The Oxley Road continuing Saga

Kiario

He did want to step down and handover to younger generation leaders.. But they are not ready yet.. Lhl had been saying this since the last GE and said that he will full steam.. To push younger leaders up and time is running out for him..

So I believe that he would like to step down and not stay longer but then need to have a suitable young generation leader to take over..

Lol... I never believe in gahmen propaganda... similarly the propaganda of anyone with vested interests..

In anyway.. Look at this article..

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/pm-lee-not-involved-talks-ministerial-committees-deliberations-lky-house-pmo-110208252.html

It sets me thinking.. It's lky wish to demolish the house when he died.

So simple request and stated in the will.. Why they make it so complicated and even task a communitiee to look into what to do with the house? Isn't it is a waste of resources and time for the communitiee involved?

If lky never state in the will to demolish the house, I can fully understand a communitiee is set up to discuss on what to do with the house. But lky wishes... And clearly indicate in the will, what is there to argue about? Even if the house is of great significance, it's lky who make a big significance and he decide what to do with the house it's his problem what. So if communitiee step in and what does it shows? It's shows its against lky will. I do not know law.. If let's say a normal guy put in the will stated the house he owned to be demolished after he pass away. Then after he died have to demolish the house right?

It's nowonder the younger brother and sister cannot take it anymore.. And blurt it out After a long period of enduring all these nonsense..

Edited by Yewheng

The Elderly Lee would be very sad to see this happening among his children:

煮豆燃豆萁,豆在釜中泣。 本是同根生,相煎何太急。

Edited by Albeniz

He did want to step down and handover to younger generation leaders.. But they are not ready yet.. Lhl had been saying this since the last GE and said that he will full steam.. To push younger leaders up and time is running out for him..

So I believe that he would like to step down and not stay longer but then need to have a suitable young generation leader to take over..

But he had 13 years (so far) to groom the next generation. Succession planning should have started very early on in his term as PM.

Clearly he has failed in this aspect.

Like many have said..... this is not about the house ONLY...........

Have you wondered why Ho Ching was drawn into the mix?

This is Singapore's Watergate. OxleyGate is app ....... I hope for our sake this dun get blown so big it explodes into our faces cos nobody will be spared...... unless you can get a one way ticket to a better place and continue to HUAT.

If LKY really wanted to demolish the house , then be it...

If not , people will view him as a hypocrite.A great man will always be remembered in our hearts n not monuments to honor him.

• Praise 10

what committee- wayang only- it seems Lee's sibling discord is caused by the Empress Wu (He Chin) woman should not intervene in their family affair. Dont think the sibling have had this problem when the old man was alive- empress Wu also cannot play her role & was suppressed when the old emperor is around.

The different of opinion- cause the small son & daughter want to get rid of the LKY "legacy" whilst the the eldest want to keep it for his son- the woman want people to remember the old man legacy as to prolong into the next generation.

Now all show hand- as to see how the PM will play his next card. Probably he will prevail to keep the old house- so called historical monument. So maybe those 2 siblings not happy- to make it a public discord as to undermine the eldest ruiling party to make it a political agenda for opposition party to hammer home to people- not to give vote to them. To raise the stake higher- Make or break situation.

This is blurring the line between private vs public interest. The stake is high for the ruiling party if this is not handle properly- as it reflect handling of internal family vs public affair-

The most important issues raised in the statement are not about demolishing the house....

And those issues are absolutely not private matters.

The most important issues raised in the statement are not about demolishing the house....

And those issues are absolutely not private matters.

Yup.

If based on the statement what the siblings said are true (may not be 100%, definitely will have some bias), then it seemed like even in the last days LKY himself was starting to doubt and mistrust LHL.

It feels like if LKY was still around and able to participate actively still, it could have developed into another case of Mahathir vs Najib/UMNO.

Maybe this is the starting of our version. I dunno. Would be interesting to see how it pans out.

I can see that people are still tripping over themselves to praise LKY even now.

I don't dispute he achieved great things (albeit not alone, as his cult of personalty might suggest).

However, he was still myopic when it came to thinking of Singapore's long term political robustness. By strongly (even tyrannically) discouraging dissent and handing over the reigns to his own son, he jeopardised Singapore's long term stability.

There is a reason that "strong man" regimes rarely prosper beyond one generation. You may be equal to the task of (almost) single handedly bringing a nation into the first world, but don't assume that your successor will be similarly successful. And above all, don't blindly assume that the best successor will be of your own blood. The healthiest regimes in the long term are those which maintain a broad and deep pool of highly able people to choose from for leadership and eschew any form of heavy-handed authoritarianism.

The decay we see is exactly because LKY himself failed to see even the near term consequences of his actions following his exit. He may not have wanted the house he stayed in to be kept as a brick and mortar legacy, but the political system we continue to live in is very much a part of that legacy. And this legacy is far from being an unmixed blessing, I'm sorry to say.

• Praise 10

There are still ppl thinking so highly of LHL. He is the reason that we are stuck in our current state. With cmi cabinet of his, and no ideas how to move forward. To make things worse he step on China toes. This just give him a chance to step down, but what's next. In the end we are all at the losing ends, cos the 81 monkeys still get paid and we are the ones who feed them

Yup.

If based on the statement what the siblings said are true (may not be 100%, definitely will have some bias), then it seemed like even in the last days LKY himself was starting to doubt and mistrust LHL.

It feels like if LKY was still around and able to participate actively still, it could have developed into another case of Mahathir vs Najib/UMNO.

Maybe this is the starting of our version. I dunno. Would be interesting to see how it pans out.

Not sure about how much trust or when did he distrust his son, but they do have certain things that they do not see in common.

Father do not want to build casinos in the country, but son insisted building and two of them.

Father says 5.6 million people is comfortable for Singaporeans to live in, but son looks at 6.9 million and even 10 million.

Just a few examples.

I like that phrase small son use family dispute for political gain...

that's probably because you were unaware that the small son already relinquished his political ambitions 3 decades ago.

“My father suggested it but I didn’t think it was something I wanted to do. Politics should be a calling,” he said.

“I’ve never seriously contemplated it. I don’t know why people think just because I am my father’s son, this had to be my destiny.”

There was some burden in being the son of Mr Lee Kuan Yew, he said.
“Some people will claim that I got the opportunities because I was who I was,” he said.

“I think I’ve earned them and worked very hard to earn them, which is what I think my parents would have expected.”

As a rule, he never brings up his association to his father.

“It irks me that in newspaper reports, even till today, when they mention me, they’ll mention that I’m the son of the former Prime Minister or the brother of the current Prime Minister.

“How is that relevant to what I’m doing?”

We can change our kidneys, replace our livers, cleanse our blood, color our hair, tan our skin but we can never erase nor deny our family background.

Therefore, just work it to our best result.

Edited by Throttle2