KIA Stinger GT

Jzachlee

Most of the reviews online are the GT. With good reason too since the price diff is minimal over in the western countries. If one purchase a GT line here in Singapore,are we missing something special here in the form of the GT? Performance wise especially....

Depends on what you value. Looks, comfort, etc. are probably highly comparable. But you mentioned performance-wise, and the answer to "are we missing something special" is "definitely". The 2.0 and 3.3 are not in the same league performance wise.

But no need to miss. The 3.3 is very much available here, and it's the fun RWD version not the safer and more boring AWD one available in the US (although I think they also have the RWD model alongside it).

Interesting, I also saw a Kia Stinger cinema advert before my viewing of Endgame :)

Anyway, congrats on your new ride!  [thumbsup]

For those who haven't test drive it but is wondering how good is it, just go test it. Even if you don't buy it you get to know how far Kia has come since the 1st Picanto days.
I was looking at other established brands and test driving them....this Stinger is the first car I test drove and booked on the spot.
The current price is actually on the high side compared to its low of around 153K last year. But I wasn't ready to change car then.
It wasn't even on my initial shortlist until I saw it again in cinema advert while watching Avengers End Game :)

Look past the brand and just test drive it with an open mind. It might just change the way you look at Korean cars.

Depends on what you value. Looks, comfort, etc. are probably highly comparable. But you mentioned performance-wise, and the answer to "are we missing something special" is "definitely". The 2.0 and 3.3 are not in the same league performance wise.

But no need to miss. The 3.3 is very much available here, and it's the fun RWD version not the safer and more boring AWD one available in the US (although I think they also have the RWD model alongside it).

I am very much attracted to the looks and styling of the Stinger. Performance is a bonus cos I dun drive fast and honestly technically speaking I am not in the league of most of u guys as far as driving skills are concerned.

Most of the reviews online are the GT. With good reason too since the price diff is minimal over in the western countries. If one purchase a GT line here in Singapore,are we missing something special here in the form of the GT? Performance wise especially....

Other than the engine the difference between GT and GT line is mostly in trimmings and features. In Canada/US there is GT, GT S and another lower spec like GT Line. GT Line in Singapore combined the GT S and Lower spec so it has the D-shaped steering wheel, sunroof, interior trimmings etc that are also found in GT.

Most important feature in my opinion that the GT has over the 2L is the adjustable suspension.

Hi all. Sorry I have to post here as there is no GT Line thread yet.

Just booked a GT Line via the online sale. Hope to learn from existing owners and join in any forum or chat groups for the Stinger if any.

Cheers!

PM me. :)

You are correct to tell the truth, I will not even offer more than 130K. Impressive -Yes and long to own one, it's juz way out for ordinary car enthusiast like many of us, the look can kill and adrenaline pumping, good thing in life must wait and wait we will, only thing is : How long KIA management can wait coz thy have target to hit and Thy are pretty sure it will sell, not for a song . My guess is KIA Stinger GT is around 130K max, the rest is their profit margin before cost, rent, SE comms and others . . .

What a joke. Pls keep to yourself.

Hi all. Sorry I have to post here as there is no GT Line thread yet.

Just booked a GT Line via the online sale. Hope to learn from existing owners and join in any forum or chat groups for the Stinger if any.

Cheers!

Bro, before your purchase,were there any other shortlisted cars u intended to buy? Curious cos to me the stinger tucked at the heartstrings and other cars more of other factors...

Hi. My shortlisted cars were actually C180 and XE. Was looking to downsize to a compact good handling car. I preferred the rear space and perceived quality of the Merc brand as I am now driving an old E250.

For XE I test drove it together with XF and found it too unsettled over rough roads. XF was superb though but it will be too similar to my current E.

Then out of the blue I remembered the Stinger which I first saw it in Korea in 2017 before it came into Singapore.

Then I just gave it a try over the weekend and was very impressed with the way it handled.

