Alfa Romeo Stelvio

inlinesix

... When it works.......  :D

Will get myself one when I shift next to Alfa service center. 

or somewhere in sin ming. 

im sure there will be other tests soon to find out. even the nissan gtr had its controversy over its lap time being better than 911. anyway, no car needs to be the fastest round any track to be great. many factors to be considered and more so for suv

Based on what information or data points?

1. Petrol versions are on the proven (reliable) MultiAir Turbo engine, whilst the diesels are on the Multijet also tested and proven.

2. The gearbox is using the ZF 8-speed gearbox that's used in BMWs - so are you saying that the BMW gearbox is unreliable?

Kindly refrain from passing unfounded, unproven and unreliable (pun intended) comments when you don't know half the story.

PS: I do not own an Alfa, but am just being objective here and not be too quick to judge based on hearsay.

I've owned 2 Alfas before.

In my case, it wasn't the engines or gearboxes that were unreliable but the electricals & electronics.

I've owned 2 Alfas before.

In my case, it wasn't the engines or gearboxes that were unreliable but the electricals & electronics.

Depends on time frame. Short term electronics. Long term engine and gearbox. My 8 year alfa already change ignition coils, injectors, selespeed parts. All not cheap at all

all these are normal wear and tear, not specific to Alfa alone ma :)

Stelvio looks good, just that SUVs are not my cup of tea.

the Giulia (and possibly Stelvio) are Alfa's make-it-or-break-it entrants back to the US..it can't fail (that's why the Giulia's launch was delayed so that Alfa can get it right)... so it's gotta be more reliable and better than previous models. Hope it lives up to expectations.

ignition coils, injectors, selespeed parts

No way these are normal wear and tear in an 8yr old car....at least not for my lexus or even the Saab 9-3 around the same age.

the Giulia (and possibly Stelvio) are Alfa's make-it-or-break-it entrants back to the US..it can't fail (that's why the Giulia's launch was delayed so that Alfa can get it right)... so it's gotta be more reliable and better than previous models. Hope it lives up to expectations.

No way these are normal wear and tear in an 8yr old car....at least not for my lexus or even the Saab 9-3 around the same age.

Agree lah with you also... my Ford Mondeo... use until 9.999 years no issue with wiring or anything....last last was brake callipers not working ... so Ah beng workshop just did a temp fix on it... also in the 9.99 years i used battery only changed twice  ; Mileage at scrap was only 90,000km though only.... but must admit alfa's look sexy though like Alfa Male.....but  Middle Ages rapidly need lots of viagra $$ fast fast after that .... very hard to change image... maybe the old Alfa's of the 60/70's were hardy ... less wires/ electronics and more mech only

Edited by BanCoe

I've seen bimmers change ignition coils at 5 years and an Axio too at 9 years

I changed engine gasket, radiator, radiator fans, aircon compressor for my saab 9-3 towards its 6-7yrs...i would say it is already not the most reliable. Suck it up repair and hope for the best to drive it till scrap.

my previous W203 C350 radiator leaked and changed at 7th year.

In comparison my lexus only suspension shock absorber and brake pads during my ownership till it's 8th year. those I can say is wear and tear.

Also selespeed parts mentioned, I assume is the transmission, seldom people have to touch their transmission unless it's the dreaded dry clutch DSG.

The newer gen cars like Mito/giuletta might be more reliable. Mine was in the 159 era and raked up more than 8k in repair costs for a 3 year Alfa, due to “selespeed” parts. Uncountable others for engine and other small stuff.

Anyway if you want to get the Alfa, suggest getting it second hand as the dealers will easily offer 40% off its value.

Had 3 series n altis before. Never changed injectors or coils till scrap

For conti car perhaps as seen with friends mini.

Jap car very seldom hear but of cos there will be exceptions

The newer gen cars like Mito/giuletta might be more reliable. Mine was in the 159 era and raked up more than 8k in repair costs for a 3 year Alfa, due to âselespeedâ parts. Uncountable others for engine and other small stuff.

Anyway if you want to get the Alfa, suggest getting it second hand as the dealers will easily offer 40% off its value.

Those r dry clutches. Remember there’s two so cost x2.

When peter bought his giulietta at 50k mileage, clutch already nearly gone.

So if u ask me it’s the same damn Alfa. Never buy it for its reliability

I remember you were so excited about your 147 when you first got it. Guess the enthusiasm is tempered by the maintenance and repair issues with the car. Has the car been replaced? Or what are you intending to replace it with when its due?

Edited by Toeknee_33

I remember you were so excited about your 147 when you first got it. Guess the enthusiasm is tempered by the maintenance and repair issues with the car. Has the car been replaced? Or what are you intending to replace it with when its due?

actually my 147 was long sold. my current car is GT 2L. the twinspark was more reliable as it was not direct injection. 

my enthusiasm is still there. im actually ok with cars having problems. and especially with its age, i can't fault it too much as it's a very nice car to drive. just trying to correct some notions ppl may have tat Alfa is reliable when most don't even drive it past 5 years. 

next car? in 2019 will see again, but likely to be jap. time to use my brain more. 

Agree lah with you also... my Ford Mondeo... use until 9.999 years no issue with wiring or anything....last last was brake callipers not working ... so Ah beng workshop just did a temp fix on it... also in the 9.99 years i used battery only changed twice  ; Mileage at scrap was only 90,000km though only.... but must admit alfa's look sexy though like Alfa Male.....but  Middle Ages rapidly need lots of viagra $$ fast fast after that .... very hard to change image... maybe the old Alfa's of the 60/70's were hardy ... less wires/ electronics and more mech only

You are lucky. My friend's Mondeo had to change many parts. His Focus was way more reliable.

Old Alfas of the 60/70 had serious rust issues.

You are lucky. My friend's Mondeo had to change many parts. His Focus was way more reliable.

Old Alfas of the 60/70 had serious rust issues.

Most of the continental cars of the 60/70's were rust buckets .... I guess rust proofing was in the infancy , my fathers first car in 1967 Ford Cortina rusted quite badly from the bottom that we could not even find a point to jack the car up

actually my 147 was long sold. my current car is GT 2L. the twinspark was more reliable as it was not direct injection.

my enthusiasm is still there. im actually ok with cars having problems. and especially with its age, i can't fault it too much as it's a very nice car to drive. just trying to correct some notions ppl may have tat Alfa is reliable when most don't even drive it past 5 years.

next car? in 2019 will see again, but likely to be jap. time to use my brain more.

Had a 147 too.. it was great! It really hugged the road at speed. But it had electrical issues half the time, and others from brakes to servo to transmission as/when it felt like it.. loved it as driver but not as a family cheuffeur with routines n timelines.

KIA Stinger reportedly will be coming in 2018!