Ho Hup Seng......Some good info for our Brudders

Arogab

Some of these ol'skool mechs r still around and they bother to diagnose n try n fix the problem. Unlike some so-called specialists who simply say "Oh, spoil. Must replace everything "

yup!  a rare breed left.

Even the one that handled my prev porsche was very much hands on kind...

i take this as genuine, but I am watching.

TUVM

Bro, Thanks......no selling, just to give these guys a respect and again, they are old and no business needed as they have more than enough.

At the same time, also good to see how many of our brothers been with them just like Bro Andyong

yup! a rare breed left.

Had a Toyota many moons ago. Front driveshaft had this funny grinding sound. Brought to Borneo. They say whole gearbox up lorry. Will cost $6k to replace. Fell off the chair. Then went to a so-called "Toyota specialist" who claims he was a senior mech at Borneo. Left car there for 2 days for him to diagnose n fix. Picked up car 2 days later, same same. Kpkb at him and he say dunno what's wrong. If I want, he will change the entire driveshaft but no guarantee will solve. Fed up, I brought to an ol'skool mech, straightaway he diagnose it's wheel bearing freeplay. Replaced for $150. Problem solved.

Recently, my GTI brake pad indicator light came up. Puzzled coz pads had lot of depth left. Brought to a so-called "VW specialist". They say rear brake pad faulty. Need to change this n that. But rear brake no sensor wire so how could it trigger the warning? Didn't trust them. Brought to ol'skool mech. Diagnosed that the front sensor wire was loose n slightly corroded. Say no need to change the pads n stuff coz condition still good. Replaced only the sensor wire. Problem solved.

Some of these ol'skool mechs r still around and they bother to diagnose n try n fix the problem. Unlike some so-called specialists who simply say "Oh, spoil. Must replace everything "

Bro, to quote a few.......

1. Old car wiper......after all done up, my friend say, this guy must be damn responsible, with all the bloody cleaning work only $10 and tell you the old part no need to change.

2. Old car speedo meter......After selling you the cable for $25, he teach you to change yourself and after that see you struggle then say do it for you.

3. Last year only my wife call me (I was overseas) to say the Camry cannot start, got funny sound. Called Ah Li, he say just nearby Li Kopi, come to our carpark and say alternator spoil. Wife ask how much, he say no need to change new one, get one re-con one and come to change at our place. Only $300. Personally I feel transport charges for coming, going back get the alternator and returning again also cost a sum liao.

4. Last year end again....BM say need to change brake pads. He check and say with my current utility, the pads will last till scrap...thus did not change.

I am not talking bad about BM (as I had said I am a supporter of BM)....he did explain that BM need to warranty for the service and need to highlight in case my car will need to drive 10,000km till next service. But my car since last issue till I trade in with BM only drive 1,000km.

So salute to these guys as I feel in years to come. They will be gone soon. I seen this man from young till today I see him getting frail......These brothers are our silent heroes.

yup!  a rare breed left.

Bro RadX, You know them? I am practically a hands on guy too from family's construction biz to my own job (manufacturing)...........in fact I do know here and there on car's technical issues which is why I respect these old guys. I am sure there are more of them somewhere. Just no many will remember them.

nope dun know Hup Seng.

Referring to my prev mechs, ol skool type

For BMW, i trust Rodney only...R2d.  

Hands on and no nonsense type.  Only change what needs to change

Had a Toyota many moons ago. Front driveshaft had this funny grinding sound. Brought to Borneo. They say whole gearbox up lorry. Will cost $6k to replace. Fell off the chair. Then went to a so-called "Toyota specialist" who claims he was a senior mech at Borneo. Left car there for 2 days for him to diagnose n fix. Picked up car 2 days later, same same. Kpkb at him and he say dunno what's wrong. If I want, he will change the entire driveshaft but no guarantee will solve. Fed up, I brought to an ol'skool mech, straightaway he diagnose it's wheel bearing freeplay. Replaced for $150. Problem solved.

Recently, my GTI brake pad indicator light came up. Puzzled coz pads had lot of depth left. Brought to a so-called "VW specialist". They say rear brake pad faulty. Need to change this n that. But rear brake no sensor wire so how could it trigger the warning? Didn't trust them. Brought to ol'skool mech. Diagnosed that the front sensor wire was loose n slightly corroded. Say no need to change the pads n stuff coz condition still good. Replaced only the sensor wire. Problem solved.

Bro, Under warranty from BM........everything also change for you [:p]

My friend even got the leather seat replace cos he suspect the BM mechanic accidentally pick his leather seat. They got customer oriented service. haha

nope dun know Hup Seng.

