Airline electronics ban

Civic2000

1 think i like about SQ is i can play the movie once i enter the plane, i encounter a few other airlines must after take off then can play

disclaimer: i never sit a lot airlines before....

last time SQ also cannot play movies before take off. then later, they allow, but when they play the safety video, you need to restart your movie from the start...

http://www.straitstimes.com/world/canada-france-may-join-us-uk-ban-of-devices-in-cabins?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1490226240

Singapore better don't follow what others do please. It makes no sense at all. What if there are report that terrorist are planning to hide bomb with timer in laptop battery and checkin on-board flight? Like that in future ban all laptop from handcarry and checkin?

This is totally ridiculous policy for the ban..

You are assuming the airport security does not screen your check in luggage.

Which is not true.

last time SQ also cannot play movies before take off. then later, they allow, but when they play the safety video, you need to restart your movie from the start...

No leh, the movies will just play from where they pause it before they play the safety video. 

Krisworld standard dropped already. 

Kung Fu Yoda still not available.

Still have a lot of aircraft with tiny screen. with bad resolution.

Emirates quite good. But now UK US want to sabo them.

Good what.

Boss stay Marriott. You also can stay Marriott.

If flying alone, you admin will book you Ibis or Holiday inn express.

Still a lot ()() flying around le

:XD:

Small company.... our admin does the booking with my CC (then I claim back) 

And since I usually travel with the boss, gotta follow his choice of airline, route and timing also.

I cannot. My jobscope cannot be done without flying (but not that often la).

I really don't like flying for work, I rather people fly to me  [laugh]

Last time they will pull down the svreen and everybody will watch the same movie.....

Good what.

Small screen are the old 777-200 plane. Which should be replace soon.

SQ old plane retirement is a bit too slow.

Am i missing some thing?

I tot since the late 90's, terrorist have been using cell phones as a detonator for their bombs. Esp Nokia phones. They dont ban cell phone but ban other electronic devices?

Hmmm................thinking of conspiracy theories.

You are assuming the airport security does not screen your check in luggage.

Which is not true.

Yes I understand that airport security do screen the luggage but don't know exactly how it works. But then, we travelers are also put though scanning for hand carry luggage also right..

So end up it makes no sense. Ban electronic item such as laptop, tablet on-board flight is not the good solution to go. It will only led to more problem especially when there is problem with luggage..

Yes I understand that airport security do screen the luggage but don't know exactly how it works. But then, we travelers are also put though scanning for hand carry luggage also right..

So end up it makes no sense. Ban electronic item such as laptop, tablet on-board flight is not the good solution to go. It will only led to more problem especially when there is problem with luggage..

Maybe...

all those scanning at the gate is only 99% reliable. 

1 out of 100 time got an explosive, enough damage.

Force everything into the belly, at least the joker cannot activate it.

Maybe...

all those scanning at the gate is only 99% reliable. 

1 out of 100 time got an explosive, enough damage.

Force everything into the belly, at least the joker cannot activate it.

Never heard of timer before meh.

What was that complaint about?

Middle Eastern carrier get unofficial subsidies (in the form of lower landing/airport fees, lower licensing fee, easy loan etc) from their govt..

Problem is, none of the US carriers even fly to the middle east. Plus, geographically speaking, ME already win hands down. They're located within 8 hours flight to 2/3 of the world's population.

Middle Eastern carrier get unofficial subsidies (in the form of lower landing/airport fees, lower licensing fee, easy loan etc) from their govt..

Problem is, none of the US carriers even fly to the middle east. Plus, geographically speaking, ME already win hands down. They're located within 8 hours flight to 2/3 of the world's population.

yup. that's why Singapore Airlines/CX find it so tough to fight Emirates.

That's why Qantas gave up fighting with Emirates mah.. now they're partnering Emirates instead for the kangaroo route

yeah. they have tie ups.

And now Emirates can fly direct to australia from Dubai.

Qantas has a smaller market. Only the aussie to indonesia and NZ area.

CX and SQ has a much more competitive area to operate in Asia but also more profitable.

yeah. they have tie ups.

And now Emirates can fly direct to australia from Dubai.

Qantas has a smaller market. Only the aussie to indonesia and NZ area.

CX and SQ has a much more competitive area to operate in Asia but also more profitable.

Last week, Bloomberg reported that CX needs to sell more seats than it has in order to breakeven. Something like 123% of available seats.

SQ needs to keep up in it's game. Both hard and soft product. If you look at the ME3 carriers, most of their premium products already caught up with SIA's offerings liao.

Good what.

I must be the only person if given a choice to stay Marriott, Ibis or Holiday Inn

would happily stay in Ibis. It is really my favourite hotel.

Hardware not important, software more important.  [thumbsup]