World squatting record set by student!

Ender

Thanks bro.

My son if he is like the rest of the family in Chinese, I figure he would come in between 240-250, but with his current Chinese standard, 240 is quite a stretch, likely 230-235. [laugh]

He has maths lessons from my brother once a week and that's abt it, and he is never very hard working, although he takes ownership of his work and never fail to do his work. We don't want to push him too hard,

We spoke ant it, and we know not much juice to squeeze from maths and science, only possible is from the 2 languages. English he is quite constant, thought cfm got some room to improve. Chinese will be the deal maker or breaker.

The other thing is mayb the ppl ard you are all smart ones, ard my area, hardly see anyone above 260, among those I know, best abt 255, avg is ant 225-235 abt there. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Now I hope he gets into SST, other wise see psle see how, mayb he kee siao come back with 270 who knows. [:p]

But I know not going to happen, I prepare standby fu hua for him liao, best sec sch in my area, above 230 good chance.

My nephew got 233 few years ago. Same thing, his achilles heel is chinese too. 

Not true. I also know of people whose children are not "smart". Recently I just found out that you can actually skip sec 5 O level after N level and go ITE for 1 year then go poly after that. During this 1 year must take and clear O level english, and some other subject? (Not exactly sure what other subjects)  If not no chance to go poly. I was thinking then why not just take O level properly in Sec 5 then? Seems like the idea is to get them go ITE first if JC is not the aim, if it doesnt work out they continue to study in ITE, and can try to go Poly after 3 years in ITE if the results are good. 

Thanks bro.

My son if he is like the rest of the family in Chinese, I figure he would come in between 240-250, but with his current Chinese standard, 240 is quite a stretch, likely 230-235. [laugh]

He has maths lessons from my brother once a week and that's abt it, and he is never very hard working, although he takes ownership of his work and never fail to do his work. We don't want to push him too hard,

We spoke ant it, and we know not much juice to squeeze from maths and science, only possible is from the 2 languages. English he is quite constant, thought cfm got some room to improve. Chinese will be the deal maker or breaker.

The other thing is mayb the ppl ard you are all smart ones, ard my area, hardly see anyone above 260, among those I know, best abt 255, avg is ant 225-235 abt there. [laugh] 

Now I hope he gets into SST, other wise see psle see how, mayb he kee siao come back with 270 who knows. [:p]

But I know not going to happen, I prepare standby fu hua for him liao, best sec sch in my area, above 230 good chance.

Call me a kiasu parent. Even my standby sec school for my son (affiliated to his primary school)  also got the DSA CO via CCA. In the end, all schools we targeted got CO and WL. Just needed 200 points ..  [laugh]  [laugh] 

Edited by Ender

Yup, totally overdone. Now you can see almost every school got some form of DSA, even laoya school also has. But the numbers not high, I think abt 15% of total placement in sch. Soon I think they going to have to come out with a new name for those few 100% DSA schools liao.

And you what, I don't know abt DSA standard gov such, but DSA NUSH and SST we need to pay $50 and $110 respectively to sit for the test. After that need to pay for selection camp also.

And now they even started a direct poly program, similar to DSA, for "O" level students. I think is call DPA or something, started last year or year before last. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

100% DSA intake, only the 4 specialised independant school can do it. The other schools, even those autonomous IP schools, like ACS IB, SJI IB, RI, HCI, all have to follow MOE guidelines and can only allocate a certain % of intake for DSA. Don't know if it's 15% as you mentioned.

Direct poly program for "o" level??? Isn't it already direct entry for O level for those who qualify?

Edited by Ender

I am not sure about this young man. Despite what had been written about his plight of not having enough money to buy a return ticket back to Singapore after winning the competition, I wrote to him to pay part of his air-ticket, at least twice, but no reply.

I am wondering, is this my problem, meaning, internet, wrong email, facebook (pm) or is it a generation thing?

In any case, I think, this young man, had demonstrated our local got talents, not just hidden and so our authorities should invest in our youth. We have a bright future as a young nation, we just got give our people a chance to shine.

Have a good weekend bro.

To all the Muslim friends, Happy Hari Raya.

• Praise 12

My nephew got 233 few years ago. Same thing, his achilles heel is chinese too. 

Not true. I also know of people whose children are not "smart". Recently I just found out that you can actually skip sec 5 O level after N level and go ITE for 1 year then go poly after that. During this 1 year must take and clear O level english, and some other subject? (Not exactly sure what other subjects)  If not no chance to go poly. I was thinking then why not just take O level properly in Sec 5 then? Seems like the idea is to get them go ITE first if JC is not the aim, if it doesnt work out they continue to study in ITE, and can try to go Poly after 3 years in ITE if the results are good. 

your nephew and my son same same pattern.  [laugh]

I think you are right in that ITE thingy, KNN once go ITE how to continue with "O" level, sld end up have to give up one side. Might as well focus on "O" level and decide after that, more options. 

