What car would you buy with 220k

Mazdaseller

you lucky.

mine got license but refuse to drive. treat me like her personal ahmad. 

then u more pity...

I won't pay $220k for a car unless I have $5 million in the bank. Cars are a liability in Singapore, never an asset. 

116d. Diesel  :a-m1212: conti  :a-m1212: comfort  :a-good:

the remaining money can spend on luxurious family dinner + save for future. 

Why not?  [laugh]

The answer is clear.

Mercedes Benz E class.

Mercedes Benz c class coupe

Range Rover Evoque

Not a lot of choices for 7 seater but probably a Volvo XC90.

Yup, a car for every range

Wah piang.. bros here like to over complicate stuffs :p , just imagine one have 220k budget to buy a car, what would you buy? lol...

My conclusion would be a suv within that price range.. can carry more stuffs, more utility. Satki, wannabe cars, buy-to-get-laid cars not suitable for me, but if you think suitable for you, go ahead and list it.. not asking what car I should buy with 220k.. asking what would you buy? :)

On top of needing a good chiropractor, baby sit where? :D

If got 220k lying around then will be this without a doubt:

3fdd6d9d38fb20bdce8f48a4b6669115.jpg

If not, a simple Volvo S60 T5 or WRX will do. 

Exactly....

TS only ask what car will you buy with 220k, how come everyone assume he is asking for recommendations? Maybe he doing market survey?

We should not be too quick to judge.

I guess we've found one of the richest bros in this forum.. 5series to X5 or X6 is "abit" nia sia... 

BMW 5series
or top up a bit..... X5 or X6

cheers!

Very sensible answer, to buy a property.. nah, not soliciting suggestions for what i should buy.. asking what people would buy with that amoung of $$

$220K?

That's too open a question. You should at least state if you want a sedan, hatch, SUV, sports/cabriolet, lorry, bus... so many choices.

Sedan, I'd take the BMW 5 series. It's one of the best around. Uncles may prefer the E-class. Not sure if there are any sedans that may come close (if you want to max out your $220K budget) otherwise you can settle for Jap sedans and save the rest.

Hatchback, BMW 235i or a Golf GTI and keep some change.

SUV, I'm not in the market for one right now but seriously I will look for a LR Discovery, otherwise I'll just buy a Forester XT and keep the change.

Sports/Cabriolet, I'll buy a used Porsche Boxster.

But if you give me $220K now, I will go and buy property.

Buy a bus

Then can drive to genting. Per pax $60, times 40 thats about $2.4k per day. Minus petrol and toll about $2k per day. One week work 6 days, one month will be $48k.

Within one year can buy new panamera

The answer is clear.

Mercedes Benz E class.

Mercedes Benz c class coupe

Range Rover Evoque

Not a lot of choices for 7 seater but probably a Volvo XC90.

Yup, a car for every range

Yeah XC90 is brilliant, but list price is $290k bro. $220k is XC60 zone but that's a 8 year old design.

Hahaha.

Apologies for not checking out the prices.

actually if both husband and wife are graduates and professional in late thirties, they would have a combine income about 180k annually

. having worked for over 10yrs , they should have a combine cash saving of at least 200k conservatively under healthy conditions unless special exceptions. so they should be able to own a decent car. instead of saying no money cannot afford which alot of ppl always say that. i would rather view it as not that cannot afford but not the main priority in life. no offense but i have some friends alway act poor in front of me, hear all these excuse till sian. as if i going to borrow money. one maybe driving a better car but that doesnt mean is rich , just that some ppl like cars and willing to spend on it. like women spending on hand bags.

Combined 180k annual income wanna buy 220k car? Sure boh??...

Thats overstretching the limit liao, if 180k, buy up to 140k, still quite comfortable, anything more will be tough

Talking about income and the type of cars?

Let's get back to topic.

220k in Singapore for a car is pretty much an expensive assets to own. But assuming that 220k is the amount a person is willing to spend, then who are we to judge?

Interesting article i found while searching for world's quietest cars.. Incidentally, 65 dBA is the level of normal speaking voices and 75 dBA is washing machine level

Top 10 Quietest Cars

Lexus LS 600h                   65.9 dBA
Mercedes S-class               68.7
BMW 5-series                     69.1
Volvo V70                            69.5
Renault Mègane                 69.6
Audi A6                                 69.9
Volvo S80                            70.6
VW Tiguan                          70.7
Toyota Prius                        71.3
VW Passat                           71.4

Top 10 Noisiest Cars

Citroën C1                             77.4
Nissan 350Z                        76.8
Ford Focus/Opel Astra     75.2
Skoda Fabia                         74.5
Toyota Auris                        74.4
Skoda Octavia                     74.1
Kia Cee´d 5d                        74.0
VW Golf                                73.9
Kia Cee´d SW                      73.8
Peugeot 308                         73.7

http://elevatingsound.com/the-price-of-quiet-driving/

http://elevatingsound.com/how-lexus-ls-600h-became-the-worlds-quietest-passenger-car/

Edited by Mazdaseller

Thats overstretching the limit liao, if 180k, buy up to 140k, still quite comfortable, anything more will be tough

That probably explains why ppl always comprain sg cost of living is high.

But I stand corrected. Maybe it shld be... "comprain sg cost of keeping up with the joneses is high.  [:p]

Talking about income and the type of cars?

Let's get back to topic.

220k in Singapore for a car is pretty much an expensive assets to own. But assuming that 220k is the amount a person is willing to spend, then who are we to judge?

How can you call it an asset when the moment I drive the car out of the showroom, the car value plummets by at least 10%?  [:p]