Referring to my prev mechs, ol skool type

For BMW, i trust Rodney only...R2d.  

Hands on and no nonsense type.  Only change what needs to change

Too high end you go there he tell you go to his friend cos he got no electronics equipment to plug on, haha

Wah sei.....no electronic equipment?? That's even more ol'skool then I even imagined....

hahaha...he use the force.....

Nowadays, specialists are overrated. Even job titles a lot also "specialist" or "subject matter expert", but.....

:XD:

Recently, I was looking for a Reno specialist to change timing belt and water impeller, but this particular Reno specialist rejected my job giving crap excuses.

Think I will wait for W's promo, then change them at tor kor.

Haha, I remember my friend's car always seem to loose power for no reason. Then cannot resolve with other and got charge. He start engine and then say "Sar Kang Huey"...........spend one day service the one cylinder which he say not working and boh tai chi liao........ :grin:

Nowadays, the mechs esp if they work for AD, lack diagnostic skills. Coz they juz hook up the OBD n the computer tell them which part got problem. Their job is simply to remove that part n replace w new part. If under warranty, can claim cost n labour from factory. If outside warranty, customer suck thumb. That's probably why when ppl complain got funny sound here n there, they can't fix or diagnose coz computer dun hv ears....

Bros and Sis........Coming to a while since I join MCF and would like to share some info.

Besides sharing, I also think it is good to give the brothers at this place some salute for serving us over the years as some of us may have know this place.

Ho Hup Seng at Blk 7 King George Ave.

I know this place since 1996 when I was then driving an old Suzuki Jimny registered in 1979. I have since been to this place many times over the years as the place was run by 3 brothers (Ah Seng, Ah Chai and Ah Li). Even when I do drive a new car, I go there and buy the old man coffee as they serve me well over many years.

Place of set up - They are just general spare parts stockist and one of the brother is doing the repair and replacements for people who know them. They have little overheads and they charge really cheap. So for small problems, I still go to them. Besides, if you have more complicated issues, they do recommend you to their affiliated workshops whom are also equipped and reasonable.

So for this, I am writing to share as well as a salute for these old brother's whom serve our community well.

For our bros and sis whom do know them. Please also comments. I think with years to come, they may just disappear.......Cheers.

If this is a true old skool trusted biz, then we should support it.  Personally i also like old skool mech.  Very fearful when i see young mechs touching my car.

Hope to hear from other MCFers' feedback after their buying experience from this biz.  If kena chop carrot, we will know it very fast.

BTW, what's the opening days and hours? will be useful for MCFer to know

Nowadays, the mechs esp if they work for AD, lack diagnostic skills. Coz they juz hook up the OBD n the computer tell them which part got problem. Their job is simply to remove that part n replace w new part. If under warranty, can claim cost n labour from factory. If outside warranty, customer suck thumb. That's probably why when ppl complain got funny sound here n there, they can't fix or diagnose coz computer dun hv ears....

This is the so call systemize and modulize.....even I have the same problem. My guys at our factory also scratch their head cos testing sometimes pass and sometimes fail.

In the end I got to troubleshoot with them and find out simple thing like our clever RD guys went to change simple locking mechanism without realising that the lock also got a sensor.....sometimes I joke with them saying " 你这是什么工程师啊??".

Kena one case my friend was so du lan with the BMW quotation that he go search for the technical director's name and write in with [email protected] ......end up he got it right and get discount.......haha.

If this is a true old skool trusted biz, then we should support it.  Personally i also like old skool mech.  Very fearful when i see young mechs touching my car.

Hope to hear from other MCFers' feedback after their buying experience from this biz.  If kena chop carrot, we will know it very fast.

BTW, what's the opening days and hours? will be useful for MCFer to know

Bro, FYI, the shop is just a spare parts stockist.....one of the brother Ah Li is just there freelance at the carpark. The funny operation is he will tear a coupon for you when they come and check while your car is on repair.

I cannot tell you operating hours cos even you need to do the repair, you need to go ask and wait when he is busy as I said is freelancing on the repairs.

Yes, I do hope we have more feedback with our ppl whom know them and give them the salute. However, no need support cos I think they are more busy than what you think and they old liao.

Huge thumbs up to Ah Li!

Didnt even know the name of this place even though Ah Li is my mech for all things urgent and minor. And that's for 13 long years and counting. Thanks for the post up!

No more coupon-tearing, CP converted to those wilson electro liao...