Alfa 159 Part IX (Any Alfa discussion also welcomed)

G_mann

Prowerks is at level 5. Used them before, their head mechanic left so stopped going there

oops my bad... i tink know lvl 3 first corner beside a cleaning shop

Well if the problem is hidden like clutch and all, I have no issue. The problem is the coolant is already leaking, the engine check light is already on. The catch tray is filled with oil stains. I believed in AS after reading this forum and I followed blindly. I saw the engine check light on and I ask the owner, she say it has been there since day1 and she been driving it. I go ask AS, they say there is no engine check light when inspect... you tell me believe who?

When the New workshop replace my coolant, they show me that it is obviously tampered before. You mean a Alfa SPECIALIST is not able to tell if the system is not original?

I have to just Guess you might be misled or mayb you are working with AS lol

Break down early no choice la lol but the other 2 problems really too f up lol.

Paying an overpriced "surgeon" doesn't guarantee you will cured.

seems like u had quite a few bad experiences with AS. i been a long time Alfa owner and basically, the 3 i used all have their issues to different extent.

why i stuck with AS was for quite a few occasions, Peter helped me save quite a bit money when things like wiper arm and car door handle broke and there were no spares. so he diy with some nuts and bolts and charged me a very low price. EA once fitted the wrong belt for me and it triggered a sound. AS diagnosed it and fix me the right belt. AC is ok but they don't seem familiar with big issues.

However, Peter these days, maybe due to age, is less involved. I can't say the same for his mechanics. But they have quite a friendly young service staff who's helpful. Her technical knowledge is limited but she tries her best.

Not sure about GR but i met an Alfa owner who said they did not fit one of his mods with the right parts.

I tend to think some workshops see people and treat others differently. it's not right but it's probably inevitable.

My car already left a year or so till scrap. Certainly don't mind trying other workshops.

btw, Alfa timing belts are recommended to change at 50k. Was originally 60k and revised downwards. In rare cases, belts do snap even earlier.

Lastly, not defending AS. but coolant 'tampering' could be simply owner changed coolant or mechanic didn't tighten properly hence leak. It happened to me at AS too. I brought it back and they tightened. Clumsy mechanic perhaps.

can u recall the name?

It's prowerks. He thought it's level 3 because he went up 2 ramps.

For that place, first ramp is already level 3, second ramp is level 5.

I've used EA, AS, Prowerks and GR.

EA gave me bad experience.

AS was ok.

Prowerks was ok until Ah Lee left.

GR is the best for me so far in terms of price, workmanship and service level. Honestly and integrity is very impt and GR meets all so far.

Well if the problem is hidden like clutch and all, I have no issue. The problem is the coolant is already leaking, the engine check light is already on. The catch tray is filled with oil stains. I believed in AS after reading this forum and I followed blindly. I saw the engine check light on and I ask the owner, she say it has been there since day1 and she been driving it. I go ask AS, they say there is no engine check light when inspect... you tell me believe who?

When the New workshop replace my coolant, they show me that it is obviously tampered before. You mean a Alfa SPECIALIST is not able to tell if the system is not original?

I have to just Guess you might be misled or mayb you are working with AS lol

Break down early no choice la lol but the other 2 problems really too f up lol.

Like I said, you find the workshop that best suit you. Not everyone or any problem you need to go to a specialists.

I have come across myself going to another so call Alfa workshop to do a simple mechanical installation. Nothing special about it. I drove home with a knocking sound on the suspension. Went back and check but nothing can be done. So, I had to drive back to another specialists. First thing they ask is what have I done/mod and straight away, they know that a bolt was not tighten according to the way it is suppose to be tighten.

I have many other story to share bit this is not a story telling forum. All I ask is you find a workshop you like and stick to it, it can be GR, EA, AC, AS and many other workshop.

Finally, I end my post by saying you should visit your FAMILY doctor when you are sick, if the prescription does not work, go back and tell the doctor instead of going to another one.

It's prowerks. He thought it's level 3 because he went up 2 ramps.

For that place, first ramp is already level 3, second ramp is level 5.

I've used EA, AS, Prowerks and GR.

EA gave me bad experience.

AS was ok.

Prowerks was ok until Ah Lee left.

GR is the best for me so far in terms of price, workmanship and service level. Honestly and integrity is very impt and GR meets all so far.

haha

v sian one

want to go level 3 then 1 ramp 2 ramp

tmd level 5 liao. lol

End of day, is consumer surplus ba. 

Wherever we feel is value for our money and most importantly, able to keep bella up and running!!!

I think this on which workshop is good is a very subjective.

We all have different experiences with various workshops.

Lets leave it at there.

We all have the right to recommend the various workshops.

Lets continue to recommend to new drivers who asks for help and let them decide who they are comfortable with and go to them.

I think this on which workshop is good is a very subjective.

We all have different experiences with various workshops.

Lets leave it at there.

We all have the right to recommend the various workshops.

Lets continue to recommend to new drivers who asks for help and let them decide who they are comfortable with and go to them.

For me just glad there r more options. Really jialat when only so few. Anyway EA is out due to high cost n pretty similar results

Like I said, you find the workshop that best suit you. Not everyone or any problem you need to go to a specialists.

I have come across myself going to another so call Alfa workshop to do a simple mechanical installation. Nothing special about it. I drove home with a knocking sound on the suspension. Went back and check but nothing can be done. So, I had to drive back to another specialists. First thing they ask is what have I done/mod and straight away, they know that a bolt was not tighten according to the way it is suppose to be tighten.

I have many other story to share bit this is not a story telling forum. All I ask is you find a workshop you like and stick to it, it can be GR, EA, AC, AS and many other workshop.

Finally, I end my post by saying you should visit your FAMILY doctor when you are sick, if the prescription does not work, go back and tell the doctor instead of going to another one.

Good comment- yes should see your family doctor or doctor you trust. Same like going to your trusted mechanic. Sometimes time will reveal the problem. Doctor or mechanic hopping not ideal, new doctor/mechanic have to start from scratch. Unless trust has been broken, then change

I have been with AS from my day 1 owning 159 till today is almost 1yr plus... my personal point of view is they are quite friendly & approachable... & my ride is getting better compare to day 1 i drove the car..

I went prowerk once... my CEL is on since day 1 till today.. AS say the sensor have to be changed... Prowerk jus did OBD check on the CEL.. after that i ask so how can we resolve the CEL... the boss ans me like nv ans at all... No doubt that when u go Prowerk & mention u all the while @ AS he will drop the price lower den AS.

My point is that like everyone said the same, stick to the 1 u r comfortable with... the argument of which workshop does the best i oso struggle for the awhile... but in the end i still call up AS for my next servicing appointment... to me bcos i see big improvements of my 159 since day till today...

This is my personal point of view, for your reference..

Cheers to all bro!!

I have been with AS from my day 1 owning 159 till today is almost 1yr plus... my personal point of view is they are quite friendly & approachable... & my ride is getting better compare to day 1 i drove the car..

I went prowerk once... my CEL is on since day 1 till today.. AS say the sensor have to be changed... Prowerk jus did OBD check on the CEL.. after that i ask so how can we resolve the CEL... the boss ans me like nv ans at all... No doubt that when u go Prowerk & mention u all the while @ AS he will drop the price lower den AS.

My point is that like everyone said the same, stick to the 1 u r comfortable with... the argument of which workshop does the best i oso struggle for the awhile... but in the end i still call up AS for my next servicing appointment... to me bcos i see big improvements of my 159 since day till today...

This is my personal point of view, for your reference..

Cheers to all bro!!

a lot of it is down to experience. Peter has seen a lot of 159 and previous gen Alfas. He currently owns the new turbo Alfa which also help in the diagnosis. end of day, mechanics in SG are mainly fitters. Put scanner and scan and change parts. Troubleshoot is another level altogether. 

My CEL on for few years liao. I know the fault. Peter knows it but told me up to me cos those lambda sensors are prone to fail. since scrapping another year, i may not bother. 

i disagree slightly on go to the one u r comfy with. At some point, when shiit hits the wall, u know who the real mechanics are. Each one will try to put down the other cos they want to earn business. It's normal. So u have to see who's best at resolving yr faults. Up till now, Peter has not been able to rectify a beep I get from the brake switch every now and then. I doubt GR or any can fix it. 

Mine is the 2L JTS engine. i can't see how GR knows even more than AS about it so i still stick with AS.