded in his car, lodged a police report the next day.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Amanda Sum said the prosecution was not objecting to a fine in this case.

Wang's lawyer Jonathan Wong said his client regretted the offence which was not pre-meditated. He said his client's wife, who was in court, is expecting a second child.

District Judge Samuel Chua told Wang that had the prosecution not reduced the charge, he would have been looking at a much higher fine or imprisonment.

The maximum penalty for mischief is one year's jail and a fine.

Whoever commits mischief and causes loss or damage to the amount of $500 or upwards, shall be punished with up to two years, fined or both.

(Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/project-engineer-fined-3k-for-mischief )

Adrianli, bro you might like to know maybe they have finally paid attention and taking action now: 

Project engineer fined $3k for mischief

SINGAPORE - A project engineer who used his car key to scratch another car over a parking incident at The Grandstand mall was fined $3,000 on Thursday (May 25).

Wang Yong Jie, 32, admitted to committing mischief by scratching the right side of Mr Johnny Fang Hsiang Yoong's Suzuki Kizashi from back to front at the open space carpark at the Turf Club Road mall on March 6 last year.

Investigation showed that Mr Fang, 39, an IT service manager, was at the mall to have lunch with his wife and two children.

Upon reaching the carpark, he drove his car up a ramp to access the unsheltered carpark on Level 2.

Wang, who was driving directly in front of Mr Fang, made a wrong turn and ended up in the lane meant for oncoming vehicles.

Although Mr Fang was behind Wang, he made a turn into the correct lane and thus ended up overtaking the other driver. Meanwhile, Wang had to switch back to the correct lane.

Mr Fang then found a parking space. As he was parking his car, he noticed that Wang's car came very close and saw Wang glaring at him as he drove by.

Mr Fang thought this showed that Wang was unhappy with him for taking the parking spot, which probably would have been Wang's had he not made the wrong turn.

Wang subsequently used his car key to scratch the right side of Mr Fang's car, resulting in a long scratch mark. The in-vehicle camera captured him committing the act, which was accompanied by a loud scratching sound.

Mr Fang, who had since traded in his car, lodged a police report the next day.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Amanda Sum said the prosecution was not objecting to a fine in this case.

Wang's lawyer Jonathan Wong said his client regretted the offence which was not pre-meditated. He said his client's wife, who was in court, is expecting a second child.

District Judge Samuel Chua told Wang that had the prosecution not reduced the charge, he would have been looking at a much higher fine or imprisonment.

The maximum penalty for mischief is one year's jail and a fine.

Whoever commits mischief and causes loss or damage to the amount of $500 or upwards, shall be punished with up to two years, fined or both.

(Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/project-engineer-fined-3k-for-mischief )

Looks like they have woken up!!!

Really bitter-sweet news to many of the bros.

Bitter- folks like you

Sweet - victims who now have recourse provided got clear evidence e.g. video footage