Why is MCF so quiet these days?

Tianmo

All the 2 cents ended up like Doctorate thesis...no wonder no wonder farmer stayed away...res ipsa liquitur - the facts speak for itself.

Don't be humble my learned farmer.

Wah I am more old bird than you. Hahaha

My 2 cents worth.

I joined this forum more than 10 years ago. I am not saying I am an old bird. I am still finding out and learning a lot about cars and this is notwithstanding that I have friends in the automotive industry and I was and still am privileged to go for the occasional circuit runs with my own stock car with these people. Enough said.

When I "came" to MCF, I know nuts about cars. I got a 17 year COE car as my first "new" car then. A mid 30s corporate guy driving this type of car but it is fine with me. But folks here were and still are very friendly. They willingly lent their ears and hands to guide me as I commenced my car journey. Then I got my brand new Jap car and it was a CS 3. Still, friendly folks in MCF like Vtim, Mazda323 and @Mivec9 etc helped me in then this journey of mine, albeit poisoning one another at the same time. I started a total of 15 threads in the space of 1-2 years with each thread at least 10 pages long (It was a blessing then that @Radx wasn't a moderator then. In today's context, I would have been banned and tekan jialat jialat)

As my journey progressed, I made more friends. Attended meetups. Went for the MCF's regular Bishan gatherings held usually on Friday nights (if I remembered correctly). Got to learn how to take care of my car like detailing and knew Benny aka @Maddriver from there onwards. Blah blah blah.

There are still familiar names hanging around in this forum other than the moderators. My apologies as I am quite bad with recalling of names and nicks these days.

I remembered there was the F4 group and I was "indicted" into that group and that was how I knew fever boy aka @Joseph22 and the other nice guys in various groups. You know who you are. I definitely and still remember you.

So I believe it is not just my life. I am sure old birds and newbies felt the same. In one way or another, this place has become one part of our lives. Whether we post or come in and read the contributions, this forum has survived, if not, "seen" many of us through the various phases of our own lives. In a few years time, it will not just have survived the first 10 years. It will turn 20. Each of us should give ourselves a pat on the shoulder for being a part of this forum.

Lastly, it is not easy being a moderator. I was once a moderator of another car club/forum. So I can empathize with the challenges and thankless tasks they faced. Let's post responsibly and agree to disagree. Life will be more easier for everyone.

Just to share an example of a very successful technical forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/

AVS is a forum on home theatre, music, blu ray etc.

Each day there are more than 100 000 posts. The ownership has changed hands at least once.

You get the latest info there, a lot of people are willing to help, and there's very little putdown when a newbie walks in with a question that is often asked.

But threads do get merged if the topic is similar. Mods are very on the ball, but no bans and such. It's a lot of work, maybe they are pros or hired hands, I am not sure.

The threads can run into the millions of posts even. But the search button is robust, and you can actually find stuff.

If a newbie asks a question, someone will answer within a day. There are also likes, but no dislikes. Any 'online quarrels' are quickly dealt with and the irrelevant posts deleted.

You can edit or delete your post, even if it's been years. The first posts are often updated to reflect new developments and contain links to certain pages within the long threads with specific tips.

Maybe that's a model to follow. Their website engine isn't so different from this. SPH owns this forum? I am sure they are keen to keep their investment going.

Even if it becomes a specialised forum with less posts, that's ok if it serves a purpose. If a site is purely commercial, that's not always a good thing. 

Food for thought :) 

Each day there are more than 100 000 posts. The ownership has changed hands at least once.

You get the latest info there, a lot of people are willing to help, and there's very little putdown when a newbie walks in with a question that is often asked.

But threads do get merged if the topic is similar. Mods are very on the ball, but no bans and such. It's a lot of work, maybe they are pros or hired hands, I am not sure.

The threads can run into the millions of posts even. But the search button is robust, and you can actually find stuff.

If a newbie asks a question, someone will answer within a day. There are also likes, but no dislikes. Any 'online quarrels' are quickly dealt with and the irrelevant posts deleted.

You can edit or delete your post, even if it's been years. The first posts are often updated to reflect new developments and contain links to certain pages within the long threads with specific tips.

Maybe that's a model to follow. Their website engine isn't so different from this. SPH owns this forum? I am sure they are keen to keep their investment going.

Even if it becomes a specialised forum with less posts, that's ok if it serves a purpose. If a site is purely commercial, that's not always a good thing. 

Urm, AVS is sponsored by very big names such as KEF, Bowers, SVS, Hsu Research etc.  These things can be more expensive than our cars!  [:p]

Totally agree

That is a focussed and very targeted Grp. All hv a common goal

Here we are diverse, and although a beauty, can lead to too much diversity as well.

Guess there are pros n cons.a grp like AVS will b hardcore n only hv members on the same frequency aligned

Pretty much like my drone grp. We do not operate off forums but on fb and whatsapp. Great feeds, weekly meets and all

Urm, AVS is sponsored by very big names such as KEF, Bowers, SVS, Hsu Research etc.  These things can be more expensive than our cars!  [:p]

That's true bro..

But they didn't start out this way. If a site is well run, it will grow.

But as bro RadX said, it's a specific site.

