Is this timing belt?

leeys

Hi guys,First time car owner here,my car is a 9 year old toyota corolla fielder,its a opc car with 34k mileage

Trying to check my timing belt,I saw that on tbe internet that a timing belt is black color but this belt looks brown color

Would like to get your advice if this is my timing belt?

Timing belt is inside the engine, usually covered by a plastic box.

I did a quick Googling

it seems the Fielder has timing chain instead of belt.

I did a quick Googling

My fielder is a 2007 one,i am not sure if its belt or chain Edited by leeys

That one you show is serpentine belt.

Ah i suspected it was serpentine belt,as i couldnt find any teeth on the inside and it doesnt seem like a timing belt

any idea if i could check my fielder is timing belt or chain?

Since 2000, Toyota on Chain lor.

I did a quick Googling

No need to worry de.  Chain will out last the car lor

As for the Sepertine belt photo you shown, check for breakage every 100kkm.  or Now and then when free. Change if necessary

I ownself change at about 150kkm lor ...... no breakage .......... For the stake for cheap DIY.

Hi guys,First time car owner here,my car is a 9 year old toyota corolla fielder,its a opc car with 34k mileage

Trying to check my timing belt,I saw that on tbe internet that a timing belt is black color but this belt looks brown color

Would like to get your advice if this is my timing belt?

1NZ engine on timing chain.

my car engine is VVT-I

Since 2000, Toyota on Chain lor.

No need to worry de. Chain will out last the car lor

As for the Sepertine belt photo you shown, check for breakage every 100kkm. or Now and then when free. Change if necessary

I ownself change at about 150kkm lor ...... no breakage .......... For the stake for cheap DIY.

That means its safe to assume my 2007 fielder is a timing chain?

I really hope its a timing chain,timing belt seems really troublesome

only 34k mileage, dont bother lah

Yup,just want to be safe

Actually I did some research it seems that 1998 Corolla onwards,all Corolla uses timing chain

But I am afraid if that applies to fielder also?

Edited by leeys

Yes. Should be ......Their engine have no fancy name ...... only model number like NZZ FEZZ ......

The last time my timing belt broke, on expressway, is 1998 lor.  Lucky the valve never got in the way of the piston ..... a Fiat.

Borneo Motors SE always like to say then ...... Chain Timing ..... AND bonus ...... No engine break in required.  You can floor the engine immediate collect new car ..... sure bo ?? Never try .......

Now all like chain already.

Kia, Hyundai  .... 2005 1.8L onwards.

my car engine is VVT-I
That means its safe to assume my 2007 fielder is a timing chain?

I really hope its a timing chain,timing belt seems really troublesome

Wah TS, how did you only managed 34k km in the entire 9yrs you own it? Seems a bit wasted leh.. 9 yrs but most of the time left parking in CP. Most pple hit that figure within 2 yrs wor!!

car was probably used to run local errands at the owner's own estate.

:slow: or is it the case of the odo finishing one cycle and now on the second cycle?!?  :slow:

Brought it from my friend,he rarely drives it,mostly on weekends,only go malaysia once or twice a year

car was probably used to run local errands at the owner's own estate.

:slow: or is it the case of the odo finishing one cycle and now on the second cycle?!? :slow:

haha no la,odo has never been changed before