I think there are all kinds of scheme now, there is also a 4 yrs poly scheme for "N" level students,  what happen is those who do very well in "N" levels can apply to go to poly, but starts from yr zero instead of yr one, some thing like a poly foundation course.  My daughter has a friend from her youth chapter club, same age, but she did  "O" and he did "N", both went to poly, now she yr2, he yr1.  But I tiagong his "N" level result is quite top that kind. 

ITE also can upgrade to poly later and to uni if result is good. My niece is one yr older than my daughter, but after "O" level she went to ITE for 2 yrs, after that she went to the same poly and took the same course as my daughter, now she become my girl's junior in school, same CCA some more.  [laugh]

My family all went via the poly to uni route, no one did "A" levels. So mayb that has something to do with our mindset.  [laugh]  [laugh]

Call me a kiasu parent. Even my standby sec school for my son (affiliated to his primary school)  also got the DSA CO via CCA. In the end, all schools we targeted got CO and WL. Just needed 200 points ..  [laugh]  [laugh] 

you got a smart boy! [thumbsup]

just saw your msg, and went to check out Fu Hua again. WTF how did that slip by, I remember going into Fu Hua website to check their DSA, and just recalled back then I was looking at entry via sports.  [laugh]

Later going to submit DSA Fu Hua liao, just spoke to my son, he said Ok we take a back up, I said we buy insurance.  [laugh]

100% DSA intake, only the 4 specialised independant school can do it. The other schools, even those autonomous IP schools, like ACS IB, SJI IB, RI, HCI, all have to follow MOE guidelines and can only allocate a certain % of intake for DSA. Don't know if it's 15% as you mentioned.

Direct poly program for "o" level??? Isn't it already direct entry for O level for those who qualify?

I dont know the actual number, but I read is like 15% dont know from where. Anyway IP school no scare no ppl want, go through posting they can select those highest scores one, they actually dont really need DSA.

This Direct Poly program works like DSA, also close and offer before "O" level results release, but need to meet min requirement also. Only different is instead of good schools it is good courses, or courses in high demand. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I didnt know until it was broadcast on TV 2 weeks back.  [laugh]

you got a smart boy! [thumbsup]

just saw your msg, and went to check out Fu Hua again. WTF how did that slip by, I remember going into Fu Hua website to check their DSA, and just recalled back then I was looking at entry via sports.  [laugh]

Later going to submit DSA Fu Hua liao, just spoke to my son, he said Ok we take a back up, I said we buy insurance.  [laugh]

No problem, lucky you post before their closing date. After holiday, still got time to submit before 30th June, 5pm..

I dont know the actual number, but I read is like 15% dont know from where. Anyway IP school no scare no ppl want, go through posting they can select those highest scores one, they actually dont really need DSA.

I feel that most IP schools would actually want to increase the percentage of DSA intake. That way they accept the student they want . It is MOE who restrict them to certain percentage. If given full autonomous, think those IP schools would go 100%.

noob here. what's CO and WL

buy DSA insurance also not easy, this Fu Hua has to go down personally to submit application.

A quick check, last year cut off was 232, avg was 236 and highest was 252. Not that laoya for a neighborhood school. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]   

Thanks,  really appreciate. Anyway you should know this(since this is the 3rd psle for u),  that once your child get in through DSA, its like signing contract liao and cannot change. 

I didnt think of NUSH as an option before that. Though it is still too early to say, my daughter's results seem pointing towards that direction even though she said she prefer languages. As a parent I have to look at all options available. 

Bro, FYI

If you really considering NUSH for your girl, I think you need to start drilling it into her early liao. mayb as early as now! 

My son, together with his few school mates applying for DSA NUSH, all up lorry. 全军覆没

And these boys are all the better students, may not be the best in school, but sure are within the top 5-10%. None survive the NUSH entry test.   [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

But all selected for SST selection camp on 5 Aug.  ^_^

You may have to make sure she does at least above 95 for her papers,  and do extra extra extra. Scary man.  :wacko:

No problem, lucky you post before their closing date. After holiday, still got time to submit before 30th June, 5pm..

Thanks a million bro, my son got selected for Fuhua selection camp on 29 July. Would have missed it if not for your help!!!  [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

Thanks a million bro, my son got selected for Fuhua selection camp on 29 July. Would have missed it if not for your help!!! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

No problem, I only forwarded you the link. Hope your son can get his CO.