Even so, so are we. We do cars, they do hifi. And if our site is well run, I see no reason why Borneo, Merc, BMW or other big companies won't step in too.

It takes time, so let's work towards that. No site starts out big and showy. 

Furthermore, that site has an international audience, with reps posting too. But these reps don't advertise, they simply answer questions.

Its like a Toyota rep who comes and only answers tech questions but doesn't hard sell.

IN FACT... why not?

We can invite experts from the various car companies to come in. Then set up simply FAQs on each model, or begin the owners' thread with such a link. 

Even individual workshops can do so, and like "Ask Torque" or "Torque Shop", they simple answer questions. They can be welcome to PM quotes to members who can decide if they want to take their business there.

Right now the sponsors simply post ads, and I don't see many of them answering questions on the forum. That discourages me from using their stuff.

Even in other forums, the workshops simply post pics of jobs they have done, but do not engage forum members. The standard reply is "PM or call". Duh.. 

That's true bro..

But they didn't start out this way. If a site is well run, it will grow.

But as bro RadX said, it's a specific site.

Even so, so are we. We do cars, they do hifi. And if our site is well run, I see no reason why Borneo, Merc, BMW or other big companies won't step in too.

It takes time, so let's work towards that. No site starts out big and showy.

Furthermore, that site has an international audience, with reps posting too. But these reps don't advertise, they simply answer questions.

Its like a Toyota rep who comes and only answers tech questions but doesn't hard sell.

IN FACT... why not?

We can invite experts from the various car companies to come in. Then set up simply FAQs on each model, or begin the owners' thread with such a link.

Even individual workshops can do so, and like "Ask Torque" or "Torque Shop", they simple answer questions. They can be welcome to PM quotes to members who can decide if they want to take their business there.

Right now the sponsors simply post ads, and I don't see many of them answering questions on the forum. That discourages me from using their stuff.

Even in other forums, the workshops simply post pics of jobs they have done, but do not engage forum members. The standard reply is "PM or call". Duh..

Yes perhaps

Been here since my very first car, and this is still a home for me.

But given the vast communication channels at which people consume information these days, it is getting harder and harder to stay active on all of them. Most people gravitate to using their mobile devices to access their content in the present day, and hence, the need to keep up with the times is essential to keeping this forum allive as well.

The forum is not irrelevant nor is it ancient - however, being able to support browsing via a mobile app such as Tapatalk would greatly improve the visitation numbers as well as participation levels here (I feel).

Having to use a browser, then having to log-in (if cookies get reset) on a mobile can sometimes prove to be such a daunting task for some that they just can't be bothered I reckon.

Just my humble tuppence.

Is it just me or is MCF really becoming quiet like a ghost town?

Where we used to have a few hundred viewers viewing a hot thread (max I have seen was 1000 at TDON thread), we now have less than 50, and that is also rare, mayb COE threads get that number on those closing days, I saw like 30 over at the exercise thread. 

Not only viewer rates is down, members participation rate is also down, where we used to have a few thousand posts recorded in a day,  I hardly see more than 500 posts recorded now. 

I remember if you post less than 50 in a day, you cannot even see yourself on the top 20 posters list, now 10 posts get you onto the list, and 50 usually make you the top poster of the day. 

Anyone knows what has happened or what is happening? Many ppl left? no new members? no interesting topics? replaced by technology? Or is MCF outdated? 

Any one notice anything? or doing anything about it? or we just let it carry on until no post no view and do an al lang syne?  :huh:  [laugh]  [laugh]

because

1.COE still so high, and no chance goes down,

2. No exciting new car launched, and even if CRV launched, but ridiculous price cause no one interested on it,

3. Young generation have too many interested things to play, therefore they are not interested at car

4. Singapore is too small and there is not much self driving experience to share

Don't be humble my learned farmer.

After kena picked up by the Poll-lis and found I got marijuana in my system, I was ask to come here for rehabilitation.

I was down and out for a few years after losing my shwing and had to leave this place due to my famous shame.

But still I longed to return back to the place I once had a good reputation, getting praises and feeling at the top of the world.

Hello my fellow online and some offline friends. I'm here to receive my therapy but I see this place is not the same the last time I left it.

It's has fewer people receiving destress therapy.

Is it because the world out there has better destress avenues ? Well I came back because the outside world has made my ranking from Numero Uno to Numero Zero.

But like all rehab centers, it has to be temporal but I sure hope you all help me to destress.

Maybe I can gain back my Shwing.

PS - pls don't remind me of my Mugshots. And yes I looked better with the golf cap on.

Just to contribute a bit..

This forum is a fun n interesting place to be in..

Got xiao lang number plate seller, below 8 sexs Harrier car review,gay magnet exercise thread,makan thread,road trips thread , Tiko thread , anal Inline sex guy (mentioned some specs wrongly n will kanna a whiplash rebuttal) n etc..

Such a stress reliever for people like me

Think should thank bro Tianmo for bringing up this matter about the forum.

Many of us got emo and suddenly come back to post again. Just look at the traffic alone in the Lite & EZ section is so high today. The first full page all topics have a new post today.

Keep it up, people.  :a-happy: