Hyundai Kona

Sdf4786k

Was quoted 152,999 for electric Kona at Car show today

152999 / 10 years = 15299.90 per year

15299.90 / 12 mths = 1,274.9916666667 per month

1,274.9916666667 / 30 days = 42.50 per day

not expensive wor pee day......

so "auntie Lucy" going to rent how much per day Leh ?

if rent 150 per day, that is nearly 4 times wor....!!

HUAT AH !!!

152999 / 10 years = 15299.90 per year

15299.90 / 12 mths = 1,274.9916666667 per month

1,274.9916666667 / 30 days = 42.50 per day

not expensive wor pee day......

so "auntie Lucy" going to rent how much per day Leh ?

if rent 150 per day, that is nearly 4 times wor....!!

HUAT AH !!!

Dont forget maintenance and whatever wear&tear cost.

Jialat, mileage 400km. If go msia roadtrip, gone case unless you can find a charger in msia.

Such cars are only worth it if you drive high mileage annually, same for hybrid cars.

Dont forget maintenance and whatever wear&tear cost.

Jialat, mileage 400km. If go msia roadtrip, gone case unless you can find a charger in msia.

Such cars are only worth it if you drive high mileage annually, same for hybrid cars.

Maintenance for an EV is minimal. The only wear&tear are the brake pads most likely, which should last 2x to 3x longer given it is using regenerative braking. 

Obviously no one is buying this car to travel up north. 

And yes to make the car worthwhile it is to drive high mileage, this applies to ALL cars here given u already spend so much on that COE of course must fully utilize the car! 

Electric cars and road trips aren't good buddies at this point... even with a range of 400 km, at most can make it to Melaka and need to top up charge there to come back...

SP Group claimed to build 500 electric vehicle charging points by 2020.

​my concern is how many for private car usage.

​will it be taken mostly by electric taxi?

and how much per charge?

heard from a SP guy at the motorshow that it's about $20 for a full-charge

and that Grab had bought 200 Kona EV

heard from a SP guy at the motorshow that it's about $20 for a full-charge

and that Grab had bought 200 Kona EV

It would be interesting if the Kona EV is under "electric taxi" or under the normal scheme when booking. If it is an "electric taxi" honestly who would want to book?

Is there a difference in the taxi fare? I seldom take taxi so I don't know...

The thing about owning an electric car is that charging habit will be different than topping up petrol.

Normally as petrol cars we would top up nearing empty.

For electric car you would plan on charging where and whenever is convenient. For example if that shopping mall you are going to has a charger, you might be having your lunch there or doing groceries while charging even though the battery might be at 30-40%.

In a way I would say there is no additional time needed on our part to wait to charge up the car since the time is well spent doing other stuff.

In fact it probably even saves you that 10mins of going to petrol kiosk [:)]

With electric cars one doesn't need to charge to full (bad for the battery anyway) but good guideline is to 80-90%. With the Kona 39kWh 80% translates to about 200km which is still plenty in Singapore context.

Then again charging time is least of the problem with prices nearing Golf GTI levels.

Just wonder.

If the shopping mall provide not enough charger and there is a lot of electric car owners waiting or queuing for the charger.Will there be a long queue like jb custom?lol...

And the charging take 30 minutes for each car?So I need to stand there and wait for 30 minutes so that when fully charge,l got to move out my car quickly for the next car owner to use the charger?

Just wonder.

If the shopping mall provide not enough charger and there is a lot of electric car owners waiting or queuing for the charger.Will there be a long queue like jb custom?lol...

And the charging take 30 minutes for each car?So I need to stand there and wait for 30 minutes so that when fully charge,l got to move out my car quickly for the next car owner to use the charger?

most will leave it there to charge, go shopping, movies, makan then collect car.

anyway parking charge still apply.

Remember when cng came in it cost 20 cents per kg.. Which was dirt cheap then slowly the price rise until match petrol?

There's nothing stopping electric charging price later on to slowly rise until match 2.2 dollars per electric unit... or so....

Remember when cng came in it cost 20 cents per kg.. Which was dirt cheap then slowly the price rise until match petrol?

There's nothing stopping electric charging price later on to slowly rise until match 2.2 dollars per electric unit... or so....

Exactly... cos whoever is going to supply electric charging in Singapore... it's going to be a monopoly or duopoly at best... given our very small number of cars relative to the substantial cost of setting up charging stations in land scarce Singapore...

Yah man. Right now petrol company only have to service and maintain approx 6 to 10 pumps per petrol station...

For electric the number of charging station island wide sure more then petrol pump... Some more each charge takes 30 mins or 1 hr. Sure need many many more charging station. N when these charging station need servicing or maintenance the cost will come down to consumer.... Petrol car still feels more easier to use.

EV technologies will improve a few years down the road, in terms of charging time and mileage.

Just look how EV technologies progress in the last 5 years. 

EV technologies will improve a few years down the road, in terms of charging time and mileage.

Just look how EV technologies progress in the last 5 years.

Yup but now still not the right time, at least not for Singapore, cant say for other countries.

Govt here still not pushing it due to the lack of petrol tax once this goes all out unless they can find a way to tax ev as well which I wont be surprised. Once gahmen finds a way to tax, they will push for ev.

Just look at the early adopters for cng, it died a sad and depressing natural death.

Yup but now still not the right time, at least not for Singapore, cant say for other countries.

Govt here still not pushing it due to the lack of petrol tax once this goes all out unless they can find a way to tax ev as well which I wont be surprised. Once gahmen finds a way to tax, they will push for ev.

Just look at the early adopters for cng, it died a sad and depressing natural death.

That's simply because it took an extraordinarily long time to top up the tank... plus the mileage from the gas was abysmal and the gas tank ate up all your boot space... and you had to go to outlying areas to get your fuel... which added up to mean that it was just very inconvenient to maintain such a car...