The throttle response was quick and the steering sharp. XE has a sharper steering by the way but not that far off.

Looking thru the rest of the specs sealed the deal as it has good rear space (around C180 size). A useful liftback with large boot space.

It also came with almost everything useful in the GT except for the engine and the adaptive dampers.

I didn't go for GT as I want to keep it below 200K. But I don't feel I am too worse off with the GT Line.

I don't really look at the brand as the feel and drive is just not typical Korean bread and butter cars. Reliability has been good for KIA as compared to other established brands over the years.

Lastly I think I will be the minority driving this car in a sea of C180s.

Cheers!

Hi. My shortlisted cars were actually C180 and XE. Was looking to downsize to a compact good handling car. I preferred the rear space and perceived quality of the Merc brand as I am now driving an old E250.

For XE I test drove it together with XF and found it too unsettled over rough roads. XF was superb though but it will be too similar to my current E.

Then out of the blue I remembered the Stinger which I first saw it in Korea in 2017 before it came into Singapore.

Then I just gave it a try over the weekend and was very impressed with the way it handled.

The throttle response was quick and the steering sharp. XE has a sharper steering by the way but not that far off.

Looking thru the rest of the specs sealed the deal as it has good rear space (around C180 size). A useful liftback with large boot space.

It also came with almost everything useful in the GT except for the engine and the adaptive dampers.

I didn't go for GT as I want to keep it below 200K. But I don't feel I am too worse off with the GT Line.

I don't really look at the brand as the feel and drive is just not typical Korean bread and butter cars. Reliability has been good for KIA as compared to other established brands over the years.

Lastly I think I will be the minority driving this car in a sea of C180s.

Cheers!

Many thanks for going thru the decision making process so clearly and neatly. Appreciate it very much. I was zeroing in on the stinger until suddenly a one year old Audi A6 with a mileage of just 2000km caused me to take a glance at it. Same price range but the 1.8L performance definitely pale in comparison with Stinger. But it is a great cruiser executive car with full suite of safety gizmos which I like. Well guess it boils down to what I am looking for as the chief deal maker or breaker...

Test drive both if you haven't. The test drive will be the deciding point against any preconception.

Enjoy the car hunting process!

Hi Bro, just curious is the A6 FWD? I had a A6 1 generation before, souped up with MTM but the FWD really spins when take off! I am interested in the Stinger too but still finding my way to compare the variants.

Yes the A6 is FWD. But a German made executive sedan is hard to resist...but this model A6 1.8L ultra s tronic is old model liao. The new A6 2.0 will be launched in few weeks time.

Hi all, anyone knows where I can purchase a Sprint Booster or Pedalbox for Stinger ? I find the car lags a bit when the accelerator is depressed....

I've found it's a good idea to start signalling left as soon as you've made the decision to yield. Then move over only after there is adequate space and it's safe.

Signalling early has a few benefits. It calms the guy behind you down - he knows you're aware of him and that you're fully willing to yield when it's safe. You've also made your intent completely clear so he won't be tempted to undertake you.

Moving over without signalling can be rather dangerous especially if the car behind thinks you're like 90 percent of the cars in lane 1 who will stubbornly refuse to budge. Two cars moving into the same lane can create a rather unpleasant situation.

So always signal, wait and move over when safe. When someone does this, I almost always put up my hand in thanks.

Predictability is the most important thing to achieve in street driving. In contrast to racing, where predictability and unpredictability must be judiciously balanced haha.

My pet peeve is drivers who don't signal. Too damn many of them here. I consider them far more dangerous than "speedsters".

Well said

Well saidð

When my car signal light bulb blow, I felt so uneasy when changing lane.

Will get it change asap.

Just cannot tahan those driver that don't signal for lane change, turning..

My sentiments exactly...

@RadX please escort this upstanding prick (it's because of all the Cialis) out. Thanks. ððð

Hahaha ya I was looking for a sprint booster not a prick booster !