Harrier 2017

SKX

Yes, that is the main issue.

The nay sayers expect FXT performance and given that it's 30k or so more, they want to see that money spent on speed or something.

Just like we don't ask why a GLC costs so much more than a FXT, and isn't much faster, more spacious etc, it's different..

I see it as a 30k cheaper version of the Lexus cousins, rather than an expensive FXT. YMMV cheers.

Cannot use GLC to compare to Forestor lah. Not even in the same category. Even if they slap on a 3 pointed star badge on the Forester, paying extra for the badge itself is worth the extra $$$ to some. But we're talking abt Toyota vs Subaru. Simi premium badge?

Precisely bro :)

I get a Toyota badge, I pay 30k less than a Lexus. IMHO, a good deal..

You get a better cabin, NVH, 6 speed auto, better safety features, higher OMV, and better FC (must await official figures).

Not too bad.

But to each his own... that 30k is a big deal and that's why we have different cars at different budgets to cater to different needs.. 

Precisely bro :)

I get a Toyota badge, I pay 30k less than a Lexus. IMHO, a good deal..

You get a better cabin, NVH, 6 speed auto, better safety features, higher OMV, and better FC (must await official figures).

Not too bad.

But to each his own... that 30k is a big deal and that's why we have different cars at different budgets to cater to different needs..

Haha....after all the agreements/disagreements/arguments it comes down to:

Harrier as overpriced FXT (Subaru buyer's view)

or

Harrier as underpriced NX200T (Toyota buyer's view)

For the rest of us who are not buying either, we just sit back n enjoy the popcorn

or

For the rest of us who are not buying either, we just sit back n enjoy the popcorn

Succinctly said! Haha

HI, anybody can advice whats the minimum RON for the Harrier Turbo? Vpower?? 97 or 95 or 92?

No need for Vpower. RON 95 good enough. This is what an SE told me.

I wonder what bros mean by no kick?

What are the expectations?

Storming WRX performance?

After all it's a luxury mid sized SUV that is only 150k

Not a Porsche SUV or something like that ..

Precisely. Once hear the word Turbo, many expect performance of a WRX or Evo.

Manage your expectations man.

I for one prefer a smooth and comfortable ride than a Subaru.

Should have turbo. You didn't notice the word "Turbo" on the tailgate in the video? :)

Wahaha....ya hor. Some say Toyota turbo technology not matured yet so they try on tailgate first.

No offence to anyone but one is not just buying an engine and comparing that. Look at the specs of each car and compare. There is a reason for the diff in omv. And there is a multiplier effect from omv to cost and price.

Those in the market to buy, just buy what you like and value.

or

Another simple analogy is

FXT = those cheap and ugly chicken standing along Geylang road, calling for 30-60 per shot...

Harrier = PRC chiobu escort with minimum 120 per shot or >300 per night ..

Lexus = Angmo escort with premium price

• Dislike 2

FXT = those cheap and ugly chicken standing along Geylang road, calling for 30-60 per shot...

I think this is insulting to both the FXT and its buyers.

Errrr....not sure I agree w ur analogy

The lack of new models durIng this transition, the coming VES tax and the quiet economy make it a good time to order this round imo ..

I found the Japanese brochure for Harrier... many nice photos... see link below...

http://toyota.jp/catalog/harrier_main/book/

cant seem to find that elusive 0-100 timing... :)

Should be similar to Lexus NX200t performance. Using the same engine (tuned 8 bhp less) and gearbox. Harrier is perhaps slightly lighter.