Your loot of the day

DACH

1 hour ago, Playtime said:

Ok.. panic time. 

Want to buy Christmas present for a nerdy teenager who likes to tinkle with electronic stuff. 

No time for online. 

Any shop where I can buy maybe some fix it up hobby kits??

Ask him to fix up a Pc? 

If skills is average, get him to do research on what parts to buy and proof to you that price is all time Low etc. Then bring him to buy

if skill is advance, build sleeper pc using a dell prebuilt case. Those dell casing the power supply lines or front panel controls different from those diy Pc one. So challenge is to change it to make it compatible with normal motherboard 

I don’t know how to do one ah. If buang don’t look for me ah :grin:

Edited by Mustank

59 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Ask him to fix up a Pc? 

If skills is average, get him to do research on what parts to buy and proof to you that price is all time Low etc. Then bring him to buy

if skill is advance, build sleeper pc using a dell prebuilt case. Those dell casing the power supply lines or front panel controls different from those diy Pc one. So challenge is to change it to make it compatible with normal motherboard 

I don’t know how to do one ah. If buang don’t look for me ah :grin:

I was thinking more those small box kits... computer expensive la

2 hours ago, Playtime said:

I was thinking more those small box kits... computer expensive la

You got old computer? Ask him to fix ssd lor

this one is most simple liao

i computer Donno one also can do

6 hours ago, Playtime said:

Ok.. panic time. 

Want to buy Christmas present for a nerdy teenager who likes to tinkle with electronic stuff. 

No time for online. 

Sim Lim Tower, many electrical and electronics kits. Can be simple or complex depends on application. 

Simple, LED lights. Get led diodes, pcb, soldering iron, flux, solder, resistor and power supply. Good simple project for Christmas lights.

One of 1111 loot finally arrived. 

Cheap cheap lao hiao helmet 😁

Cool factor 10

Fit factor 5

Comfort factor 6

Lose to my 3 other Limars in terms of fitting and comfort level but its ease on adjustment is the best of all. 

IMG_20201221_200151.jpg

IMG_20201221_195809.jpg

14 hours ago, Playtime said:

Ok.. panic time. 

No time for online. 

Get a raspberry pi kit

Lots of things he can do with it

https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/raspberry-pi-4-desktop-kit/

8 hours ago, Adrianli said:

Sim Lim Tower, many electrical and electronics kits. Can be simple or complex depends on application. 

Simple, LED lights. Get led diodes, pcb, soldering iron, flux, solder, resistor and power supply. Good simple project for Christmas lights.

58 minutes ago, RadX said:

Get a raspberry pi kit

Lots of things he can do with it

https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/raspberry-pi-4-desktop-kit/

hahahaha.... couldnt decide... ended up in sim lim tower.

the shop had many kits that you could assemble.. mostly about 30$

bought a soldering iron set.. will let him choose what project he wants. 

5 minutes ago, Playtime said:

hahahaha.... couldnt decide... ended up in sim lim tower.

the shop had many kits that you could assemble.. mostly about 30$

bought a soldering iron set.. will let him choose what project he wants. 

You're letting your kid play with soldering iron, it's not just the heat issue, but please take note, if the solder is of a lead type, you don't want him to breath in the fumes.

In the factory, they would use a small fan as an exhaust placed in front of the operator. But you can try leadless solder, although it doesn't flow as well.

8 hours ago, Kb27 said:

You're letting your kid play with soldering iron, it's not just the heat issue, but please take note, if the solder is of a lead type, you don't want him to breath in the fumes.

In the factory, they would use a small fan as an exhaust placed in front of the operator. But you can try leadless solder, although it doesn't flow as well.

not kid... poly age nephew doing project

On 12/21/2020 at 9:03 PM, mersaylee said:

One of 1111 loot finally arrived. 

Cheap cheap lao hiao helmet 😁

Cool factor 10

Fit factor 5

Comfort factor 6

Lose to my 3 other Limars in terms of fitting and comfort level but its ease on adjustment is the best of all. 

IMG_20201221_200151.jpg

IMG_20201221_195809.jpg

Boss ....... how much ???........... are the attached googles really serving any purpose ?? 

39 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Boss ....... how much ???........... are the attached googles really serving any purpose ?? 

Under $30 from Middle Kingdom 

Google needs to use handphone lah. 😁

That visor is useful to bio xmm discreetly 😜

2 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Under $30 from Middle Kingdom 

Google needs to use handphone lah. 😁

That visor is useful to bio xmm discreetly 😜

Solly lah me Google  N goggles is spew-ling error , Preambree tree oni mah ...... U Notty Unker can radar XMM better 

3 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Never upgrade to adjustable bench? Kid grows very fast one hor 😅

i thought bench is quite standard, never change mine from 5 to 20 [laugh]

5 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

i thought bench is quite standard, never change mine from 5 to 20 [laugh]

Huh?! You grew too fast...or still growing? 😁  I'm already on the 2nd adjustable...