Ho Hup Seng......Some good info for our Brudders

Arogab

Huge thumbs up to Ah Li!

Didnt even know the name of this place even though Ah Li is my mech for all things urgent and minor. And that's for 13 long years and counting. Thanks for the post up!

No more coupon-tearing, CP converted to those wilson electro liao...

Yeah......Ah Li looks getting older nowadays.....will be going to them for Kopi when I come back SGP month end.

At the same time, electrical guy is given to one guy a Sam Leong Street who will bring things in to do up on his bicycle.......haha, big joker also. Love this funny guy Ah Gao.....as it is really very close feeling when communication is in Hokkien.

Toyota specialis, senior mech at Borneo = H*nip [nod]

Had a Toyota many moons ago. Front driveshaft had this funny grinding sound. Brought to Borneo. They say whole gearbox up lorry. Will cost $6k to replace. Fell off the chair. Then went to a so-called "Toyota specialist" who claims he was a senior mech at Borneo. Left car there for 2 days for him to diagnose n fix. Picked up car 2 days later, same same. Kpkb at him and he say dunno what's wrong. If I want, he will change the entire driveshaft but no guarantee will solve. Fed up, I brought to an ol'skool mech, straightaway he diagnose it's wheel bearing freeplay. Replaced for $150. Problem solved.

Recently, my GTI brake pad indicator light came up. Puzzled coz pads had lot of depth left. Brought to a so-called "VW specialist". They say rear brake pad faulty. Need to change this n that. But rear brake no sensor wire so how could it trigger the warning? Didn't trust them. Brought to ol'skool mech. Diagnosed that the front sensor wire was loose n slightly corroded. Say no need to change the pads n stuff coz condition still good. Replaced only the sensor wire. Problem solved.

Bros and Sis........Coming to a while since I join MCF and would like to share some info.

Besides sharing, I also think it is good to give the brothers at this place some salute for serving us over the years as some of us may have know this place.

Ho Hup Seng at Blk 7 King George Ave.

I know this place since 1996 when I was then driving an old Suzuki Jimny registered in 1979. I have since been to this place many times over the years as the place was run by 3 brothers (Ah Seng, Ah Chai and Ah Li). Even when I do drive a new car, I go there and buy the old man coffee as they serve me well over many years.

Place of set up - They are just general spare parts stockist and one of the brother is doing the repair and replacements for people who know them. They have little overheads and they charge really cheap. So for small problems, I still go to them. Besides, if you have more complicated issues, they do recommend you to their affiliated workshops whom are also equipped and reasonable.

So for this, I am writing to share as well as a salute for these old brother's whom serve our community well.

For our bros and sis whom do know them. Please also comments. I think with years to come, they may just disappear.......Cheers.

Can share their tel number to call before heading down?

Can tar pau some cream crackers back or not?

Haha .......... wait I get the tel number first. Old times got ice cream biscuits, ai mai

Yah man, for a moment I also thought its the hup seng cream crackers.. dip into coffee or milo.. shiok.. but too bad.. this hup seng cannot be eaten leh.. hehe..

Remember those biscuits tin

5150pjgbajl.jpg

i know this guys and Ah Lee (or Ah Li) .... all are bald and not so tall

They've been there since quite long (early 90's)

They are good at mechanical stuff but nowaday all this Euro stuff and electronics they cannot do much 

I remember I sent my Euro van for some alternator issues ... he could not do it (I last went to him about 6 yeaers back)

Maybe he might have upgraded now

Bros and Sis........Coming to a while since I join MCF and would like to share some info.

Besides sharing, I also think it is good to give the brothers at this place some salute for serving us over the years as some of us may have know this place.

Ho Hup Seng at Blk 7 King George Ave.

I know this place since 1996 when I was then driving an old Suzuki Jimny registered in 1979. I have since been to this place many times over the years as the place was run by 3 brothers (Ah Seng, Ah Chai and Ah Li). Even when I do drive a new car, I go there and buy the old man coffee as they serve me well over many years.

Place of set up - They are just general spare parts stockist and one of the brother is doing the repair and replacements for people who know them. They have little overheads and they charge really cheap. So for small problems, I still go to them. Besides, if you have more complicated issues, they do recommend you to their affiliated workshops whom are also equipped and reasonable.

So for this, I am writing to share as well as a salute for these old brother's whom serve our community well.

For our bros and sis whom do know them. Please also comments. I think with years to come, they may just disappear.......Cheers.

Bro, it was never meant to be advertiswment but it will somehow sound like one.

Main purpose is to give the big credit to Ah Li whom had served ppl like us quietly throughout their life. If this had become an advertisement......these brother deserved it even though they don't need it.

I vouch my true intention as I had drove from my first car, an almost 20 years old Suzuki Jimny. Whom these guys help to maintain till my last Camry's alternator and brakepads......mention to Ah Li my hokkien name as he knows me Ah Thiam, Haha......and he knows I goes to them for many many years.

Meanwhile, I am sincerely touched that they serve quietly over years......they are our heroes in life too.......cheers and I am glad you know them.

You need to meet Throttle2 personally. I think the two of you will get along very well.

You know just occur to me, some one here would be very happy too, undertaker, gives him great pleasure to merge the two threads.

So loving.

62932456.......Bro.....I donno if They entertain you On phone cos they Adhoc doing.....you must Ask if Ah Li there or not. The brother Ah Chai can check spare parts for you.

Remember those biscuits tin

5150pjgbajl.jpg

Haha....good picture here....really same with the Ho....cheers

i know this guys and Ah Lee (or Ah Li) .... all are bald and not so tall

They've been there since quite long (early 90's)

They are good at mechanical stuff but nowaday all this Euro stuff and electronics they cannot do much

I remember I sent my Euro van for some alternator issues ... he could not do it (I last went to him about 6 yeaers back)

Maybe he might have upgraded now

Bro, I don't think They upgrade much cos They basically no need liao, can retire but I think they just serving the old customers

You need to meet Throttle2 personally. I think the two of you will get along very well.

You know just occur to me, some one here would be very happy too, undertaker, gives him great pleasure to merge the two threads.

So loving.

Maybe can....but I saw him with all the watches.....later kena more poison how?

I’m driving an 11 year old Suzuki Swift 1.5A& had been using ah li for my 6 months servicing & parts replacement for a year with no major issues.

The price he charges is very reasonable, synthetic oil change & filter change with coolant & brake fluid top at $70+ Most value for buck that I can find (the ones I check quoted me $138-$188 for similar packages)

If you can locate cheaper parts, they can also fix it up with a labour fee.

Miscellaneous items like engine air filter he will advise if needed to change and will not suggest to change any part unnecessarily.

From what I observe, they primarily deal with lorry, van (usual delivery vehicles from shops around them).

They are open from mon - sun, not sure about public holidays.

Hope the above information is helpful to those that needs it.

Someone just liked my post and this post pop up again. In fact, I did not update. My last trip (Dec) was not to do car but to buy the fishing reel next door. Many years ago, Ah Seng passed away liao. Buy coffee for them as usual. Sit around. All looking old. Re-living back thru the years. Soon they will be gone, how many years? We don't know.